We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kirkhouse Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Kirkhouse Inn
Kirkhouse Inn
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 80: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed and had a dinner over 2 nights just a new year. the food was excellent the service was spot on and the friendly staff were great. we will be back and recommended the kirkhouse to anybody looking for good food and a relaxing stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We celebrated my Mum and Dad's Diamond Anniversary with a family meal for 26 of us at the Kirkhouse Inn. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, the room we were given was lovely and the choice on the menu and the food was absolutely delicious. I couldn't recommend it more highly for such an occasion. Thank you to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moira R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Customer service nil, food nil (none served) no reason given other than it was available earlier but not now bizarrely (5.30pm) not coming back and don't recommend you visit anytime soon. Very disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VivienneMac
Al_Ewart, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As stated on an earlier review at this very busy time of the year it is difficult to maintain fresh stock levels due to supplier holidays. We therefore had no alternative yesterday afternoon to take the decision to close the kitchen at 5pm yesterday due to the lack of choice for our menu. We therefore...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a bar lunch on 02/01/2017, long wait for food, table wasn't clean, not a big choice of food, portions small, although what I had was tasty. Also thought it was expensive. I appreciate the time of year but if a business is open then it should be properly stocked and staffed.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ktmking1
Al_Ewart, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank your for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the menu choice on your visit however at the Kirkhouse we only serve fresh produce and at the holiday time of the year it is very difficult to keep stock levels high with many of our local suppliers being on holiday. It is our policy not to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always enjoy going to the Kirkhouse, a nice atmosphere. Enjoyed the Lasagne and Garlic bread - very tasty but was left still feeling peckish. Perhaps a few chips or salad garnish would have helped fill my rumbly tum.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Donnchadh M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped for lunch recently after a visit to the village. I was a regular visitor years ago before the hotel changed hands. Sadly no atmosphere now and not very festive, given the time of year. The food was nice enough but the experience was spoiled by staff who were at best disinterested. Such a shame. Prior to posting I read...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kitty512013
Al_Ewart, General Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write your review and on a positive note we are glad you enjoyed your food. Your comments regarding the festive decorations do however baffle us, as there were decorations throughout including two Christmas Trees and several garland and light displays in all the public areas.

Edinburgh
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Enjoyable place for Sunday lunch. Plenty of parking, good choice off the menu, nice bar staff, fresh decor, v. pleased with the meal and would recommend. Choice of full dishes or light bites, tempting home baking too, baked potatoes, seafood, steaks and other options plus gluten free choices highlighted and vegetarian dishes too. Decent range of beers and spirits at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gonelocal
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Dropped in late morning in company for coffee which was very expensive for which could only be described as average we also had kids with us that ordered kids ice cream at £6 for three small scoops, had we not been in company we would have sent this back as it was grossly overpriced, not sure if we would return

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stuart N
Al_Ewart, Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you felt your coffee experience was average and expensive however we offer a high blend coffee bean which is ground freshly for each coffee produced, and indeed is cheaper than some of the other nearby local coffee houses. Our ice cream is a hand- made Scottish variety made with fresh cream,...

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

For the avoidance of doubt this review relates to The Kirkhouse Inn, Glasgow Road G63 9AA. This is the fourth time I have submitted this review as TripAdvisor keep contacting me to say I am reviewing the wrong place! I definitely am reviewing the correct place! I went to have dinner last Thursday (03/11/2016) as the other pub in village...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lcoy78
Al_Ewart, Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Whilst we take all our reviews seriously this one we can only hope the author has had some sort of satisfaction in writing the malicious untruths penned to our site. It is quite within the law for any establishment to open and close their restaurant as the business requires and on a quite evening it is in no way wrong...

Scotland
Reviewed 5 November 2016

This hotel has been refurbished recently and is looking very smart with a new purple tartan carpet and chairs to match. There is also a new menu which was perfect for lunch. My husband had the seafood chowder which came with crusty brown bread. I had roast parsnip soup and a cheese and ham sandwich which I shared with my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoriWoodger
Al_Ewart, Manager at Kirkhouse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable lunch with us and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (114)
Viewed
26 Premier Room (20)
Viewed
Double Room (15)
Viewed
Premier Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)
Viewed
Twin Room (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathblane
5.7 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
7.0 km away
Glazert Country House Hotel
12.8 km away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Killearn Hotel
The Killearn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Killearn
168 reviews
6.3 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bearsden) Hotel
9.3 km away
Kincaid House Hotel
Kincaid House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Campsie
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kirkhouse Inn is nestled at the foot of the Campsie Hills in the village of Strathblane. Only 8 miles from Glasgow and 4 miles from Milngalvie the Kirkhouse is ideally located for those wishing to explore the Trossachs, Loch Lomond and Glasgow. With a restaurant and Bar/Lounge catering throughout the day from breakfast and early morning coffee and cakes to sumptuous meals in the evening, the Inn caters for all tastes. There are 15 rooms to accommodate those wishing to stay and explore the local area or for those visiting businesses or friends/family nearby. Our rates are affordable and competitive. Should you wish further information please call or look us up on Facebook and Twitter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirkhouse Inn

Address: Glasgow Road, Strathblane G63 9AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Stirling > Strathblane
Price Range: $156 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kirkhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkhouse Hotel Strathblane
Kirkhouse Hotel Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kirkhouse Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kirkhouse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the bar end of the hotel, but to be fair they did stop the music at 11.00pm.”
 of 5 bubbles NickB971, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the rear”
 of 5 bubbles 911RogerW, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some of my friends got rooms with a lot of noice so they couldnt sleep. So ask for that.”
 of 5 bubbles sonjadogs, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking campsie hills”
 of 5 bubbles happywandererDublin, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the main road, which is noisy. No lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 803fr, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay