We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Tateyama

Certificate of Excellence
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Tateyama
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Tateyama
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A quick summary of my recent stay: Tour - Exclusive visit to Snow Wall by joining the hotel arranged walking tour. The next MUST DO is the morning walk on Snow Trails; Can opt to join the Sunrises tour if you can wake up at 4am; Room – Very basic and dated (i.e. you pay for the LOCATION); Dinner –...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TFC19
Singapore
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed one night at Hotel Tateyama. The only way to beat the crowds is to stay a night up the mountain. This hotel is at the peak and the step for the bus station. Very convenient location. The snow corridor is all yours to all after 5pm. No crowded tours to cramp your style. The whole corridor will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hyppe
HK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Part of trip to see the snow corridor including a stay in this hotel right at the Murodo station, the snow corridor didn't disappointed us and this year it reaches 19 meter and it is amazing to see it in person. The hotel deco is a bit old and outdated and the price per night is very expensive, the guest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piggy_pig
SakiKawai, Front Desk at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at our hotel. Our hotel is just in front of Snow corridor, so it is very convenient location. We are glad you were satisfied with snow corridor, western dinner and our staffs. Sunrise bus tour is so difficult to carry out because it is really influenced by the weather. Please visit here again to retry...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent service from time of reservation to stay. Had written and asked quite a few times about various details before arrival, and Miss Kawai Saki was most tolerant and helpful at all times. At check-in Miss Masuda took a lot of time explaining everything in details in the most courteous and friendly manner. Tried to arrange a birthday cake for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HellofmHK
SakiKawai, Front Desk at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying and having wonderful time with us. We are really glad to help you to make memorable stay. This hotel is located in special place such as surrounded by beautiful mountains. Next time to meet you might be to celebrate your birthday at our hotel. We are waiting for your coming again with big smile!

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I do understand that this location is unique. Hovever, the onsen is very average and the Japanese dinner quite poor if you don't like squid and octopus etc. I recommend that you start from Toyama or Tateyama so you don't have to stay overnight in here. The room was big enough with sofa and it was very warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elinast2016
SakiKawai, フロント係 at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at our hotel. We are sorry that we could't live up to your expectations. Regarding public bath, it is difficult to be redesigned because our hotel is located on 2,450m above the sea level. However, we will try to make guests comfortable with our service. We would be appreciated if you could understand it. Besides,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 November 2016

This hotel was really pricey but it was worth it. We were choosing between this and other hotels but we eventually chose it because of its convenient location. It is just on top of Tateyama station. From there, we could explore Murodo and the other recommended hiking routes. The moment we arrived, we were served by a young lady at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Zhi_01
SakiKawai, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying. We are really glad you were satisfied with our servise and enjoyed staying. Tateyama have different attractive things at each season. We hope you visit our hotel again in near future.

california
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Stayed at this hotel for one night in 8/2016.Reception staff was ok with English. We had booked one of the expensive room on the fifth floor room with view. Room was good. Comfortable bed with all essential amenities.Dinner was mediocre vegetarian Japanese style meal.Next day at Checkout time hotel refused to save our bags & requested to Use coin locker....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kalp-51
SakiKawai, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying and valuable comments. We will work on our service to make better. Tateyama have different attractive things at each season. We would be appreciated if you visit here again.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed a night at Hotel Tateyama. Hotel located at the peak of the mountain. Simple clean room. Hotel lacked maintenance little old. Standing shower no bath tub. There's a public hot bath for guest to enjoy. Room was facing the snowfields. Hotel provided half board, inclusive of Japanese set dinner and buffet breakfast. Nice tasty food. Enjoyed. Guess this is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 692linz
SakiKawai, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying. Our hotel is standing on convenient location. We are looking forward to your visit again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Stayed here for a night in June 2016 during the spring season. Good Points: - Great location at the top of the bus route. Right next to the famous Snow Wall. - Hotel staff are fluent in English, including staff at the hotel restaurant. - Japanese meal served in the hotel is excellent. - Has onsen. - Runs a few...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TomTomAus
TakeshiOoya, front staff at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your staying at our hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed spending time in Tateyama. Tateyama shows great different views depend on the season. We are waiting for your visiting again.

Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

The hotel locate on the top of Japan Alp, nearest the stars, they said. If you need to access to snow wall without crowd people, this hotel is suitable for you because they present you the exclusive plan walking at 5 pm which most people already went down except the other who stay in hotel. We recommend French style dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allayu W
TakeshiOoya, Front Staff at Hotel Tateyama, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your staying at our hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed spending time in Tateyama. Tateyama shows great different views depend on the season. We are waiting for your visiting again.

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (166)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Other (63)
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tateyama-machi
Midagahara Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tateyama-machi
75 reviews
Toyama Station
Tateyama Kokusai Hotel
Tateyama Kokusai Hotel
#16 of 64 in Toyama
40 reviews
Omachi Onsen
Kuroyon Royal Hotel
Kuroyon Royal Hotel
#1 of 24 in Omachi
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Morinokaze Tateyama
#14 of 64 in Toyama
41 reviews
Mikurigaike Onsen
#2 of 6 in Tateyama-machi
77 reviews
Senjuso
#6 of 6 in Tateyama-machi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Hotel Tateyama

Address: Ashikuraji Murodo, Nakaniikawa-gun, Tateyama-machi 930-1414, Toyama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Toyama Prefecture > Nakaniikawa-gun > Tateyama-machi
Price Range: $532 - $892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tateyama 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Tateyama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Tateyama staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Tateyama staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the side where we could view sunset from our window, it was beautiful~”
Zhi_01, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for view room if you don't mind the cost for the view”
kalp-51, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor”
Abhibasu, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The hotel and environs were excellent, just the customer service ethic could be improved.”
Arlenehb2014, 30 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room with at least a toilet goes with. Since there is public bath and private family bath, it should be ok to choose room without a shower, unless you need a lot of privacy.”
VivianneT, 25 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Rakuten Travel
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates