We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel La Charpiniere

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel La Charpiniere
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Clean and cosy rooms, very good bed, food at the brasserie is good, not exceptionnal, but good. However, this hotel is a "relais silence", which means that the surroundings are quiet and silent. Which is the case. BUT the doors of the rooms are slamming like hell ! Birds could have woken you up, it's the doors that do. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Groovemasterjay
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear Groovemasterjay, We do thank you for your comment. We are pleased you enjoyed our room and our Brasserie. We took note of your remark on the nuisances with the doors and are going to solve the problem. We hope to welcome you again to La Charpinière. Best regards, the Direction

Lyon, France
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

St Galmier is the source of Badoit mineral water so quite appropriate for a wonderful weekend to resource with friends or family. We had an hour in the spa followed by an hour long massage, followed by a beautiful dinner, followed by a lovely long sleep in a comfortable bed. If that doesn't put a smile on your face i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUZANNE B
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear SUZANNE B, We thank you for your comment and we are charmed that you were satisfied as much by the hotel that by the restaurant that by the SPA. We took note of your remarks on the breakfast and let us ensure you to do the utmost to cure the nuisances which you had. We hope to welcome you...

La-Baule-Escoublac, France
Reviewed 9 December 2015

This hotel is very charming, the room are very cosy and comfortable, special +++ for the beds that are super comfortable !! Everything is clean and the wifi is stable and fast enough. However, even if they are part of the "relais du silence", which can be true thanks to the location of the hotel, inside, it would be REALLY...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Groovemasterjay
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 1 August 2015

My Parents stayed in La Charpiniere for three nights in July this year. They had a very enjoyable experience. They were not confident speaking French but found that the hotel staff were capable of communicating with them most of the time. The hotel itself has been renovated since they stayed in the hotel in '97 and huge improvements have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tontoeb
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

We do thank you for your very positive comment, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed you stay, we hope welcome you very soon again.

Reviewed 2 June 2015

This property has beautiful grounds on the edge of Saint-Galmier. It is a close walk to the city center, and close to the surrounding countryside. There is a nice lobby bar, outdoor bar and cafe, and a pool. Good wifi. Clean rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nlskinner
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

We do thank you for your very positive comment, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed you stay, we hope welcome you very soon again.

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Bathrooms much improved since the renovation. Beds still quite hard but with new furnishings. Breakfast still very DIY. Still think it lacks warmth or rather homeliness. Don`t like the mosquitoes either.Have had both Menu of the Day at Lunchtime and evening meal in Restaurant and both were ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LYNEMIKE
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad to see that you enjoyed both our restaurant and hotel.

Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 6 May 2015

I recently stayed at La Charpiniere on business and had a delightful 3-night stay and overall experience. Check-in was pleasant. My room was located on the first floor, it was clean and had a lovely semi-private patio overlooking a grassy courtyard. It was nice to be able to prop open the doors for some fresh spring air. I accidentally blew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We do thank you for your lovely comment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We try to make our best to be at our clients’ disposal as often as possible, and when we receive a message like yours it is the best satisfaction we can have. It is a real pleasure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Overpriced, the mattress was too hard, the pillow too soft. The ironing board was just big enough to iron my tie-how much more would it have cost them to provide a normal one? Breakfast was a very poor selection and overpriced for what it was. I would not recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EurodjBusinessman
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear sir, first of all we do thank you for your comment. We apologize for the incovenient. Best regards, General Manager

Teddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently stayed at La Charpiniere whilst looking for a wedding venue. Nice location down a long driveway so no traffic noise, and plenty of secure parking. We had a ground floor room which was plenty big enough and clean, although it unfortunately was on the way between the bar and the stairs to other floors, which meant lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgt385
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

We do our maximum so that the quiet of each is respected but, unfortunately, it’s not easy every day. We are sorry that you had an impression of indifference from our staff what usually is not the case... We however hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We chose this needing an overnight stop on the way from the Riviera to the Loire but might not have done had we read the recent reviews on this site beforehand. It is basically a new hotel built around an old round tower (now used for a couple of suites). There was plenty of parking near the hotel entrance, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
La Charpinière L, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you to taking the time to write your opinion of our Hotel and to compliment us. We will be happy to welcome you again at La Charpinière.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Galmier
6.0 km away
Actuel Hotel
Actuel Hotel
#1 of 5 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
122 reviews
15.5 km away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#20 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
142 reviews
6.4 km away
BEST WESTERN St Etienne Aeroport
BEST WESTERN St Etienne Aeroport
#3 of 5 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Premiere Classe Saint Etienne - Boutheon Aeroport
Premiere Classe Saint Etienne - ...
#2 of 5 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
106 reviews
16.7 km away
Inter-hotel Marytel
Inter-hotel Marytel
#1 of 2 in Montbrison
81 reviews
20.4 km away
Mercure Saint Etienne Parc de L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Hotel La Charpiniere

Address: Lieu dit la Charpiniere, 42330 Saint-Galmier, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Galmier
Price Range: $162 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Charpiniere 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Charpiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel La Charpiniere staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the ground floor have a small terrace and are worth booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Tontoeb, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Higher floor away from the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles sgt385, 26 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Basil1212, 7 Aug 2012 | Read review
“I would think that all the rooms should be very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles pktiberius, 19 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay