We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

De Vere Tortworth Estate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Tortworth Estate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Vere Tortworth Estate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,340: English reviews
East Pennard
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a four poster bed at Tortworth Court for one night in early May, 2016. My wife had recently retired from work and, we were visiting Tortworth Court mainly because she worked there in 1982, thro' 1987. She was a member of the Prison Officer training team - albeit, a very junior member at the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart B
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Tortworth Court hotel and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I did note your comment about the Arboretum and the Lake, for future visits I would like to make you aware that the Arboretum itself is located on...

Devonport, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Fanastic grounds, room clean and functional. Dinner on an evening was excellent as were staff. However breakfast didn't live up to our expectations, hot food was cold. Resturant overcrowded people having to go round several tables to get to food, would have been better if hot food was served like evening meals. Not enough bar staff during morning meaning we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bap1950
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience, I was very disappointed to hear you received a poor level of service; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your experience is not usual for us; I know the team will be disappointed to read this review as normally customer service is what we...

Reviewed 17 May 2016

We stayed here on a red letter day voucher, but I upgraded the room for £50 which was well worth it as we then stayed in the main part of the hotel with a large room and 4 poster bed. The grounds and the hotel are stunning. My only complaint is the 4pm check in and the receptionist wasn't that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louise M
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Tortworth Court Hotel on TripAdvisor as we embody all feedback with a view it aids us to constantly move forward. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback and I will share your comments with the team, I did note your comment on check-in procedures and I will follow that...

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I had stayed here in april for a wedding and the venue is so beautiful. The rooms are of great size and leisure club is lovely with a nice size gym... We had food in the marquee, the restaurant and the snacks in the atrium all being very nice.. along with her wonderful surroundings having food there is a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RainyDayz1982
Blaina
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We attended a wedding here and also stayed the night, from start to finish we had a wonderful time. the room was large ,clean and in first class condition, as was all the bars and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was exelent and plentyful. Large and spledid grounds which are well kept for walks and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 243Peter_H
Holmfirth
Reviewed 15 May 2016

After reading some very mixed reviews about this hotel, I booked it, with some trepidation, for a re-union with some old friends for our yearly get together. My trepidation was totally unfounded as we had an absolutely wonderful time. We range in age from 59-81 and so can be quite particular in our dotage but we could not fault anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pmwalker5
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Good morning, just wanted to leave some feedback about mine and my fiancé visit to tortworth yesterday for a wedding viewing. When my partner booked the viewing via phone the lady was very pleasant and asked lots of question even congratulating us on our engagement so upon arrival they knew everything so didn't need to repeat details and we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrBenwilliams
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The hotel is very attractive, set in lovely grounds, with a terrace for outdoor drinks etc. Our superior room was lovely and spacious. The afternoon tea was excellent and filled us with high expectations for the evening meal. Sadly we were disappointed. The menu was quite limited. After three days, we were struggling to choose anything different. Main courses seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
ireland
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Had a beautiful spa day here yesterday. Lovely location and we were treated excellently from start to finish. Had the dry floatation and the salt scrub, used all pool facilities. Lunch was delicious, and tea, coffee, juice and fruit was available all day. Left feeling wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kandjIreland
Old Sodbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The menu is very poor, the reality of the food was very disappointing transport cafe standard, on a positive note the hotel and grounds are beautiful, a big shame about the food I was hoping for great things, if you want an amazing hotel with food to match Calcot Manor you will not be disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon b
TCFP, General Manager at De Vere Tortworth Estate, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your individual feedback, I’m truly sorry that your stay didn’t fully meet your expectations on this occasion; however we do appreciate the feedback that you have provided. Regards Mark Payne General Manager

968 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (952)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (353)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
View from Room (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (371)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortworth
6.2 km away
Thornbury Castle and Tudor Gardens
37.9 km away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,386 reviews
16.4 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
610 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Bristol North The Gables Hotel
13.1 km away
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
Aztec Hotel & Spa Bristol
#1 of 5 in Almondsbury
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This magnificent Cotswolds country house hotel is situated in a stunning South Gloucestershire location, conveniently near to Bristol. A grade II* listed Victorian mansion, De Vere Tortworth Estate offers all the grandeur of an elegant Cotswold's hotel alongside the hotel facilities of a premier four star hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Tortworth Estate

Address: Tortworth Road | Wotton-under-Edge, Tortworth GL12 8HH, England (Formerly Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Tortworth
Price Range: $116 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Tortworth Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Tortworth Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortworth Court 4 Pillars Hotel
Court Hotel Tortworth
Tortworth Court Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Tortworth Estate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth Upgrading Room”
Glennbarrett, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“the newly refurbished suites are very special. Afternoon tea was gorgeous so if indulging make sure you go for a late dinner!”
lindawM7137XQ, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 107 and 108 are brilliant if you have young kids who want to run around in a private enclosed grass courtyard.”
GauravS360, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother paying for a suite, it's just a room.”
  • The actual room they charge for as a suite
  • The actual room the describe as a suite
  • Their photo of what a suite looks like
Mikesalter, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you bring your swimming or gym gear the free facilities are excellent too.”
Aguerrooo, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5