We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bowl Inn

TripAdvisorUS$100*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$100*
US$100*
US$101*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Bowl Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of The Bowl Inn
 Click to rate
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very conveniently situated, just off the M5 yet feels like the middle of the countryside. Nicely appointed rooms that keep the character of the building without being twee. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast and dinner. And a reasonable price. So nice to find an alternative to plastic hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travels4fun500
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Husband and I went for lunch on Easter Bank holiday Monday. We reserved a table for 1:00pm on arrival all looked good, busy but not over the top. Didn't particularly like the fact that dogs were in the bar area with their owners who were eating however we were in the restaurant bit so phwee no dogs !! Orders were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alsop62
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here as part of a business trip and was really impressed. It's a down to earth, well maintained smart pub with decent rooms , nice beer and lovely food. I actually holed up doing work for a few hours before eating and sleeping and all of the staff really looked after me , nothing too much trouble . Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sutttraveller
TheBowlInn, General Manager at The Bowl Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review. Look forward to having you back at the Bowl soon. Regards Adrian and Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The pub is in the centre of the village with lots of parking opposite. The rooms have recently been refurbished and though quite small are equipped with everything needed for a short stay. Good menu of pub food and a hearty breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
TheBowlInn, General Manager at The Bowl Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review, we look forward to your next stay. Regards Adrian & Team

Barbados
Reviewed 17 April 2017

On a different day I'm sure The Bowl would be a great place for food and drink. Unfortunately our Bank holiday Monday experience was slightly spoilt by lack of staff and a very smokey fire. The staff that were working did their best to cope and were very apologetic, but if was very difficult for them to manage the numbers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BajanBlue52
TheBowlInn, General Manager at The Bowl Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was unfortunate that we did not have a full team on that day due to various reasons and appreciate your honesty. With regards to the smokey fire, unfortunately another guest was impatient and tried to light the fire while the team was serving lunch. Due to the building being so old there is a...

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

My friend and I made an impromptu stop in at the Bowl in on a Saturday afternoon. Having been there before but not for many years I was surprised to see it had been bought by a chain. Quite sad I thought as it was always quite an upmarket place in the past. However we were served by a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrspjontour
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Called in on trip advisor recommendation and were glad we did. On a busy Saturday night we were served quickly and in a friendly manner. Good choice of food at a decent price. peaceful location near to some great views over the Severn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Great rooms, great beer, and delicious food. Loved the historical nature of the hotel, and how they use the photographs around the building to inform you of its history. It certainly doesn't pretend to be fine dining, but it serves home cooled food with fresh local produce. Will definitely use it again when next in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwal4d
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Wheelchair accessible. Yay. Lovely friendly staff. Excellent menu. Super wine list. Tasty food, highly recommend this as a place to eat. No background music, yay, makes conversations easier. Free fizz on a Friday

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jac_cav67
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Went on Sunday evening, 5.30 booking, starters arrived at 6.30 rest of meal was slow , we finished eating at 840 ! The food was OK at best, feel sorry for the waitress (with glasses) who seemed the only person to care, won't be going again !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingwimberry

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almondsbury
1.4 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
932 reviews
0.4 km away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#3 of 5 in Almondsbury
265 reviews
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Lodge On The Park
Lodge On The Park
#4 of 5 in Almondsbury
246 reviews
5.5 km away
Berwick Lodge
Berwick Lodge
#2 of 5 in Almondsbury
361 reviews
4.6 km away
Premier Inn Bristol Cribbs Causeway (M5, J17) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Bowl Inn

Address: 16 Church Road | Lower Almondsbury, Almondsbury BS32 4DT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Almondsbury
Price Range: $160 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bowl Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bowl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bowl Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bowl Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are quiet but view are only of the village/car park”
RodH338, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you check that your rooms arent up steep stairs if disabled when booking”
sharono762, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As far away from the bar as possible.”
colint415, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Check what's on the menu before ordering. The steaks are very good”
helenandpaul13, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Front room - lovely outlook, very peaceful.”
lordcarruthers, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$100* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$100
PricelineUS$101
LateRooms.comUS$102
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates