We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dona Filipa Hotel

CancelonUS$325*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$638*
US$325*
Great Deal
US$361*
US$349*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Dona Filipa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dona Filipa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last July we booked a 4 night break direct with the Dona Filipa for March of this year, did they tell us that we were going to pay 5 star prices for a 2 star hotel. No! They told us some minor works were going on, what a joke. No pool, no grounds, dust, noise. The poor staff were browbeaten...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Alan E
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, General Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Dona Filipa Hotel I would like to thank you for your comments, and once again apologize for the inconvenience cause by the Hotel's refurbishment. All the refurbishment was planned to end by mid March but due to some construction site issues it took us a bit longer than what we have anticipated. All the construction...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Disappointed on our recent visit. There are works going on at the hotel and there is no pool area at the moment or anywhere nice to sit outside. The bar area was nice and the hotel itself was immaculate with very helpful staff. Unfortunately the whole area is undergoing a facelift at the moment and so it is in a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lyndsay W
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, General Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Dona Filipa Hotel I would like to thank you for your comment and also for your understanding of the situation. It is our main objective that the Dona Filipa Hotel regains all is glamour and quality it once had and that is the reason for the refurbishment you had the chance to noticed. Due to...

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Great rooms - Premium Garden Room. Although under refurbishment, the hotel facilities are still excellent. Some nice restaurants close by - lots of choice for all. Beautiful beaches and walks. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miknic
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miknic, Dona Filipa Hotel appreciates your comments and your preference. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality is being represented by the entire team. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words with the team! Let me inform you that we have...

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

A great hotel over the years currently in chaos, the hotel frontage and the area down towards the beach resembles a bombsite. Building work in every direction. not many areas of the hotel are open including the pool area. The staff do not appear to know when it will all be finished but judging on the speed of the workforce...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank streety4
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, General Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Dona Filipa Hotel I would like to thank you for your comment. It is our main objective that the Dona Filipa Hotel regains all is glamour and quality it once had and that is the reason for the refurbishment you had the chance to noticed. Due to same construction site issues it took us a...

Shanklin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Great hotel right on beach, food very good authentic Portuguese style with spacious rooms most have a nice balcony. Staff helpful free shuttle bus for golfers. Wifi in bedrooms and good quality toiletries provided.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _veronicahirst
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Veronica Hirst, Dona Filipa Hotel appreciates your comments and your preference. It is particularly warming to receive an evaluation like yours and to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality is being represented by the entire team. It will be my pleasure to share your kind words with the team! Let me inform you that...

Lytham St Annes
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We had paid extra for a deluxe room as there were no classics available. The room allocated was overlooking the building work to replace the pool. We requested to move as the room would be noisy when people were working. The staff tried very hard to sort something out and we ended up in a junior suite for 4 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fairhaven8
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to some great restaurants and bars at the beach and has access to the famous San Lorenzo golf. Lots of works going on at the pool area which is very noisy and unattractive but when it's complete the hotel will be restored to its former glory. Service could be better!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sals1701
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sals, Dona Filipa Hotel would like to thank you for your preference and to share your comments with other travellers. Fotunetely, we have good news! 08th of May is the final date for the works. This means that by the second week of next month the pool, pool area and the new “Primavera Restaurant” will be open. We would...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Last year we stayed and it was great - this year we arrived to find the pool and the main restaurant being refurbished and the nearby restaurant and beach bar area also representing a building site. The manager Rui Gonzaga was brilliant and very accommodating - we decided to move hotels but would not hesitate in coming back to Donna...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mike W
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mike W., We would like to thank you for the preference for Dona Filipa Hotel, even in these not so great times. Fortunetely, we have good news for you! 08th of May is the final date for the works. This means that by the second week of next month the pool, pool area and the new “Primavera Restaurant”...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Although the hotel is being refurbished it did not impact on our stay. For a start we got an upgraded room and the staff could not have been more helpful, courteous and warm - always anxious to ensure we had not been inconvenienced. We were there for golf mainly, but spent the evenings at the hotel. The bar staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank santofans
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Santofans, Thank you so much for sharing such a positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Dona Filipa & San Lorenzo Golf Resort. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your experience at Vale do Lobo. It is a fantastic location and we are so glad to know that you had a relaxing time. The entire...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Great hotel as a base for a golfing holiday on the Algarve. Many courses are just a short drive away. The rooms are comfortable, the bar is welcoming and the breakfasts are substantial - order an omelette and watch an artist at work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wersaints
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, Guest Relations Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Wersaints, Thank you so much for sharing such a positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Dona Filipa & San Lorenzo Golf Resort. We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your experience at Vale do Lobo. It is a fantastic location and we are so glad to know that you had a relaxing time. The entire...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (51)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale do Lobo
3.5 km away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
1,477 reviews
0.9 km away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Almancil
261 reviews
10.0 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
270 reviews
28.6 km away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
6.4 km away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the Atlantic, located a mere 100 metres from the beach and the proud owner of the renown San Lorenzo Golf Course, Dona Filipa Hotel welcomes all, with a touch of glamour and the essence of true quality and personalized service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dona Filipa Hotel

Address: Avenida do Mar, Vale do Lobo 8135-034, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vale do Lobo
Price Range: $354 - $903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Filipa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Filipa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Filipa & San Lorenzo Golf Hotel Almancil
Dona Filipa And San Lorenzo Golf Resort
Meridien Almancil
Le Meridien Almancil
Almancil Le Meridien
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dona Filipa Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Dona Filipa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wait until work complete in Hotel and resort”
Cucch1962, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Wait for building work to be finished”
804alane, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Classic or Premium rooms worth the extra”
miknic, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher floors best nos 417 18 at end of wing evening sun”
_veronicahirst, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose a room over the pool at the moment”
Fairhaven8, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$325* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$361
Hotels.comUS$349
AMOMAUS$638
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates