We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

809 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 796: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for its location just outside chester city and cheshire oakes both easy to access ,was given a nice welcome ,check inn was quick .we stayed in ground floor room bed was very comfi and nice size, very clean .bar was round corner from room didnt get any noise from it ,breakfast was very nice good selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wayjack
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just had overnight stay at the Woodhey, the rooms are spacious and very clean. Kusama the head housekeeper was brilliant nothing was too much trouble and I can see why the hotel is so clean the beds are really comfortable, although it was freezing outside the hotel it was so cosy inside. Breakfast was fresh and well worth the money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, Kusuma will be delighted with your feedback and much deserved it is too. Thank you for your nice comments about breakfast also. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just got back from a great two day break ,special thanks to Amy on the reception who couldn't do enough to make my wife's birthday special ,lovely room and fantastic breakfast would stay again ideally situated for days out to Chester and Cheshire oaks retail outlet

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ROB K
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about Amy I am delighted you had a nice time we hope to see you agin in the near future.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Despite having put my loyalty card details online, the receptionist failed to offer me a welcome drink or any other benefits that come with my platinum loyalty card. When I asked for this, she grunted and reluctantly gave me a drink token. When I asked if they sold dental kits, again, she grunted and made me feel like a nuisance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arif A
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read this we usually enjoy very positive reviews on how friendly our team is I am very sorry that on this occasion this wasn't the case. We have had some new starters to the team on reception who are working very hard, I am sorry that our training had fallen short in advising them about...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Based on my experience, I would not book this hotel. The service we received from reception was terrible. The service from the bar staff wasn't great. I suggest this hotel chain organises for mystery customers to go to this hotel, sooner rather than later!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Guest B
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which I was disappointed to read we usually enjoy very posistive feedback on our team I am sorry at the time of your vivit you did not receive our ususal good service please accept my apologies

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Travelled last Friday to attend a 21st birthday party being held in hotel. Very large car park so good. Reception lady very good and very friendly. Put on the 3rd floor in room 310 but there was a lift but you did have to walk up some stairs. Room was nice and to my surprise lovely and warm, hate cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about the staff, we did go out and buy more proseco once we realised how popular it was with the party. Please accept my apologies for others incondieration regarding the noise Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a one night after a day shopping at Cheshire oaks. I wouldn't say the hotel is poor, but it certainly could do with a bit of training/assistance for the staff. Check in was fine, polite and efficient. Rooms were ok, but tired, but clean. No complaints there. We planned on an evening in the bar, few drinks and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, please accept my sincere apologies for it not be as it should be I will take this up with the relevant personal

Manchester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 893wanneem
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel itself is a bit out of the way with no local bus services, the rooms are large but the decor needs freshening the bathrooms are tired with mould in some places the room we had 115 had no heating apart from a electric convention heater which no one told use about.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Very disappointed in the decor, very basic room needed painting and TLC, lampshade at the side of the bed ripped, quite a lot iof mould marks on the bathroom ceiling, not what you expect for just under 100 pnds for 2 people overnight. On the good side staff very pleasant n helpful. breakfast had a good choice and was 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pencarder
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.8 km away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
351 reviews
2.9 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
266 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
361 reviews
36.9 km away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Price Range: $91 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay more than one night.”
 of 5 bubbles 884alana, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room at back, ones at teh front you can hear the road. But it is not busy late at night”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room 239 at all costs.”
 of 5 bubbles peterwQ3793FL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Executive Room was spacious and clean”
 of 5 bubbles CraftyCol_7, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor 101 to 110 are easiest probably.”
 of 5 bubbles Aldesh1, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay