We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kaya Kweru

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponta do Ouro
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Kaya Kweru
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of Kaya Kweru
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were heartily welcomed by the manager and his team. Staff was quickly there to help off load but before touching a bag they said for R10 they will help off load and them just carried the bags to reception. We were in self catering units and since they were not busy each couple in our group got their own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank conradl793
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 12 April 2017

When we arrived we were shown to our family room. It was clean and neat. The one aircon didn't work very well, but the maintenance staff fixed it for us. All the management and staff were very friendly and helpful.The meals were simple, but tasty. Great stay - thanks guys

 Report
Helpful?
Thank royw390
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Having returned from yet another incredible visit to Ponta D'ouro I am compelled to highly recommend Kaya Kweru as an all-round 1st choice. accommodation is good and especially the double-story 'family units'. after a long dusty day the privacy, air-conditioning, showers, swimming pool, bar and restaurant are an oasis of luxury. Rafael (now wearing glasses I see) and Victor run...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
KayaKweru2, Public Relations Manager at Kaya Kweru, responded to this review

We are so happy you returned to visit us! Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Krugersdorp, South Africa
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Visited and stayed in Kaya Kweru in Ponta D Ouro this past weekend. We were a group of 34 people. Victor and his staff were magic, hands on and very accommodating. The rooms were clean, neat well serviced and the food was fantastic. Also a special thank you with the lovely buffet and efforts that went into that on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petri12348
KayaKweru2, Public Relations Manager at Kaya Kweru, responded to this review

We thoroughly enjoyed your group and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Reviewed 3 March 2017

Bookings can be mixed up and ours was. Once the confusion was cleared Victor went to lengths to ensure we had two double rooms even though they were fully booked by shuffling some regulars to share units. The rooms were plain, but clean and functional. The next day, when some patrons left, he upgraded us to a “house” which came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed at Kaya Kweru from 3 to 6 February, having made the booking through Ponto Reservations and receiving confirmation and all details via email. We arrived via border transfer, yet having not yet even alighted from the vehicle were met with a very disgruntled owner/manager smoking a cigarette who glared at us and said in an accusatory tone "Do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Varushka P
Kimberley, South Africa
Reviewed 29 January 2017

To Victor, Rafael, Merry and all the other staff, including kitchen staff. Nothing too small or too bog for the staff/management of this establishment. You want personal care, you get it, you want good food, you get it, you need more towels, no problem at all. Thanks for the personal touch on the prawn curry as well as the humongous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WillemCoetzer
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We booked a single room with en suite bathroom at Kaya Kweru. Room facilities are stated as: Queen beds, Local channels, DStv, En-suite, Air-Conditioning, Balcony/patio, Upstairs, Fan, Television, Radio, DVD player, Tea and Coffee Facilities, Bar Fridge, Safe, Hair Dryer. With the exception of 2 single beds put together to create a queen bed, the rest is false advertising. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2InfinityandByond
KayaKweru2, Public Relations Manager at Kaya Kweru, responded to this review

We're sorry to read this. We strive to deliver comfort and a home-away-from-home experience. Please provide us with your contact details so we can discuss this further.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

The place is awesome. It's a really good beach holiday. The beach is on your door step. Rooms are clean aircon works great. The manager victor is a great host . Not forgetting his team. He goes out of his way to ensure you have a leka holiday. Wil be back for a longer period.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 922kapil
Gauteng
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed at Kaya kweru for 4 nights in December , over the Christmas period. I wish I stayed at this place for my entire stay in Mozambique. The location is just perfect for a walk to the beach or to book activities. The market is a stone throw away so you never short on any emergency item. Kaya kweru...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandyGauteng

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponta do Ouro
0.0 km away
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
Ponta Gamboozini Lodge
#3 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
112 reviews
0.0 km away
Devocean Resorts
Devocean Resorts
#2 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
71 reviews
0.0 km away
White Pearl Resorts, Ponta Mamoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
48 reviews
0.0 km away
Ntsuty Lodge
Ntsuty Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ponta do Ouro
4 reviews
0.0 km away
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
Vista Alta Lodge & Spa
#2 of 3 in Ponta Malongane
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kaya Kweru Resort, in Ponta D'ouro is a place where you forget about daily life and just relax to the sound of the Indian Ocean. Kaya Kweru means "Our Home" or "The Home of Everybody" and this is exactly how we intend your stay to be. Kaya Kweru is only 40 meter's walk to the beach where you can spend the day swimming, snorkelling, fishing, surfing or just lazing in the sun. Our amenities include a swimming pool, braai area, lounge area and restaurant. We also have a Sports Bar with DSTV, so for those sports enthusiasts, you won't need to worry about missing any games. Check out the beautiful ocean view, watch the sunset or learn how to drum from our roof top patio. Comfort is our priority therefore Kaya Kweru boasts an up market friendly resort with 24 en-suite rooms. In all of our suites you will find complete bed linens, duvets, air conditioning, en-suites with shower and tiled flooring. Our Housekeeping staff will make sure your suite has fresh bath towels and is cleaned daily. We cater to small groups as well as larger groups, just let us know what you need and we will take care of the rest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kaya Kweru

Address: Plot 385, Ponta D'ouro Maputo, Mozambique, Ponta do Ouro, Mozambique
Region: Mozambique > Maputo Province > Ponta do Ouro
Number of rooms: 18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kaya Kweru staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kaya Kweru staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try get a ocean view room”
royw390, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“'House' 5, 6 and 7 offer fair to good sea views.”
, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Close to beach, clean well kept rooms, air conditioned, good food, wi-fi and friendly people!!!”
WillemCoetzer, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are nice, house is better.”
JDannhauser, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for the 2 storey flats”
Etz_Nice, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5