We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dragon Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dragon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Dragon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We couldn't praise the staff enough, definitely the best thing about our visit, but why are one's nostrils assailed by the hideous stench of fish on entering? Most off-putting and spoiled our appetite for lunch. Perhaps our choices from the bar menus weren't the best, so we will give it another go, just to be greeted by such warm members...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark J
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark. Thank you for your kind words and recent visit. Our staff here are brilliant and welcoming, I will pass on your praise. With regards to the fish the only thing that I can imagine is that a lot of customers had ordered our awesome Monty's beer battered fish and chips that lunch time? Definitely try us again, we...

Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Accommodation great value no complaints. It's not a Premier Inn but what it's got is character and some great staff with personality. Restaurant is good, had to wait a bit but if you want a meal cooked to order and to be of good quality when it arrives it's well worth waiting for. I'm picky so when I say I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The first thing to hit you when you walk in to hotel is the smell of fish , even 5pm in the afternoon the smell hits you when you come out of your room . We had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights guided by pics supplied from Booking . com and the hotels own web site. When we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toottoot-25
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Evans. We note your recent review Our room information is on all of our websites and explains about there being limited head height in our upper floor rooms, which start from £69 bed and breakfast, our standard rooms £79, Select £89 and our refurbished premium rooms £109. We are a 17th century former coaching inn . yes some...

Tenby
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Stayed for a night, as had an early meeting in nearby Welshpool. The Dragon has been our place of choice for a number of years. The food and ambience are very acceptable. Had the Fish and chunky chips, whilst my wife had Gammon, with all the trimmings. The Cod and Chips was reasonably priced for a hotel menu. The best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beejay248
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Most unfortunately they were all booked up upon my arrival . Being on a walking trek and learning that the closest lodging was 6 miles away was a bummer, but 2 friendly young staff got on the phone and finally secured a place for me, even though it wasn't easy, and then set me up with a taxi. All with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ana F
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Excellent welcome at this lovely place. Dog friendly, excellent serivce,great food and drinks. Nice bar and character building. Standard room is basic, but functional. Plenty of car park space. Would recommend to visitors in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brent_jay
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We (my husband and I together with our favourite family members) spent a fantastic evening at The Dragon on a Saturday night in October. Friendly staff and nice bar environment were a great welcome. We studied our menus which my veggie husband was so pleased to see actually offered him a choice and were not pressured to order as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsClaireJ
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business following a customer recommendation. We had s fabulous meal in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly staff. Unfortunately the room did not live up to the restaurant. The bathroom had black mould around the silicone, the shower had no power and it was generally old fashioned. I recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason R
Dragon M, Manager at The Dragon Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason Thank you for your recent review. All our bedrooms are being refurbished over a period of time – as a 17th century building we know some of the rooms are a little quirky, Although at the same time – full of character. Unfortunately we still have a few rooms to finish off, which we are hoping to complete...

Trewern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Wonderful little town with The Dragon Hotel for lunch really great , wonderful food plenty of choice. The staff are very friendly and good. The food is obiviously freshly cooked and well presented. The bar area is lovely to sit in and you can eat there in the conservatory. So a great end to a lovely morning visit. Would love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stopped for an overnight on our way to Milford Haven from Leeds, just to break a long journey. Our first reaction was uncertainty due to the slightly shabby entrance but we were soon happy with our choice as the place was quite busy and the staff very pleasant. The bedroom was comfy and well equipped, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djgpick

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montgomery
11.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
552 reviews
5.8 km away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
376 reviews
12.6 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
310 reviews
31.1 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,398 reviews
25.0 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dragon Hotel Restaurant
The Dragon Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Pub, Welsh
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
17Th century former Coaching Inn set in historic Montgomery just below the old castle ruins, surrounded by glorious Mid-Wales/Shropshire rolling countryside. 20 En-suite bedrooms. Most rooms with exposed beams. Free WiFi and car parking. Traditional restaurant and informal bar serving the best of local produce. Ideal for Offa's Dyke and Powis Castle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dragon Hotel

Address: Market Square, Montgomery SY15 6PA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery
Price Range: $100 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dragon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Montgomery
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Dragon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would go for room facing the front.”
 of 5 bubbles AntoniaTrip, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hope you like the sound of bells!”
 of 5 bubbles teresal747, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If in a front bedroom be warned you can hear the town clock, especially if a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles Beejay248, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unfortunately not stopped here”
 of 5 bubbles A3117MZsuec, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose rooms 17 and 18”
 of 5 bubbles iangD2796XL, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5