We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Zum Walde

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Zum Walde
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

If you are anywhere close, stay here. Great hidden place with wonderful food, superior location in the Ardennes hiking trails, sauna, and more. I had an open week end on travel, and booked this place on a lark. Very thankful. The rooms are European. They are functional, comfortable and very capable, but do not confuse this with the New York...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Y
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed here last 8 years or so ago. Décor is still the same and it is a bit of a time warp. Service is second to none though. Staff are exceedingly helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I would very happily stay there again, in fact would look forward to it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hereward T
Nootdorp
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I stayed here for 3 nights. I booked a 1 person apartment, but I had someone coming over for 1 of these nights. It was no problem adjusting the booking and have them put an extra bed in the apartment. They responded very quickly to my request. The hotel is in a very nice surroundings and it has several buildings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tijnvb
Limburg Province, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This is an old family hotel that is now under the management of 2 sisters. They have ben doing a great job by keeping the typical German hospitality alive and in the meantime they are step by step updating the place. Nice atmosphere. Has large parking and free wifi. Friendly service. Good food. Just a bit fancier then You normally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJbLimbricht
Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 July 2016

A quaint, typical hotel tucked away on the outskirts of Zweifall. The decor took me back to my days of skiing and trecking through germany and austria. Maybe a bit outdated but also a main plus. No boutique-esque hotel, room etc here. We loved it. Small room with small bathroom, very decent beds by the way. Room locks with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank icepackbv
Genderen
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a one person appartment, on top of the hill. The appartment is very roomy and quite. It all is a bit outdated but clean. I need to recommend two things to the owner, the WIFI connection sucks, it's definitly not available in every room, and two, put new tv's in the rooms, the one I had was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BerryvdM
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We visited Hotel zum Walde for one night (April 30, 2016) for a weekend getaway. Nestled near the Eifel mountains in the small village of Zweifall, Hotel zum Walde has warm and friendly customer service, is extremely clean, has an amazing breakfast buffet, a spa with multiple saunas, and an indoor pool. An example of the customer service was during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

This hotel is an old hotel that have been in the family for three generations. In my experience, I stayed in an appartment for supposely two people. It has a kitchen, dinning room, bathroom and of course a bedroom. In the room there are two twin bed with very old sheets and the pillows are just the worst. Like many...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Terrible_124
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Reducing it to the critical points, let us please answer the following: 1) As you correctly stated, there is no AC in our rooms, as unfortunately it is rarely hot outside, but often cold - therefore we sure have heating... it is a floor heating, that's...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Stayed here 5 years ago and was very good, nothing changed, needs some investment, several of the carpets were down to threads. All staff helpful, restaurant quite expensive for quality, bedroom and ensuite very old, but clean. Hole in my bed sheet. The whole hotel was unbearably hot. Very slow service in restaurant For this poor quality the price is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martyn D
HotelzumWalde, Inhaber at Hotel Zum Walde, responded to this review

Dear Martyn, thank you very much for your stay and your review. If you're looking for a renovated room, the standard rooms Landromantik would have been the right choice, as the bathrooms are very nice and newly renovated and the overall size of the room is also better. The economy room that you have booked does not - according to...

Oban, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Really great hotel. Service was so un-German as it was 5* The main bar and restaurant has been recently refurbed and is like an upper class swiss chalet. The food was the best I've ever had in Germany, as mostly food is poor. It was sumptious. The apartments were a little outdated, if you insist on everything being 100% up...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian J

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stolberg
5.5 km away
Romantik-Parkhotel am Hammerberg
8.7 km away
Landhotel Kallbach
Landhotel Kallbach
#1 of 1 in Huertgenwald
77 reviews
12.4 km away
Hotel Roeb Zum Alten Fritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
City-Hotel Stolberg
City-Hotel Stolberg
#3 of 3 in Stolberg
21 reviews
23.1 km away
Kurparkhotel im Nationalpark Eifel
15.1 km away
Hotel Paulushof
Hotel Paulushof
#1 of 4 in Simmerath
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Birch trees, boulders, stacks of wood, pebbled walls, tree discs, stags, vintage forest operations, forest herbs, nesting sites, coats,…yet also: rest, peace, relaxation, breathing, hiking, exploring, e-bike riding, culture and three countries with a lot of nature.This is what you can expect in our hotel and apartment site near the forest totalling 59 country house rooms, apartments and suites, in 4 separate buildings.Our family run hotel offers swimming-pool, two saunas, steam bath, spa treatments, massages, conference rooms, restaurant Kaminstube with terrace, Waldgeist Bar, wifi, and all standard amenities such as telephone, cable TV a.s.o. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Walde

Address: Klosterstr. 4, 52224 Stolberg, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Stolberg
Price Range: $168 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zum Walde 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Zum Walde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Zum Walde staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As far as ascertained all are quiet, apartments very much so.”
 of 5 bubbles HerewardT_13, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try getting a room in the main building so the spa and restaurant are easy to get to. If you do not mind walk a little, although there is a big pendent and some 50 steps, the other two buildings are nice and quite.”
 of 5 bubbles ETame, 19 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Several of the "Landhaus" type rooms have a very nice balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles 62francism, 13 Jun 2014 | Read review
“I booked a non-smoking room in the main building. I received a room on the first floor next to a back yard. All the guests in the neighbour rooms go out to smoke on the back yard and the rooms stink terribly to cigarrete. I had to close the windows and the room was very hot. And Forget any privacy with loads of people smoking on your backyard in front of your window.”
 of 5 bubbles lolol788, 1 May 2014 | Read review
“We really appreciated the apartment - the kids could kick back and weren't required to be in a hotel for dinner - we played games in the evening, - it was a home away from home. If anything was missing from kitchen utensils to toiletries, you just needed to ask - the floor warming made sure the place was very cozy indeed!”
 of 5 bubbles katherinek235, 30 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay