We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Northey

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Northey
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 228: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited Jan 2017 as a couple on a Sunday. Warm, welcoming and very cosy with a lovely warm roaring fire! We were told to choose a table and given menus but had to ask for drinks (no biggie) and were then asked if we were ready to order food. We ordered the beef roast at £14.95 served with duck fat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cerimj
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Early week visit to this pub was a delight, generous portions (huge burger), lovely liver and loads more well worth the visit, friendly staff and reasonably priced. would recommend save room for pudding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Chippenham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only came for a Lunch Time Meal, with two friends, Meal was good, and the two waitress who looked after us were excellent, cheerful and helpful, we have not been to this hotel for a couple of years, and we enjoyed our visit. The food was excellent and enjoyed by all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joypierce
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

I was rebooked into this as their sister hotel had a burst pipe, that's not to say I wouldn't have chosen it but it was slightly further from the M4 than I would have liked The room was really nice, and the bathroom huge, unfortunately though the sound proofing was sadly lacking so every time a lorry passed during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian912
OHHCo, Owner at The Northey, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay, and we are glad you enjoyed your room. Unfortunately we are situated on a main A road, we have installed double glazing as sound proof and we rarely get any negative feedback. Our menu has an array of freshly cooked dishes, so I'm surprised that you mention the menu of having limited...

Poole in Dorset
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed over for one night as we were visiting Bath the next day, booked this place after reading the good reviews and we were not disappointed with the room or the location. There are a few things that might annoy some, like the train noises and the noise from the pub/restaurant downstairs, but if you are booking this kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chef16071966
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Having stayed many times in the Bath area, we have decided that the London Road area to the North East of the city is a great place to stay - Box in particular is a favourite. Good pubs and a great curry house (The Bengal Bear) and only a 10 minute drive into the top end of the city (Charlotte...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank prlights
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Booked the northey via my iPhone on Saturday night. Good mobile site easily navigable and sorted the booking with ease. Great service and truly good tasting beef roast dinner followed by a brownie sundae. What an absolute treat would recommend strongly to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robinson R
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Lovely surprise of a place: excellent food, friendly bar and a bathroom in Room 2 that I'd be very happy to have at home. Not a single misstep, I highly recommend the place... and next time we're over, we'll likely chase down some of their other pubs: looks like a fairly small chain in the southwest of England.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBing
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We went only to the restaurant not to stay. The first time my friend had a coupon of some sort and our expectations were not high. We had a great meal. We liked it so much that we returned for a Sunday lunch and it is the best Sunday lunch I have ever had.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 873elizabeth
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Room was in good order, bathroom excellent but the room was small and a little cramped. Staff were pleasant and helpful and the restaurant was very good. It's a pity that it's located so close to the main road but would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey Warren B

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
4.5 km away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
556 reviews
5.6 km away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
306 reviews
2.9 km away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
7.9 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.4 km away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The former Box Station Hotel owes its architecture to Brunel. Head Chef Chris Alderson has created a classic menu using seasonal produce. Fresh fish is delivered to from Cornwall, along with locally sourced beef. Those staying the night will be royally spoilt as slick bedrooms sport pieces of one-off furniture and sculpture - and beds super comfortable with dazzling white linen and thick mattresses. One room has a decked balcony, all have coffee-machines, and slate stone bathrooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Northey

Address: Bath Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Price Range: $148 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northey 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Northey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northey Box, Wiltshire, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Northey staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Northey staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Review based on room 6”
 of 5 bubbles prlights, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Well, if the bathrooms are all like Room 2 then you'll be fine. Room 2 does face the main road...”
 of 5 bubbles CharlieBing, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go in the annex bit as I'm sure the rooms in the main building are nicer!”
 of 5 bubbles N4473RBsarahw, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a main road so best choose towards the back - we only ate there though”
 of 5 bubbles GorfBathUK, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room No 1 and it has a lovely big balcony area as well as being extremely spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles GLOBETROTTERSANDBACH, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay