We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shiga Palace Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Shiga Palace Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The snow came early and although we were not prepared for skiing, Shiga Palace Hotel had everything we needed: Excellent gear and ski clothes for a fun day on the slopes. The rental room set us up with complete sets of ski gear, including hats, gloves and cameras. They even edited a fun souvenir video for us. Excellent service, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
Bacolod CIty, Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewed 13 April 2016

It is the best winter getaway with the ski adventure a few steps away. The rooms have great view and comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly. And the food was great! The welcome sake party was a blast! Shuttle Bus to the Hasuki terminal for a ride to Nagan0 just a minute walk or literally at the doorstep. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Aidine G
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Ms. Mary Aidine, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed the sake and the food. Yes, we're glad that the bus stop is just a minute from the hotel's entrance which is a great help to our guests taking bus to Nagano station...

Bacolod, Philippines
Reviewed 8 April 2016

A few minutes walk away from Yokoteyama Ski Resort, Shiga Palace Hotel serves as a good base for skiing activities both for the beginners and experts alike. The rooms were comfortably sized, and we were assigned Western-type beds with private bath and toilet but we spent the night sleeping on our tatami anteroom. It was kept clean and well-maintained despite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KTJison
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Ms. Jison, We appreciate very much your staying with us and happy to hear that we made your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you too for the very nice review. It motivates us to keep on looking for more ways and means to make our guests feel at home, comfortable and make them want to come back again....

Peregian Beach, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We stayed in a room with Tatami area and shared bathroom for 4 nights and couldn't have been more comfortable! The rooms are exactly how they look in pictures but bigger than we expected. There is plenty of room, the beds are comfortable and there is a separate toilet and wash basin in each room. The Tatami mat floor, shoji...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueXD
ShigaPalaceHotel-Zen, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Ms. SueXD, Thank you for your choosing our hotel to spend your holidays. We are very glad to hear your positive comment about our the staff, our service and the hotel as a whole. It was a great pleasure for us to serve you, your son and his friend. We will share your comments to our staff. Remarks...

Fussa, Japan
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Right in front of a ski resort and only a short drive/bus ride away from the rest of the ski resorts. Very friendly and helpful staff and rooms are spacious. Will definitely return again! Have I mentioned? Zen, the Front Desk Manager, is awesome! Thanks for the great time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catcathk
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ms. catcathk, Thank you so much for choosing our Hotel for your group's weekend escapade. It is our pleasure to serve you. We are glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards and warm hugs to the group.

Yokosuka, Japan
Reviewed 7 February 2016

We reecently stayed here and we are a family of 5 . We traveled by car but unfortunately we got stock on the road and about 16 min. Away from the hotel . We called the hotel and spoke with Zen . She was very nice and helped us all the way. They sent a van to pick us up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LanieB24
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ms. LanieB24, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review here on TripAdvisor. When you called our Hotel we can sense the fear you had driving on a snowy road. Our Hotel's number 1 concern is the safety of our guests that's why we decided to send our Van to pick you and your family up. We...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 February 2016

My husband and I stayed at Shiga Palace for 2 nights in Jan 2016. We were very impressed with the level of service accorded to us. Zen took care of our every needs. It helps that she speaks English. Thank you, Zen ! Our room is big with a heated sauna ensuite which is a pleasant surprise. While it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mabelsim01
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and our sister hotel, BIYU no Yado. It was our pleasure to serve such wonderful couple. Hope you will visit us again. My apology too for the delayed reply on this review as we had a problem in logging in to our TripAdvisor account. I'm glad it was settled now. Warm regards.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2016

We have a wonderful time at Shiga Palace! Staff were top class and very helpful. Food was excellent. Location is perfect with just a short walk to the lifts. Scenery ans snow was beautiful. They organised a ski instructor just for our family as we had not skied before and he was really great! Overall we had an amazing time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swt4000
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and spend Christmas at our Hotel. It was our pleasure to make your stay a comfortable one. we are glad that your family had enjoyed the ski lesson. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards.

Yokosuka, Japan
Reviewed 28 January 2016

My wife, son and I had a great time even though we are not skiers. The staff was extremely helpful and always very courteous. The hotel has staff available that are fluent English and Chinese. We were unable to see the Snow Monkeys due to an unexpected blizzard on our final day. The hotel made special arraignments to shuttle my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jrpope
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write this review. It was unfortunate that you weren't able to visit the snow monkey park but that could be a good reason to come again! We are introducing snow shoe hiking for non-skiers. Not only you will enjoy the powdery snow but also excites you to...

United States
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

We had a group stay at Shiga Palace on a New Years ski trip. The staff was out-of-this-world!! They held the dining open late for us to grab dinner since we arrived late. Zen spoke excellent English and was very kind and helpful to answer all of our questions. The Onsen within the hotel is very nice after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ptrudeau
Zen T, Front Office Manager at Shiga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for the holiday season and for writing such a nice review. Your group was out-of-this-world too! It was so much fun! And we are glad your group had fun, too! Looking forward to your visit next winter season. Please tag along more friends... the more the merrier! We are planning to have...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamanouchi-machi hotels
Hotel Grand Phenix Okushiga
#8 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
106 reviews
Shiga Kogen Prince Hotel
#45 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
166 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Ryokan Biyunoyado
Ryokan Biyunoyado
#2 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Okushiga Kogen Hotel
#12 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
112 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shimaya Ryokan
Shimaya Ryokan
#1 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
478 reviews
Yudanaka shibu Onsen
Shiga Kanko Hotel
Shiga Kanko Hotel
#34 of 133 in Yamanouchi-machi
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Shiga Palace Hotel♪ A place where the sun creates a soft and gentle glow. A rich interior offers a relaxing ambience. Enjoy the high country of Japan,feel special in this place of peace and tranquility. The service that we offer is sincere,pleasant and comfortable. It is a perfect blend with the peace and tranquility of Shiga Kogen.■Capacity/600 persons ■Guest Rooms/80 rooms■Dining Area 600 seats ■Restaurant 40 seats■2 Large Onsen/Men 40 persons・Women 40 persons■Large Banquet Hall ■Sundry Shop ■Game Corner ■Coffee Shop■Restroom fof Physically Challenged ■Medical Clinic ■Parking Lot★Hotaru Onsen★ an area rich in hot springs,offering an abundance of pure natural water. The warmth of the hot springs,available 24 hours a day, will refresh your skin and relieve you of the weariness of travel. There are two larges baths and spacious washing areas. The calming openness will create a time of peace and relaxation for you.■Quality of the water : 100% pure natural hot springs■Benefits : relieves tension, muscular pain, joint pain, shoulder aches, fatigue,chronic digestive system conditions, skin inflammation, diabetes ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shiga Palace Hotel

Address: 7148 Hirao | Kumanoyu Hotaru Onsen, Shimotakai-gun, Yamanouchi-machi 381-0401, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Yamanouchi-machi > Yudanaka shibu Onsen , Shigakougenhoppo Onsen , Kumanoyu Onsen
Price Range: $148 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shiga Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Shiga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiga Palace Hotel Japan/Yamanouchi-Machi, Nagano Prefecture
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
#3 Spa Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Yamanouchi-machi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shiga Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shiga Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the front rooms to get a ggreat veiw of the alps”
 of 5 bubbles maryaidineg, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 4th floor and it was very quiet.”
  • View from my bedroom window at Shiga Palace
  • Room with Tatami Area and Shared Bathroom - it does have a toilet and wash basin though
 of 5 bubbles SueXD, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a tatami room. The best views are from the front side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Jrpope, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Room 711 is huge and receives its water directly from the underground source that also supplies the Onsen.”
 of 5 bubbles JS231, 26 Dec 2015 | Read review
“We had an amazing view up the mountain from our room at the front of the building”
  • Winter wonderland
 of 5 bubbles HelenMorrison2014, 24 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay