We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Leyenda

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Leyenda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been here about six years ago and were looking forward to returning on this trip. We were disappointed. The BBQ pork ribs were dry and a little tough. The pastas ordered by my husband and son were good. The problem for us was the price. $13 for noodles and pesto sauce? Cocktails were $8 so we opted for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBrydenthal
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest We appreciate your reviews and your preference; Is a pleasure for us to know you have been in the hotel before (6 years ago) and I want to emphasize that everything has changed since that year until now; We have different owners, different menu and prices change significantly every year; so maybe thats the reason of the difference...

North Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 13 October 2016

February of 2016, I and my family visited Hotel Leyenda in Costa Rica, Guanascaste. We had in mind it was going to be a great get away the Hotel has amazing ratings, but guess what it was a nightmare. We got robbed along with the guest in the attaching room everything on camera the delinquents even got caught weeks later...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sz9umendez
HoteLLeyenda, Director General at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimada Señora Estamos muy apenados por lo sucedido durante sus vacaciones en nuestro hotel, pero pensamos que hay detalles que...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We were greeted at the hotel with a warm welcome and a refreshing drink. The style and decor is modern and well suited to the surroundings. Our room was on the first floor with a wonderful view of the gardens. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was quiet. There were nice breakfast choices, and we sampled most of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet Cousins
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear guest Thanks for your preference, we appreciate your excellent comments. Thank you for taking your time to share with other guests the experience you had with us. We hope you visit Hotel Leyenda on your next vacations, we'll be happy to see you again. Kind regards

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Amazing service very unique and super nice staff.. The place is just beautiful. Super clean and very cute rooms.. Perfect view in every single room. Special in 2nd floor beautiful backyard.. I definitely will be back👍😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sulate30
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Thanks for taking your time to give us this good review, we appreciate it. we are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay in Hotel Leyenda and we'll be waiting for your next visit. Thanks for your preference Kind regards

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Playa Castillo one of the most untouched beaches in Guanacaste and Nikoya. Amazing grounds at hotel. It's what you imagine a Costa Rican resort or Tropical paradise should look like. Clean pools , amazing gardens and children's play area. They will drive you to the beach and give you beach chairs , towels and provide a full size clean bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHas
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your preference, we are glad to read your good reviews and knowing you have enjoyed your stay in hotel leyenda makes us very happy. We'll be so much happy if you visit us again for your next vacations. Kind regards

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 18 August 2016

WE stayed in this hotel for 2 days in June. The hotel was gorgeous, the rooms were clean ,the pool was amazing and the staff was pretty helpful.However, this hotel is well tucked into the city and there is nothing around it....just you, the hotel and nature. Also the beach is pretty far walking distance and you have to rely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dfmetal1
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time to give us your reviews, we are taking notes of all the details mentioned and we'll keep working to improve it as possible. The distance to the beach is only 2 km from the hotel, but as every body knows, in Costa Rica is not allowed to build near to the beach, so...

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Okay so first off I'd like to say that it was our first time in Costa Rica and we decided to stay at hotel leyenda, the pictures do not do this establishment justice. It is so much more beautiful and full of amenities than you would think. The food was outstanding and Roger and the staff were always going out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Myles B
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time to share your reviews in our site, we are glad to know you have really enjoyed your stay in Hotel Leyenda and have liked our services, we hope you choose our hotel for your next stay in Costa Rica, we look forward to see you again. Thanks for your preference Kind regards

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 July 2016

My boyfriend and I fell in LOVE with Playa Carrillo, as well as Hotel Leyenda. The food, the staff, the location, the accommodations - FANTASTICO! Flavio was such a huge help to us every step of our journey here. He greeted us at late check-in with a smile on his face. He made us feel welcome the second we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basolomon91
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are glad to read you good reviews, thanks for your preference and thanks so much for taking your time to write on our site. We hope you visit Hotel Leyenda again for your next vacations Kind regards

Reviewed 18 July 2016

Thhis is a great hotel tucked into the hillside with beautiful landscaping surrounding a pleasant outdoor pool. The staff and restaurant were very nice. It is about a 5 minute drive from the Carrillo beach and the hotel provides a shuttle, chairs, and a portable restroom at the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean. We enjoyed our stay here,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason M
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for give us your good reviews. We are glad to know you liked our hotel and we hope you visit us again. Thanks for your preference Kind regards

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and two kids stayed here. The service was great. We were greeted with fruity drinks at check in. The staff were wonderful. The room was run down but AC worked great. The WiFi didn't work in our room. We had to go the pool or the restaurant to get WiFi. The pool area was wonderful. Our kids loved...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shauna H
HoteLLeyenda, Director de Recepción at Hotel Leyenda, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking your time to share your comments with us, we are now working to improve our WiFi service in the rooms, and also we'll try to make the room look different. Thanks for your preference and we hope you visit Hotel Leyenda for your next vacations. Kind Regards

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Carrillo
4.3 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 15 in Playa Samara
766 reviews
1.9 km away
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
Nammbu Beachfront Bungalows
#3 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
83 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Guanamar
Hotel Guanamar
#5 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
El Sueno Tropical
El Sueno Tropical
#4 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
149 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Esperanza
Hotel Esperanza
#2 of 8 in Playa Carrillo
208 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 15 in Playa Samara
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Leyenda is located at Carrillo Beach, the white sand beach and gorgeous palms, Guanacaste. Enjoy the hotel's Mediterranean architecture and its entertainment area, featuring swimming pool, jacuzzi, playground and private parking. 11 Superior rooms, luxuriously equipped with 2 queen beds, fab, a/c, beautiful outside porch, satellite TV and amenities. Five Superior rooms include kitchenette. Also available Internet access.Enjoy our very exclusive service for our exclusive guests! We offer mobile units including restrooms, sinks, showers, dressing rooms, lockers, safety box, beach chairs and umbrellas, awnings and sports equipment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Leyenda

Address: 1 Kilometro al Este de la Plaza de Deportes de Puerto Carrillo, Playa Carrillo 291-3100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Carrillo
Price Range: $86 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Leyenda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leyenda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Leyenda Costa Rica/Guanacaste
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Leyenda staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Minnesota
over a year ago
Grand Junction, Colorado
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Leyenda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premiere suite is a great deal!”
 of 5 bubbles basolomon91, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 6 and 7 upstairs facing the pool. No elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles C2772AOjasonm, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room #8 is small. The others are about double or triple the size.”
 of 5 bubbles Cristian_FP, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“A suite style room with your own sink and oven”
 of 5 bubbles jojoi122, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If only a single traveler, the economy room would be great.”
 of 5 bubbles lijahd, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay