We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Morar Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Morar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Morar Hotel
 Click to rate
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Morar Hotel is an oldy worldly Hotel which some lovely people running the Hotel, That is from the greeting we received when we arrived, through the Bar personnel & the restaurant waiters. A lovely Hotel with wonderful views over the Sea Loch & on a good day one can see Rhum, Eigg, & a part of Skye. Today was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianB321
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed as the last night of a 5 day hiking trip.and enjoyed a relaxing night, very nice bar and room and a first class meal in the restaurant with fantastic views.. The manager Stuart could not do enough to make us, and others we saw him talk to, feel totally welcome and is clearly a true hotelier. We were amazed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark l
SalesEnquiries, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments. The public bar was reopened in 2015 but the hotel has actually traded continuously with substantial refurbishment in certain areas about 2 years ago. We are pleased everything lived up to expectations and it is our aim to meet or exceed those expectations, especially given the challenges of the remote location. We look forward to...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having taken longer walking along the incredible beaches than I had planned I missed the train to Mallaig where fish and chips before the train back to Glasgow was a key part of the plan for what was an amazing day. Coming to my rescue was the Morar Hotel which in the 20 mins I had before the train provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MisterDey
SalesEnquiries, Guest Relations Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

I know the manager works very hard to please all our guests and we are delighted he was able to offer the takeaway range at such short notice. Nothing is too much trouble for the hotel and yes I think anyone who has completed the journey south knows they have to be looked after, which of course for our Great...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped here for a coffee on our way to the Silver Sands and our welcome was less than enthusiastic. The lounge was nicely furnished with old sofas and arm chairs with a vast collection of magazines available for guests. We got the impression we were the only people there, and a bit of a hindrance. That said our waitress...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
SalesEnquiries, Front Office Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

In shoulder season there are set opening times, but we were glad to be of assistance and try to be of service now the hotel is open.

South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights over the recent Easter weekend. Our room was on the first floor, sea view room 7. The room was very cosy, toasty warm, comfy beds, and suited us perfectly for the two nights we stayed. Bathroom was very clean, with the choice of a bath and a shower, nice big fluffy bath sheets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaznRoz
SalesEnquiries, Public Relations Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the olde worlde charm the hotel has kept, with modern efficiencies including new hot water system. Wifi was a problem for the whole area over Easter and is now back to normal, so we apologise for that. We are exploring all options at present. Once the...

Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrive Stuard and Criss was very helpful,the rooms was excelent with good size and nice view.The food was the best ever,the chef cook so nice and staff are very friendly and helpful,nice atmosphere ,we found in the bar nice selections of gins ,and we see the harry potter train also!I The best hotel in this area!! We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ionut s
SalesEnquiries, Front Office Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the bespoke gin menu with 9 gins! The steam train does come past and this is especially a drawcard for our younger guests most certainly. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok, it was myself my good lady and my son. We had a double bed with a single bed as well in the room which was facing the road. It was a good size and not much to complain about to be honest would have loved a room that size looking on to the water but that wasn't an option...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndrewHPA15
SalesEnquiries, Public Relations Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed all your food whilst at Morar and next time sample the beautiful restaurant menu here! We take on board the comment about the layout of the lounge area but we never change it because everyone has a different opinion. About the same time, a lady has come here again saying...

Dormagen, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

To this day I have stayed at the Morar Hotel 2 times and will probably be there again this year as part of our coach trip. It's one of those old gems with squeaky floor boards and soft carpets, and I really love the terrace which has been added at some point. It overlooks the beach and on a sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeikeDormagen
SalesEnquiries, Public Relations Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response. We take pride in hiring kind helpful staff. Beyond the coach trips we also have room for some private guests whether fishermen/women, company reps or walkers doing the TGO challenge. We look forward to your next stay.

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017

my husband and I got married in this hotel in october, the staff were very helpful. ( robert) was very helpful on our big day. The weather was great and we were able to get married outside on the decking, we had a great night on the eve of our wedding, there was a party for a member of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela B
SalesEnquiries, Public Relations Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad the staff made your day one to remember. Everyone here is friendly and welcoming which led to the day being such a success. Do come again to sample our Highland hospitality once again soon!

Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Cant miss this place if you are swinging past morar. Dropped in for dinner and a drink ; The bar was more receptive to our orders than the restaurant. Food was average though the portions were decent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karthik_Balaswamy
BeachSupervisor, General Manager at Morar Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note at busy times, the restaurant needs a dinner reservation and your best bet would be bar food instead. We are always pleased to see people, but please ring ahead, since we do have bookings and pre-booked tours stopping by.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morar
3.9 km away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
506 reviews
6.7 km away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
266 reviews
6.6 km away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
73.3 km away
Toravaig House Hotel
23.5 km away
Mingarry Park Luxury Accommodation & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently taken over and substantially refurbished, one of Scotland's most historic hotels, the Morar Hotel is a friendly family-owned Edwardian mansion house on the romantic 'Road to the Isles', 3 miles from Mallaig, the Southern Gateway to the Isle of Skye. Commanding breathtaking views of the famous Silver Sands of Morar and the Inner Hebridean islands of Rum & Eigg, its panoramic views and comfortable accommodation have made it the perfect coastal escape for many years. Built in 1902, originally as the Station hotel, it is only metres from the train station. Now a modern character hotel with wifi and satellite TV and open to the public, it is only 50 minutes from Fort William by the new road, or an hour by scheduled train services or in the summer by the special Jacobite Steam Train, as featured in the Harry Potter films. The overnight service from London (Euston) leads to Morar Station opposite the hotel and car hire is available in Fort William or Morar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Morar Hotel

Address: Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Price Range: $206 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Morar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morar Hotel Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Morar Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Morar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views are from the Rear of the Hotel overlooking the Sea Loch”
  • The View from our Room across the Sea Loch
BrianB321, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms”
markl645, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“overlooking the beach”
HeikeDormagen, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Seaviews every time”
BouBali, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sea view room”
100RobertM, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5