We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here while attending an event at the NEC. Lovely cosy little find, rooms to snuggle up in, but no phones. Homely atmosphere, pretty garden overlooking fields in the delightful village of Meriden.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a lovely review !! " cosy, homely, snuggle, delightful. " So glad that you enjoyed our hospitality, hope if you are in the vicinity we can welcome you back. If you book direct with us, as a gesture to returning business, we will include the cost of your breakfast in your room rate. Kind Regards, Nick W.

Cartagena, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a long first day at the Motor show it was a real treat to checkin at the hotel and be met with helpful and cheerful staff.Our room was excelent with the grand sight of tea making facilities,Shower,bathroom and bed of highest standard.Restaurant and food again did not dissapoint.Well worth a visit.To sum up great value for money and amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harryanneholt
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Harry, thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am so glad you enjoyed your staff and were looked after so well by our " amazing, helpful, cheery staff. " They are delighted with the feedback. Hopefully we will see you again if you are in the vicinity. Kind Regards. Nick W

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner wanted an independent hotel close to the NEC. He found this one via last rooms and the price was much cheaper. Beautiful building. Beautiful garden. Comfortable and cosy bar. We loved it. Room was good size and clean with all the basics and the bed Wow lovely. We ate in the bar eventhough we were booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawn A
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Shawn, So glad you felt so comfortable and well looked after, that's just how we like to do things. Come back soon perhaps to enjoy our Gardens when it is warm enough to sit out and dine El Fresco! Kind Regards, Nick W.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here last week in a group of 12 plus a baby. None of our group had been before so it was solely on my recommendation (no pressure). It was extremely busy,the restaurant was full as was the bar area - people everywhere carrying plates! In terms of a Sunday carvery, it was great. The portion of meat was generous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucymc62
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lucy, So glad you enjoyed our Carvery with all it's 'Hustle and Bustle'. Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, delighted to have lived up to your recommendation. No pressure ! We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Nick W.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This establishment is fabulous. The staff, the food and atmosphere is amazing. Lovely carvary is fantastic better than the Toby Carvary which is near to them. This little find is no more than 10 minutes driving from the NEC.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djckcheryl
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow ! what a great review THANK YOU. We hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards, Nick W.

Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Very small hotel with simple rooms. To all Americans...bring your washcloths!! They don't have any. Showers were nice, mattresses had springs that poke you all night, and there was a little noise due to thinner walls. The view is outstanding and beautiful. Nice area in the center of England. Very peaceful. The food was good at breakfast and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tammbrad
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I can assure you if you return and book with us direct, I will personally oversee the provision of flannels ( as we call them here ;-) ) I hope you had a safe trip home and we really would like to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Nick W.

Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Overall, very little to fault. Very friendly staff and good service. Breakfast was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable. The free WiFi is handy as the phone reception is very poor. The location is very good and in close proximity to the NEC. Towels are a bit thin but usable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel L
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Samuel, So pleased you enjoyed your stay, will be looking at the towels we have changed our laundry supplier, so thank you for the 'heads up'. Kind Regards, Nick W.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Have stayed twice before though quite a few years ago. Booked for 2 nights in October while visiting NEC. Receptionist told us that hotel had been taken over and refurbished two and half years ago. Our room was very basic, twin beds and not much in the way of decor. I have stayed in far better Travelodge rooms. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita B
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rita, I am sorry that your visit didn't live up to your expectation. Obviously room décor is open to subjective opinion but our refurb /update has been met with very favourable comments, in general, as you will see in previous comments. I hope you were advised when you booked breakfast that it consists of a Full English Buffet, offering...

Northampton
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Visited the restaurant with my wife. Nice ambience and staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the standard of the food did not, in our view, warrant the prices being charged. Distinct lack of any seasoning and the "pan fried" seabass had obviously never seen a hot pan!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stagtogo
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am so glad that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Our prices are very competitive we feel. However if you were dissatisfied with your food we want to know so thank you for your review. I would really appreciate it if you could call me personally at the Hotel quoting Clairtripad, in order to...

Tenby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Nice food in attached pub. Breakfast was an extra £5.00 but worth it. Booked this hotel before they increased their rates. Rates more than doubled. I wouldn't pay the new price for what we got though

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stenward
Nick W, General Manager at The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Sounds like you enjoyed your visit overall. Our Rates do fluctuate as in all Hotels worldwide, according to demand in the local area. Obviously we are very N.E.C lead but please keep checking our rates on our Website as there are great bargains to be found and if you book direct, I will...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Birmingham NEC Meriden Manor Hotel
5.1 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
3.3 km away
Forest of Arden Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hampton Manor
Hampton Manor
#1 of 2 in Hampton-in-Arden
344 reviews
6.2 km away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#31 of 141 in Birmingham
814 reviews
5.0 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 141 in Birmingham
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Strawberry Bank a modern styled drinking and eating destination in Meriden. With our stunning surroundings, relaxed decor and friendly team, we invite you to enjoy the newly refurbished interior with a leisurely drink from our extensive selection in the pub or dine from our range of classic meals in the Restaurant. We also boast an exclusive function room that can be tailored for Weddings, Conferences and other Events to suit your individual needs as well as, 55 bedrooms in The Strawberry Bank Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 72 Main Road, Meriden CV7 7NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Meriden
Price Range: $80 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Strawberry Bank Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not choose 122”
 of 5 bubbles Linda504049, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a room upstairs and well away from the main corridoor to possibly avoid lots of night time other guests noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DannyTheFoodChampion, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They're all fine, but ask for a room on the ground floor if you have mobility problems; there are no lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles Ulape, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“twin room was very roomy!”
 of 5 bubbles philo26, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be as far away from the main hotel as possible”
 of 5 bubbles HUTTCHAND, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay