We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Booking.comUS$86*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$86*
US$86*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Anchor Hotel at Kippford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Start your review of Anchor Hotel at Kippford
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited this establishment with my partner for a bar lunch. This is set in the middle of the very picturesque village of Kippford. Plenty of seating inside and out ideal for the elderly or disabled as well. There is a very extensive range of food on offer with a special board and light bite menu. There was plenty off staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pengie1919
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you for your review. Its always helpful when people write about their experience and certainly so when they explain about the services and facilities available. Glad you enjoyed the chowder, and I hope you raised the question of cold chips at the time. I will pass your comments on to chef. Best wishes from the Anchor.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Such a shame. Really looked forward to a meal at this pub in the lovely village of Kippford. Food was awful. Fish and chips. Fish overcooked, batter hard greasy and overcooked. My husband described the chips as the worst he has ever had. Overpriced for the standard of food. Staff behind bar most unfriendly. Do not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki W
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello there, thank you for writing a review. I hope you raised your concerns at the time? We don't like to think guests are unhappy with their food or the ambiance. All I can say is I hope you will try us again and give us a chance to redeem ourselves. Best wishes from the Anchor

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cool little place. Stayed here on a road trip mountain biking in Scotland. Very friendly good food and slept like a log. Bit dated but that wasn't an issue just observation and added to the hotels character. Would defo stay here again. Breakfast which was included in our price was awesome. Thanks anchor

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dockymomo
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Thank you, glad you had a fab time with us - and breakfast would have set you up for all that cycling! - come and see us again, enjoy the rest of your holiday, ATB from the Anchor.

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is the perfect spot for an alfresco lunch. We had walked from Rockcliffe to Kippford and were delighted to be able to eat outside on an exceptionally warm April weekend. I enjoyed the seafood platter with some chips and crisp sauvignon blanc, whilst watching the boats and passers by. Very relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah G
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Rebekah, I think you found us on what was, indeed, a perfect day. So glad you enjoyed your lunch, we are so lucky with our location and our chefs! - best wishes from the Anchor.

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely dog friendly hotel. Our room was comfortable and cosy and had plenty of room for a dog bed. Nice view from the window over the river/sea. Staff very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar area at night as dogs were allowed in there. Food was great. In the morning we had an amazing breakfast in the restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fynn103
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review - its really appreciated. So glad you found everything great, especially the food and that we looked out for your four footed companion. Hope we will see you again in the future - best wishes form the team at the Anchor

birmingham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

easy going, stunning location, sea/river view from the room. friendly staff who all work very hard. food good, no complaints. comfy room, clean with coffee/tea, hairdryer/iron and board. Would recommend, Happy to go again anytime

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taffngill
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I think you have summed us up and the location just right! Glad everything was good, we do try hard, best wishes from all the team at the Anchor.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seafront location overlooking the river/estuary. Staff were friendly and the rooms comfortable and clean. Slight problems with the windows as we were unable to fully close them against a fairly strong wind so there was a slight whistle through the gaps at times. When we looked the catch assembly in the windows has been corroded by the salt spray so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hobbit64
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review. Glad you had a good time with us - if you come again do make sure you mention about gluten free options when you book. We do try to make sure our guests needs are fully met. You can email us direct or add a message to the booking form. All best wishes...

Wallsend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Anchor Hotel in Kippford with our two very large labradoodles on a B&B basis, we had said we had two dogs when we booked but I think they were surprised at their size when we arrived. We were made very welcome and in fact upgraded to a flat that was free that weekend so that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Val E
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Dear Val Thank you for your review and glad you had a great time with us. We do indeed welcome our canine family members and its lovely to hear you all had everything you needed. Yes you were lucky having the flat - its not usually available. Hope to see you again. Best wishes from the Team at the Anchor

stranraer
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ate here on mothers day , lovely sunny day , severely understaffed , waited 55 mins on our food , no apologies until we actually complained , food was OK , nothing exciting. Probably won't be back , been several times before , next time we'll have chips in castle Douglas before we get there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iain r
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Iain, thank you for commenting on your experience recently. I'm glad you raised your concerns at the time and I hope they were suitably answered. We were undermanned for reasons we did not expect and do accept that. Please do try us again, best wishes from the Team at the Anchor.

East Lothian
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Booked a double and was given the family room overlooking the bay - stunning views. Dog friendly hotel, nice pub food (haddock was super fresh). Full English breakfast was very good. Rooms were clean but could do with a bit of an update, nice Scottish Fine Soap toiletries. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison0706
Fasayers123, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Hotel at Kippford, responded to this review

Hello Alison, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed the food and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope we do see you again. Best wishes from all of us at the Anchor.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kippford
1.5 km away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dalbeattie
113 reviews
16.0 km away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
455 reviews
6.3 km away
The Birchtree Hotel
The Birchtree Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dalbeattie
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rosemount Guest House
Rosemount Guest House
#1 of 4 in Kippford
118 reviews
3.8 km away
Springfield B&B
Springfield B&B
#3 of 5 in Dalbeattie
12 reviews
16.5 km away
The Inn on the Loch
The Inn on the Loch
#2 of 4 in Crocketford
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Three miles south of Dalbeattie, a right hand turn down a small side road leads you to the unspoilt waterside village of Kippford, regarded by many as being the loveliest seaside village in the whole of South West Scotland. The Anchor Hotel is nestled on the banks of Urr Water as it makes its final journey into the Solway estuary. On a clear day you can even see the spectacular peaks of The Lake District. At the Anchor Hotel we have; Comfortable en-suite double, twin and family rooms all with views of the rivers. Our food menus include interesting seasonal food with fish specials as well as traditional pub favourites A great location with plenty for everyone to see and do in this beautiful part of Dumfries & Galloway. Food service times. Monday-Thursday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 6pm-8pm Friday Lunch 12-2pm Dinner 5.30-8.30pm All day Saturday and Sunday 12-8.30pm We are open throughout the year and my team and I will do all we can to make your stay memorable. If you are looking for a relaxing stay in an area of natural beauty then this part of South West Scotland is perfect for you. To check room availability and rates just give us a call on 01556 620205 or check online ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Hotel at Kippford

Address: | Kirkcudbrightshire, Dalbeattie, Kippford DG5 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kippford
Price Range: $112 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Anchor Hotel at Kippford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Hotel at Kippford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor Hotel at Kippford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“view over river from room 6,”
taffngill, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have a great view over the solway firth and there are larger rooms available”
culturevulture12, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“To be honest we've never stayed but always enjoyed the excellent food they serve”
E681WAstephaniem, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Views from front rooms are Fabulous”
culturevulture12, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room looking out to the loch.”
grumpyfuzz, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$86* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
TripAdvisorUS$86
PricelineUS$86
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates