We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,135: English reviews
Inverness
Reviewed 9 November 2015

Hotel average but food overpriced.Spoke to waitress about small portion of chips alongside piece of haddock,she leant across plate and counted 9,yes that's what you get. Very disappointed. Waitress could have gone and assisted by requesting another portion of chips but just shrugged her shoulders.When paying bill at end of stay,the staff had omitted to charge us for meal but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O9524ODlauram
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon O9524ODlauram, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. I will investigate as to why the customer service was not correct for your stay as this is not the usual...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 9 November 2015

No working shower. Noisy electric radiator right beside bed that kept us awake all night. Flat uncomfortable pillows. However room spacious and bed soft. Breakfast excellent. Staff friendly. Evening meals nice but totally overpriced for what they were

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Laura M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Disappointed to hear that you did not have a great stay and was let down by some maintenance issues for...

Glasgow
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is fine, I just didn't felt like I was in a "luxury hotel", as they like to call themselves. The dinner at the bar was good, and the staff I met was nice. No free-wifi in 2015 is pretty outstanding...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laetitia P
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Laetitia P, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. I have passed on your thanks to the staff regarding your stay but just a little bemused as we do...

Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

This place is out in the sticks - a good 40 min drive from the nearest civilisation (Pitlochry or Aberfoyle). I booked this place as a treat for me and the other half. It cost a small fortune (£185/night!) considering there was nothing else in the sleepy hamlet of Kinloch Rammoch (bar the beautiful scenery). The drive there can be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew F
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Andrew F, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Really pleased to hear you and your partner had a wonderful stay and many thanks for the pictures especially of...

Dumbarton, Scotland
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Booked a two night stay for £99 which was a great deal! The breakfasts alone were £17.50 pp. Lovely room overlooking the loch. Was a strong smell of smoke in the room which wasn't very nice. Staff excellent and very friendly. The food in the restaurant was very a high standard which is just as well as the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SPark71
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon SPark71, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. We agree it is a lovely hotel and many thanks for your kind words regarding the team and the food...

Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

2 Night stay with friends. Booked direct with hotel, asked for and given mobility access room, facing Loch and views, really nice. Know the area for over 40 years but first visit to this hotel and was very impressed for an older type place. ALL staff were excellent, bar menu good. Breakfasts again well served and choice. Did not use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoyGerstner
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon RoyGerstner, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to hear you had a good time at the hotel and we were able to look after your requested...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Extremely friendly and welcoming hotel. We didn't have an evening meal but the menu looked very good. Our room overlooked the loch and Shehallion. Would mention that the the paint around the windows could do with upgrading

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fionah536
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon fionah536, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent aty at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Really pleased to hear you had a great stay and with the fantastic views over the Loch & Shehallion, paint work...

Perth
Reviewed 31 October 2015

There was a traditional Scottish feel to this hotel. Plenty tartans and paintings of highland characters and scenery. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the views from the executive rooms are splendid (worth the extra). The area has lots of interesting and fun places to visit. Bungee jumping, castles, luxurious shopping remote rail station fishing golfing or just...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Normal55
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Normal55, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole the team on a regular basis. Really pleased to hear you had a great stay and got time to go out and view the surrounding area including Rannoch...

Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We spent 2 nights here with friends for a stunning autumn break. The hotel has a typically Scottish Lodge feel to it with prints of highland cattle, stags & lochs all over the place, but gets away with it because of it's location! The food was delicious & the staff friendly & helpful. We made use of the pool, steam...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank caroline g
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Caroline G, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. Great to hear you had a wonderful and relaxing stay and we agree that the surrounding area is SIMPLEY STUNNING!!!!...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2015

Had we not been disappointed by a few things, the stay itself was relaxing and comfortable. Room service for breakfast very disappointed came uncovered from kitchen, missing items, limited times in leisure facilities, only open certain times for sauna and steam room. Wrong breakfast order the next day in dining room, house keeping were still cleaning room at 5pm when...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Jason M, General Manager at Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, we do appreciate all our reviews and share them with the whole of the team on a regular basis. We are also disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay and was let down by some shortfalls please...

315 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (295)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (145)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
28.1 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,681 reviews
18.0 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
825 reviews
22.9 km away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,680 reviews
39.3 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,103 reviews
28.1 km away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: $102 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland, UK
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book rooms on the second floor, ask for a room at the front with the best views”
 of 5 bubbles markhD4500KH, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a loch facing view.”
 of 5 bubbles audreye341, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely views, beautiful scenery.”
 of 5 bubbles 955WendyB, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The executive rooms are worth the extra money.”
 of 5 bubbles as260478, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a loch view”
 of 5 bubbles Sparra53, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5