We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Hibiscus Garden

Orbitz.comUS$30*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hibiscus Garden
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 5 April 2016

The Hotel was easy to find off the road from Santiago, located past rolling cow-filled hills. When we arrived and met the owner - Mick he showed us great hospitality! Equipped with many hammocks and comfortable kitchen and common area, Habiscus Garden also has amazing food at the restaurant. The location is magical and all the wildlife makes this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markgoldfield
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Hibiscus gardens is located in the most beautiful and secluded place outside of Santa Catalina. I honestly cannot recommend this place more highly, the rooms are all clean, comfy and beautifully decorated. There is a shared kitchen which is great if you're on a budget, however I do highly recommend the restaurant.. Such amazing food! You can spend so much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trina93
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 19 February 2016

This is a great hotel - if you are looking for a place to stay not directly in the hustle and bustle of downtown Santa Catalina than this is great. It is surrounded by the beauty which is Panama with no buildings and high-rises in site. The rooms are great and they offer the option of a regular hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne B
St. Pete, Florida
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The hotel is a bit off the main road marked by a sign. It is a beautiful, rustic and charming hotel spread out over a large piece of property with the coastline just a minute walk away. We were ecstatic to have found a room here! (All of Santa Catalina had been booked up because of Carnival). The receptionist, Trina,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MLPudlak
Hibiscus G, Owner at Hotel Hibiscus Garden, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for your really kind review! Ithink it will be very helpful to other guests, too. We hope to see you again in Panama, your Hibiscus Garden Team

Amsterdam, Nederland
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We had a pleasant stay at Hibiscus Garden. It's a bit far from the Santa Catalina vibe, so you'll need a car, or pay the large fee for the return transfer service. The garden is nice and quiet and set near a calm beach. The kitchen is nice and a good area to share experiences with other travelers. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paukasven
Santa Catalina, Panama
Reviewed 11 September 2015

I am a return visitor to Hibiscus Garden. The area is really nice and in the country! If you want a nice relaxing place to get away from everything, this is it! The bonus here is the restaurant run by Sven! Oh my goodness! The food is amazing! Best food I've ever had!! To think its way out here in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tara B
Santa Catalina, Panama
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Our Vacation was pleasant and trouble-free. Nice rooms and great meals at the restaurant. We enjoyed Playa Lagertero, horse back riding and the shuttle service. They even have a paintball field across the street and rent the gear to play - what a blast! My family and I had booked early and became somewhat concerned about an earlier review, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Firefox264
Hibiscus G, Owner at Hotel Hibiscus Garden, responded to this review

Dear firefox 264, thanks a lot for your nice words. We really enjoyed spending time with you too! And we hope to see you back at the hotel one day.... so Mick and you can go out and play Paintball again! Saludos, Hedi and Mick

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Just thought I would write to thank the Hibiscus Garden team for a fantastic stay. I spent 5 nights here in August and it was exactly what I was looking for. CLEAN, dorm with air-con with only two beds and bug free, beach all to myself, friendly staff, back to nature. The restaurant, run by Sven, was a bonus. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
Hibiscus G, Owner at Hotel Hibiscus Garden, responded to this review

Hi Allison, It was also very nice to have you as our guest! Thanks a lot for your review! We hope to welcome you again someday…. Hedi and Mick

Reviewed 5 August 2015

A terrible experience here, I'm not sure if the people who I dealt with were the owners, as they were not German, but I found the whole experience rather unpleasant. I found the couple who were running 'Hibiscus Gardens' to be deceitful, rude and almost aggressive. Not only was I overcharged ( Three times what I had planned ) but...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Wandering M
Hibiscus G, Owner at Hotel Hibiscus Garden, responded to this review

Dear Wandering Man, First of all we (the owners) want to apologize for your “terrible experience” you had while your stay at our hotel. Since we haven´t been at the premises while you were staying with us, we unfortunately don´t know exactly what happened. Maybe you could write us an e-mail or Skype and we can talk about what was...

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed one night in Hibiscus Garden in June. We had a private room with a big bed, bathroom and small terrace. Everything was clean. The next morning we asked if its possible to check out at 1pm, they confirmed. When we returned to the hotel they charged us for the second night because we passed the regular check out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hellen1704
Hibiscus G, Owner at Hotel Hibiscus Garden, responded to this review

Dear Hellen, We want to apologize for your inconvenience you had during your stay at our hotel. When I talked to you on the phone, the manager told me before she was explaining the check-out hours to you. I didn´t know that you were treated unfriendly or that she didn´t understand you enough. Again we are sorry and just for...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (15)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagartero
6.7 km away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
400 reviews
6.8 km away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
0.0 km away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#2 of 25 in Santa Catalina
109 reviews
6.8 km away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#2 of 9 in Santa Catalina
66 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#3 of 9 in Santa Catalina
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hibiscusgarden Hotel & Restaurant is owned by a German family and run by an exellent German chef Sven and also by very nice Italian Managers. It is situated right on the Pacific coast in the province of Veraguas next to the little fishermen village called Lagartero and 10 km from the touristic town of Santa Catalina.The hotel has 9 individual designed guestrooms of different comfort- and price levels, which are decorated with natural accessories like driftwood, shells and mosaics, as well as a camping site. We offer the use of a clean and well equipped communal kitchen as well as a Restaurant, which offers a fine selection of regional and international specialties. You can enjoy a wide range of leisure activities around our remote beach, like horseback riding or SUP and we will be happy to help you to arrange trips to our famous Nationalpark Coiba for snorkeling, diving and wildlife watching. We hope to see you soon! Your Hibiscus Garden Team. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Hibiscus Garden

Address: Playa Lagartero, Lagartero, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Lagartero
Price Range: $42 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hibiscus Garden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hibiscus Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscusgarden Hotel Lagartero
Hotel Hibiscus Garden Panama/Lagartero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Hibiscus Garden staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hibiscus Garden staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you go with someone get a cabin, Solo or with group get the dorms.”
  • View when you drive from main entrance to the Hotel at the beach shore.
MariluCarvallo, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you know which room you get before you arrive, especially if you're travelling with kids. The ground level rooms looked great!”
paukasven, 19 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The staff will guide you with selecting the room you prefer. They will show you the rooms and let you decide.”
Nasumonsteri, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“A/C is worth the extra cost”
kiahfran, 11 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Do not pick the rooms on the secong floor as you will have no privacy because they seem to share the same room and have a gap above which allows all noise to pass through.”
CeliaLode, 21 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$30* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$50
Hotels.comUS$30
TravelocityUS$30
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates