We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel van Dyk

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel van Dyk
See the most recent reviews
Showing 390: English reviews
Clowne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Been going here for many many years, for different occasions. Although never stayed over due to us living nearby. Visited twice in recent weeks after change of management. Much better in many ways, the main point being the service seems to have improved. Drinks still a little pricey but typical for the type of venue, disappointed that my G n...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can confirm that we have changed 16 dishes on our Grill Menu yesterday and our Bowden Menu has totally changed. I am so glad we are looking after you and I will speak with our team about the glasses. We look forward to seeing you again Regards Marc

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Would recommend a visit to the Grill either for an evening out, or a quick meal after work. The food was excellent, tasted fresh and it was well presented by friendly, attentive staff. The service was prompt and meals were good value. The new owners haven't changed a format that works and seem to focus on the quality and encouraging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BB DD D
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant I am so glad you can see the positive changes. Our staff are a great asset to our business and I'm so happy they make you feel at home in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Marc

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a Buble tribute with carvery,The wine was £20 a bottle ( 2 for £30 ) prosecco £30 a bottle ( 2 for £50 ). The carvery was let down by really poor beef, totally unedible despite looking nice. It was like eating rubber. Everyone, and I mean everyone of our 47 party were unimpressed. Pity as the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaybee260
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our tribute night. I am sorry that our meal didn't meet your expectations. If you wish to discuss your comments, please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel. Regards Marc

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for meal 12th February and was disappointed. Starter was lovely but main was luke warm. Sent vegetables back due to being cold and they brought out more vegetables still not great and cauliflower under cooked. So much potential but needs more staff and more training.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ainestevens
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. If you wish to discuss your comments further please give me a call at the hotel. Regards Marc

East Midlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having dined at so many hotels I was really looking for ward to this one as it is closer to home and having driven past it so many times GOD knows why I did not do so on this occasion the food and the Cabaret leave a lot to be desired. We chose the beef it was SHOCKING the soles...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian24EastMidlands
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry our hotel didn't meet your expectations, please give me a call at the hotel to discuss your comments. Regards Marc

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called here for lunch on the spur of the moment with my 2 year old granddaughter. The Grill Room at the Van Dyk don't offer a child menu the only option is to have a "Light Option" which is just a smaller portion of the main courses, not exactly child friendly. I had the Beef Bourguignon which was more like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chris4robin
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We do hope you will come back to the hotel again soon Regards Marc

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came to the wedding fayre previous Sunday and came back for another appointment.... Been past this place numerous times but never been in.... Nicely furnished and decor is pleasent with marbleesqe finishes with leather furnishings... In my opinion tasteful. Met our wedding planner ( Alison) hopefully spelt correctly if not many apologies....😉 she was fantastic to be honest, shy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt4orpe
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed our hotel and I hope you will choose us to hold your wedding. Hope to see you again soon in our hotel Regards Marc

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Van Dyk's on Saturday evening to celebrate a friend's birthday. The service was appalling, we were taken to our table and our order was taken, we waited an hour and a half before our starters were served and even the one of our party's dishes did not appear. When we asked the waiter where it was, he came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marsh1windsor
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can only apologise that your visit to the hotel has not met your expectation on this occasion. Our food is cooked fresh to order so sometimes food may take a while. I have checked the time the order was placed by your table and the time the food was...

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an event hotel, somewhere for a wedding, a night's entertainment or perhaps a special meal. Food was very good to excellent. Hotel room comfort and maintenance in room at rear of hotel was poor. Noisy ventilation from kitchens all night, failed central heating (3 nights), rotten window frame, room phone not working. Hotel suggests it is a country...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myoung100
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry our hotel hasn't met your expectation on this occasion. As you have highlighted we had a problem with the central heating boiler, but this has now been fixed. You have also highlighted that this is a busy hotel, this is due to the popularity, great food and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called last night for a family meal. The service was excellent as was the food. It was quite busy but the food was brought out quite quickly to say it is all freshly prepared. It will continue to be our favourite place when we want to go out somewhere special for a meal. Would be nice though if the website...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyDaysandHolidays
Marc W, Managing Director at Hotel van Dyk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your meal with us, our menu is forever changing, however I have asked our website team to update it to the one that has just been launched. We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again soon. Regards Marc

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clowne
9.2 km away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
926 reviews
12.0 km away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#1 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,251 reviews
2.5 km away
Ibis Chesterfield North
Ibis Chesterfield North
#1 of 1 in Barlborough
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
679 reviews
11.0 km away
Twin Oaks Hotel
Twin Oaks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palterton
202 reviews
8.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Van Dyk is an outstanding example of a grade II listed building,it is family owned and managed and the impressive facade and opulent interior, provides an elegant atmosphere, for the ultimate dining experience within Albert's grill room or the Bowden Restaurant. The 15 individually designed ensuite bedrooms compliment the hotel perfectly, for any guests wishing to stay within Chesterfield area.Located near to the M1 and A1 motorways,the hotel provides the ideal location for casual or eligant dining,evening live entertainment show's as well as Small business meeting's and lunches, whilst also offering tailor made packages for Weddings, Private Parties and festive Celebrations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel van Dyk

Address: Worksop Road | Clowne, Clowne, Chesterfield S43 4TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Clowne
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel van Dyk 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel van Dyk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Dyk Hotel
Van Dyk Chesterfield
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel van Dyk staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel van Dyk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A suite would be nice”
 of 5 bubbles sharonlM9487XY, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Great Place to eat”
 of 5 bubbles fiestary, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the back - overlooking kitchen roof, ventilation fans are noisy, no double-glazing, main road at side of hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles myoung100, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be prepared for extremely hot accomadation.”
 of 5 bubbles lukeo52, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unfortunately the hotel didn't have a ground floor room or lift or stair lift so it wasn't suitable for my 90 year old mother.”
 of 5 bubbles D5335MCjaneh, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5