We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kaiteri Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kaiteri Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I first came to the hostel in February 2016 via the kiwi experience bus. I can remember as clear as day how it was back then. And how unwelcoming some of the staff at the time made us feel. Because this is a dry hostel they came around looking for liquor, but like a bloodhound in the room. Makes you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaydenMeer
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review Kaiteri Lodge. We remember you well from both visits, the miserable guy with no friends, who obviously has too much time on his hands. Now that you have finished distorting the truth let me touch on a few of the points you made. All accommodation providers on...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lodge is a good location. Hosts friendly and helpful with booking etc and answering any questions. Generally adequate facilities... hopefully you get what you pay for. We stayed 5 nights in a room with ensuite. recommend this option as is large. cleaning of room and ensuite needs improvement. ensuite basin and toilet definitely not cleaned for 5 days even after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia ora Sue W, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodge. Its disappointing to hear that you didnt feel that your room was up to standard. Our housekeeping team work very hard and all rooms are cleaned , and occupied rooms serviced, on a daily basis. it certainly was not 5 days that nothing had been done. The...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location and setup just a few seconds from one of New Zealand's best beaches. We booked an en-suite double room and it was most suitable for our needs, which was really a good place to base ourselves for day trips up to Abel Tasman National Park. Like any budget establishment - you get what you pay for. But with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VillaInTheVines
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora VillaInTheVines, Thanks for your lovely review of Kaiteri Lodge. We are so lucky to be based right at one of the most beautiful beaches in NZ and only a short drive from the Abel Tasman National Park. I'm sorry that you felt that our kitchen area didn't meet your expectations as we have recently added on a ten...

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

This hostel is comfortable enough for a few nights stay, it has a very good location to the beaches and to some nice walks. The transport links to the national park are very good as well. I stayed in an eight bed dorm in the outside cabins, there is no headroom at all if you're sleeping on the top bunks,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum W
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Callum W, Thanks for reviewing Kaiteri Lodge and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We used to have a tv room but it wasnt used very often as most people head off to the beach or the National Park so we relocated the TV to the kitchen and built covered outdoor areas. Yes, the wifi here is...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Kaiteri Lodge for several nights with our kids. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and we corresponded with them several times prior to our trip and the manager keenly helped with our planning. Our room was big and very clean. We were warned after we booked that large tour groups would be at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katecharland
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kate, Thanks for your great review ! I'm glad that your stay went well and that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise. yes, we do have some peak times in the kitchen area at this time of the year and apologise if this caused any disruptions to your day. We wish you the very best for the new...

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

This place is far too small for the number of people they squeeze in here. The kitchen was cramped & poorly equipped. The cabin type things we opted to stay in were horrible & weren't cleaned at all the 3 nights we stayed there which resulted in a muddy, sandy & slippery floor. The only good thing about the place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura P
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Laura P, Its disappointing to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay at the Lodge. The rooms are cleaned every single morning but unfortunately, some people come back from the beach wet and sandy and dont consider others by leaving their wet and dirty items outside the door. The rooms are all different sizes and we do give the...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Do not go for the budget accommodation! It's literally a shipping container with one portaloo between 30 people. It represents awful value for money at $28 per night. Disgusting actually. Go for the middle range one or top end. Learn my lesson!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tom W
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Tom W, Thanks for taking the time to review Kaiteri Lodges budget accommodation. Upon check-in all guests are given the options of a $28 budget dorm in a portacom , a $32 inside dorm or a premium $35 dorm with ensuite, tv and fridge ( subject to availability). The budget dorms are located just 20 metres away from...

Waikato New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Spent one night in this place and were offered a great rate! Our room was basic but had all we needed and we really had a good sleep despite the fact that it had two bus loads of people there! Adi is most welcoming and a pleasure to chat to! Will definitely recommend to family and friends! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank c0mmuter
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora c0mmuter, Many thanks for your great review of Kaiteri Lodge. Our team here work very hard to ensure that our guests have a great stay and, even though we are exceptionally busy, our in house security monitor noise levels so that everyone has a peaceful evening. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again...

Reviewed 19 November 2016 via mobile

The hostel was completely pact when I visited. No bed was left. For that the hostel is simply to small. It took forever to get a free cooking space. Also there are just a few shower and toilet facilities. The location is very cool tho. It is just 50 m to the awesome beach.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Steffen S
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Steffen S, The lodge , during the time of your stay, had 120 beds available of which 30 were unoccupied. We have two toilets and showers located next door to the budget dorms for the guests convenience as well as another 6 communal toilets and showers located inside the dorm. This does not include the ensuite bathrooms that...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived with a large group (Kiwi experience) and had a very slow check in. Other hostels accommodating Kiwi buses have worked out a fast check in procedure but we were waiting in a long queue outside Kaiteriteri Lodge. I'm glad it wasn't raining! The kitchen is FAR too small for the amount of guests at the lodge. We even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Macolo3
Kaiteri_Lodge, Manager at Kaiteri Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Macolo3, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Kaiteri Lodge. The Kiwi Experience driver advises all in-bound passengers to use cash for the check in as with up to 108 pax checking in at one time, this is the fastest option. Unfortunately, we had many people at the front of the queue who all...

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiteriteri
2.3 km away
Split Apple Retreat
Split Apple Retreat
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
111 reviews
25.2 km away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
244 reviews
19.5 km away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Torlesse Motels
Torlesse Motels
#3 of 7 in Kaiteriteri
143 reviews
0.1 km away
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
Kaiteriteri Beach Motor Camp
#1 of 4 in Kaiteriteri
82 reviews
1.0 km away
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in Kaiteriteri
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaiteri Lodge is set right at the start of the Abel Tasman National Park. Our beach-style and back packer accommodation is just 50m from the beachfront of beautiful Kaiteriteri, a stone’s throw from the Abel Tasman National Park and Kaiteriteri Mountain Bike Park, and the perfect setting for fun, relaxed family holidays, international travellers or weekend get-away. The beautiful Nelson region boasts the most sunshine hours in New Zealand, and a selection of safe swimming beaches. At Kaiteri Lodge, we’re proud to offer the best of everything New Zealand has to offer – friendly people, local cafes and restaurants, golden beaches, walking tracks, beautiful scenery, and comfortable, welcoming accommodation for any traveller. When you stay at our Kaiteriteri accommodation, you won’t be short on things to see and do. Go kayaking, sailing, mountain biking, fishing or swimming, or visit the nearby walking tracks for a real outdoor Kiwi experience. We have 21 rooms that can accommodate most requests but have limited private rooms configured as Super King Doubles and Twins with en-suite. Kaiteri Lodge is mainly configured as shared dorm style rooms with en-suite. Our private en-suite rooms come with a super king double bed, heater, TV, fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. All linen is provided. Kaiteri Lodge is also shared with Kiwi Experience, a national in-bound tour bus operation. The lodge has the following facilities available to all guests: Activity booking desk, TV room, Laundry, Wireless and Kiosk Internet, BBQ area and a shared kitchen with all necessary cooking utensils. The Beached Whale Restaurant and Bar, fully licensed, on-site and open from 4pm 7 nights a week November to April and May to October 4 nights per week serving set menu options or choose from our a la carte dining, gourmet pizzas or take away, we’ve got it all. There is music nightly. Local activities: kayaking, walking Abel Tasman, waka races, water taxis, scalloping, cray-fishing, mini golf, sailing, sky diving and many more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaiteri Lodge

Address: 8 Inlet Road | Motueka, Kaiteriteri 7197, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Kaiteriteri
Price Range: $60 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaiteri Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kaiteri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiteri Hotel Kaiteriteri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kaiteri Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask what services you are going to get for the cost and what your view will be of. Request a quiet room. Ensuites large.”
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for an ensuite room - bathrooms are a decent size.”
 of 5 bubbles VillaInTheVines, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“private room with ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles c0mmuter, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in a family room”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“20m to the beach”
 of 5 bubbles Mic_Born, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay