We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Manor House Hotel

Traveller (423)
Room & Suite (59)
Dining (34)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Manor House Hotel is a quintessential Jacobean grade one listed hotel, with 35 comfortably furnished and well equipped bedrooms, all offering free use of our Health Club. The Restaurant serves fresh, seasonal & local food to residents and non-residents alike. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, conferences & events for up to 120 guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Show more
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
HOTEL CLASS
1,254Reviews
438Photos
14Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 402
  • 384
  • 197
  • 140
  • 131
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My Husband and I booked here for a 3 night stay when visiting our family, I had always wanted to stay here as often passed it when living nearby for 12 years (my husband is born and bred Shildon) and having moved away 3 years ago took this opportunity to book in. Ok it was cheap
Read more
Response from 543JamesH, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Karen J, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Manor House Hotel. I am sorry to see that you would never return. I understand that there were issues with the bathroom, which once reported to me on your first morning, you were moved rooms immediately and I even upgraded to you to Room 6, one of our newly renovated superior rooms free of charge, which is pictured on our website for anyone who would like to check it out. Maintenance have since solved the issues in the bathroom. Once again my apologies that there were issues on your first evening, however no further issues were reported throughout your three night stay, and your husband even thanked me on check out for a wonderful stay.
Read more
+4
Wouldnt go back! It was an upgrade to go home! Holes in sheets, tiles off the wall, headboard falling of the wall, dents in the ceiling, mold, damp and rotting door and window frames. The spar area was half decent but the water was cold, not enough chairs for people to sit in
Read more
Response from 543JamesH, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear paulw6837FZ, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel from your stay in July 2018. I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Since your stay over 6 months ago, I am pleased to report the room you stayed in has been refurbished. The spa is open to all hotel guests, and during peak times it may be that other guests are occupying the seats and loungers. Sorry if this left you disappointed.
Read more
Well what can I say. Please come and check this place out for yourselves. Six of us came here for a Christmas break and we were not disappointed. For a 3 star hotel this place is phenomenal. Ok it's a little tired in places BUT it's a 12th century building. The place oozes
Read more
Response from 543JamesH, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear pbigvoice1, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Manor House Hotel. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us over Christmas, and found your stay to be good value for money. I have passed your lovely comments on to the team, and the general manager, who looks forward to playing charades with you again this Christmas!
Read more
The building and grounds are very nice. We had a room in the Courtyard which was the building across the square. The room was average, fine size for 2 people but just felt a little bit neglected. It felt like it needed a proper clean and hoover and the bed linen was threadbare
Read more
Response from 543JamesH, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear 741leanneh, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Manor House Hotel. I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable experience. Your comments have been taken upon board, and will be acted on where necessary. I hope that if you return, you will see the improvements.
Read more
What can I say?? We chose this venue for our sons christening and it was wonderful. From the start of enquiring to the end of the function it was all perfect. The staff were more than helpful when picking the correct package and ensuring all dietary requirements were met of
Read more
Response from 543JamesH, Front Office Manager at The Manor House Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Dear IamStephSmith, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Christening at The Manor House Hotel. I am delighted that your sons Christening was wonderful. It was lovely to have you and your party back at The Manor House Hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. I have passed your lovely comments on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you in the very near future!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
PreviousNext
12345612
Yes it was clean, just in need of an upgrade !
1 vote
Show all answers
My room was clean and the communal areas that I went in.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is this hotel near Durham city centre
Sorry to have been so long in replying. The hotel is in West Auckland (the home of the first Sir Thomas Lipton world cup - except that somebody stole it). West Auckland Football Club (WAFC) beat Juventus in the late 1800s, by literally kicking the Juventus players off the field. Juventus thought they were playing Woolwich Arsenal Football Club. However, I ramble; the fact is that this Manor House is about 30 miles from Durham City.
0 votes
Show all answers
I have no idea. I would never go back to the Manor. So disappointed in my last visit.
-1 votes
Show all answers
Pool & spa are included in overnight stays,spa treatments are extra.There is a good deal advertised on their Facebook page for spa treatments and there are usually deals on Wowcher & Groupon.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Not the courtyard as very noisy as near the carpark"
"Cannot comment onrooms"
"Don't go here"
"Don’t choose room 2 - it was grotty."
"Book well ahead"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest Auckland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing