We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

820 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 806: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Cheap hotel, so you don't expect too much but basic amenities are not met. Hotel smells 'old', rooms are dated and the bed is probably older than we were. Shower did not heat up and the pipe leading to the shower head had clearly had a leak and had been siliconed (no qualified plumber would do this). This meant water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another great celebration at the Mercure. Staff were fantastic, and although the meal was not as good as last year's selection, it was well cooked, and delivered piping hot. Only found out on check out that the hotel is dog friendly and provides rooms for dog lovers at an extra £10 per night. My little Westie, Lottie will definitely be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noreen k
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, we look forward to meeting Lottie next year !

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our room by phone for a 2night stay,with a very helpful lady (Hanna) who told us to ring the day before we arrive for a free upgrade , we arrived at 1pm and was greeted with friendly staff, we had no hassel, our room was lovely , we had lunch , dinner , and breakfast, the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irene w
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words about the team it is much appreciated we look forward to seeing you again next time

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and found it a good location for visiting family, Chester and also the retail outlet Cheshire Oaks. Original room was very noisy but we were given an alternative room without hesitation. Staff were very helpful and there was a good choice at breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizziedripping520
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words please accept my apologies for the noise in your first room

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have a very mixed review of this hotel. My partner booked this hotel for us for one night so we could be close to Cheshire Oaks for a shopping trip. I contacted the hotel afterwards and extended the trip for another night, which they were happy to accommodate and agreed that I could pay upon arrival. They also gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotty P
United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the worst Christmas meal I have ever had!! The melon starter was just about acceptable. The vegetable tart was absolutely disappointing!! A big fat puff pastry case with a FEW red onions straight from the pan, not caramelized or anything fancy, a FEW tomatoes, no cheese, poor poor poor!!! I complained and asked where are the 'vegetables'? They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcela B
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal the general feedback we received on the evening was very posistive.

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had one night here recently but wouldn't stay here again. Confusion at check in regarding payment. We had pre-paid by credit card but they wanted to charge us again as it wasn't on their system. We had proof so it was finally sorted. ROOM : As soon as we walked in noticed a smell like greasy hair on pillows! It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missuspin
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review please accept my sincere apologies for your experience with us and the noise by others, I have shared your feedback with all concerned in order that we can improve.

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a Saturday night, bed not very comfy, rooms tidy and spacious. Walls very thin could hear everything. Paid £8 each for breakfast, ok selection of food not the best. Good access to Chester, the designer outlet and the motorway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannyscun87
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

2 night stay Room in need of a coat of paint and cold, steam room out of order and pool area in need of a face lift, bar area quite nice tho. reception staff not helpful at all. Asked where the pool was to be sent in the general direction when got there no towels as you get these at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScotsBri
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I have spoken with reception to ensure that matters are explained at check in to a better standard

Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for its location just outside chester city and cheshire oakes both easy to access ,was given a nice welcome ,check inn was quick .we stayed in ground floor room bed was very comfi and nice size, very clean .bar was round corner from room didnt get any noise from it ,breakfast was very nice good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wayjack
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.8 km away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
355 reviews
1.6 km away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
381 reviews
2.9 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Price Range: $88 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only went for a group Christmas meal”
 of 5 bubbles MarcelaB784, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay more than one night.”
 of 5 bubbles 884alana, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at back, ones at teh front you can hear the road. But it is not busy late at night”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 239 at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles peterwQ3793FL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was spacious and clean”
 of 5 bubbles CraftyCol_7, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay