We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turaco Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Turaco Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Madrid
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

excellent place to stay in family and benefit from warm welcome. Great location if you come from Swaziland and want to enter in the most game intensive part of Kruger Parks. Exceptional quite spot and great hosts !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinebI9138JK
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello there. Thank you very much for posting a review for Turaco Lodge. We really appreciate your effort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again some day. Take care. Kind regards, Tony & Danielle

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you plan to visit Kruger Park it is perfect place to stay for overnight. The owners are very friendly with their personal touch you feel almost like in your familly :) Room was very clean with AC, food was done by the owners at it was delicious ... There is even a small swimmingpool :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magdalenaj201
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning! Thank you very much for taking some time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - we really do appreciate it. Even though your visit was quite short, we really enjoyed having you stay with us - friendly guests such as yourself make our "job" so worthwhile. We do hope you had a pleasant journey home. Take care....

Osaka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

everything: foods, owners, rooms were really good! they also provide us with safary tours, elephant ridding and walking in the bush and so on. so you can easily join it as you want! Anyway, we'd like to stay this hotel next time as well! I highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank takako884
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon. We want to thank you for writing a review for Turaco Lodge - we really appreciate it. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit Kruger National Park. Kind regards, Tony & Danielle

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent the first night of our visit to Kruger National Park at the Turaco Lodge and could not have chosen a better place as an introduction to Kruger. It borders the park and even before you enter the park you can see giraffes and various other animals. The Crocodile Bridge KNP gate is only a few miles down the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theov39
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for posting a review for Turaco Lodge - we so appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are very sorry that you could only stay one night - should you find yourself coming this way again, please do check with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again. Kindest regards,...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Danielle and Tony are the most gracious hosts imaginable - they are so anxious to please their visitors. We had a lovely 3 day stay. It is just a pity that it was so hot! Although the meals were lovingly prepared, I do feel that they could have given us more value for the cost - the portions were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandrabU3167SF
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - we do appreciate it. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we agree - it was really rather hot! We take note of your comments regarding the meals; we are constantly striving to improve the value of what we offer...

Olten, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 November 2016

I booked Turaco Lodge with my 13 years old son for 7 nights. Tony organized all trips in advance (upon request) and provided us with useful information and answered all questions we had. When we arrived we felt like meeting family members. We got a very warm welcome by Danielle and Tony - it was like coming home. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raoul S
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review for Turaco Lodge! We really do appreciate it. It was an absolute pleasure to have the two of you stay with us and we so enjoyed sharing the wonders of South Africa's wildlife with you. We do hope you will visit us again sometime and that,...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Turaco Lodge is a beautiful place to stay and explore Kruger. Tony and Danielle are beautiful hosts and we were made to feel welcome the minute we arrived. They were so helpful arranging our tours and taking us on drives not to mention the lovely meals prepared by Danielle. We certainly felt like we had known Tony and Danielle for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 99fozzie
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge. We really do appreciate it and your positive comments are most welcome. We feel like we have found new friends in the two of you and will definitely stay in touch. Take care. Kindest regards, Tony & Danielle

Cornwall on Hudson, New York
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Turaco Lodge definitely exceeded all of our expectations! Danielle and Tony were so accommodating, knowledgeable and FUN! We even decided last minute that we wanted to do another safari on our last day before heading to the airport and Tony was happy to take us. We loved our stay so much that we went home and told our families all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V3483GVsarahh
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge, and for the really positive comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us as much as you enjoyed being here! And thank you for encouraging your family to visit - we look forward to meeting them and sharing in their safari adventure! Who knows...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Certainly not four and a half star rating. Would have liked our own table and food was disappointing to say the least. Plus point close to Kruger Park and airport collection and trips can be arranged.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnpenny
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge - we do appreciate it. We are really surprised to read that you felt our accommodation should not be rated at 4 stars - we make every effort to provide clean & comfortable accommodation to standards that are set and strictly assessed every year by the Tourism...

Toronto
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Coming to stay at Turaco Lodge is not just simply going to a lodge. It's more like going to visit your aunt Danielle and uncle Tony. Their hospitality doesn't make you feel like a guest, it makes you feel like you're visiting people who have been asking you to come visit them for years. We were there for the 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jjsalonga
Danielle H, Owner at Turaco Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Turaco Lodge. Wow! You are extremely kind in your comments. We certainly enjoyed your visit here as much as you did and, like we said, it felt like we were saying goodbye to family when you left. This shows that we are living up to our...

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marloth Park
0.7 km away
Needles Lodge
Needles Lodge
#1 of 30 in Marloth Park
354 reviews
7.0 km away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 30 in Marloth Park
291 reviews
6.0 km away
Maqueda Lodge
Maqueda Lodge
#2 of 30 in Marloth Park
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 166 in Kruger National Park
75 reviews
5.9 km away
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge
#4 of 30 in Marloth Park
178 reviews
14.5 km away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Turaco Lodge offers the traveller an exclusive, tailor-made bush experience. Availability is limited with only 6 guests at a time in the lodge. Situated in Marloth Park on the southern boundary of Kruger National Park, in the heart of a wildlife conservancy with free roaming wildlife. Personal service, good food, friendly atmosphere. Best place for a breakaway from stressful city living. Experience The Kruger National Park and the South African bush in a whole new way! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Turaco Lodge

Address: 171 Kudu Street, Marloth Park 1340, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Marloth Park
Price Range: $138 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turaco Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Turaco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turaco Lodge South Africa/Marloth Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Turaco Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe room has good wifi reception”
 of 5 bubbles Jjsalonga, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles tuberide, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Stevefurnitureman, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Only three rooms to choose from; all are pleasant.”
 of 5 bubbles 512frankm, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“I recommend staying in the Coral Tree suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Paintressg, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay