We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Inn at Whitewell

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitewell
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Inn at Whitewell
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

779 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brilliant. Just come back from two nights at the Inn. From start to finish it was faultless; staff, service, comfort, food... it's a great place for an escape. We had room 9 which is described as quite small. It isn't. We saw rooms 8 and 9 in which friends were staying, and they were larger but all were so unique...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken R
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, love the list of what you can do here and the fact that some don't need to do anything. Thanks again. Regards Cb

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here numerous times and I would highly recommend eating in the dining room. I went a few months ago for my birthday with my mother - we were greeted by crisp white tablecloths, a warm open fire and beautiful views of the countryside unspoiled by people. I ordered the poussin with a side order of new potatoes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank btole
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, really appreciate the time taken and glad you enjoyed our dining room. Hope we see you again before too long. Regards Cb

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is an absolute hidden gem. The food is amazing, you must try thier scones if you go there. The hotel rooms are very cosy and just ooze with authenticity. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. This Inn dates back to the 13th century. The location can be a bit hard to find but it's worth it once...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CountrytoCountry616
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, so pleased the old inn still has a relevance today, difficult to faux a proper country inn. Regards Cb

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

rooms are lovely good quality shower gel and soaps bath and shower are the best varied menu vast wine list by the glass or to take away look in the reception for the maramalade buy the large one about £23.00 well worth it the best i have tasted, i have stopped in the main hotel and the stables you wont...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne G
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Really kind of you to write us a review thank you. Glad you noticed the huge marmalades we made 12 as an experiment as family and friends keep asking for bigger, they went well , we'll repeat. Thanks again. Regards Cb

Lower Parkstone
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely place set in the moors so mucj history inside amazing open bar area really good tea and coffee served with pots that do not dribble and leak good supply of extra water and milk amazingly popular with great waitress service

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tannar
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and so pleased you enjoyed your cuppa here, we are rather blessed with our scenery. Regards Cb

uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overnighted here. the setting is lovely; nestled by the river. Room was clean and tidy with lots of charm. Staff were friendly, helpful and supplied the fastest pot of tea to our room ever. The food is lovely; we decided on the bar rather than the restaurant and the atmosphere was lively. The only issue is parking; it can get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobandlol
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your very kind post, much appreciated and glad to hear the tea tray was swift. Regards Cb

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place. Staff always friendly . Food always consistent . Nice wines. Slightly disappointed that the lamb dish had been changed to confit of shoulder . It wasn't as nice as a bit fatty and I prefer the veg it was served with before . This was agreed by another member of our party . Other than this the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annie792
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts and I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the lamb dish as much as the previous one. We'll be changing our menu again in the new year. Regards Cb

Burnley
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely lunch with my husband . Fish and chips just the best ever followed by apple pie to share which was also brilliant. Pub fires were also very much appreciated even though we were sat away from them

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda A
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind thoughts. Glad you liked us and we wouldn't be a proper old inn without the logs fires. Regards Cb

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went as 3 couples, no booking for bar meals so arrived early for lunch. What a fantastic setting and the Inn does it proud.. We opted for the bar menu which was varied with a Specials board, a really great choice of locally sourced food, we were not disappointed...home made black pudding for me-delicious, Asian squid stolen from my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ramster1710
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts, most kind and very much appreciated. Glad you had a happy lunch and brilliant that you might come back for a significant birthday. I had mine here some time ago. Thanks again. Regards Cb

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A regular watering hole and eating establishment, food and beer brilliant. The fish goujons are worth travelling for and the steak is always tip top. Staff are very helpful and the service is brilliant, especially Martina and Lucas. Keep up the good work! Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tweedsdining
Charles320, Owner at Inn at Whitewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind comments, I'll show L & M too. Many thanks again. Regards Cb

211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitewell
12.9 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
933 reviews
4.9 km away
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
Gibbon Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipping
404 reviews
15.3 km away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
5.2 km away
The Red Pump Inn
The Red Pump Inn
#1 of 1 in Bashall Eaves
117 reviews
5.5 km away
Clerk Laithe Lodge
Clerk Laithe Lodge
#1 of 1 in Newton-in-Bowland
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewell

Address: Dunsop Road, Whitewell BB7 3AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Whitewell
Price Range: $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn at Whitewell 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewell Hotel Whitewell
Inn Whitewell
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at Whitewell staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Preston, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Preston, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at Whitewell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you need wheels go for a walk on the bowland moor go prepaired with the correct clothing in case the weather changes”
 of 5 bubbles 160anneg, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chose one with a river view”
 of 5 bubbles GTraveller1567, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For dog owners, try the coach house rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 722edwardn, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check out the rooms on line before you book”
 of 5 bubbles CSItraveller, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 good view”
 of 5 bubbles AngeA_11, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5