We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bukela Game Lodge

Hotels.comUS$565*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$632*
US$565*
US$632*
US$565*
US$632*
US$566*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Bukela Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
Start your review of Bukela Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here as part of our honeymoon for 3 nights in Bukela lodge and we were blown away from the minute we arrived. The staff are incredible- every single one of them. We were treated so well here and could not have loved it more. We were so sad when we had to leave. We were very lucky to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachWhiteley
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Bukela Game Lodge and the safari experience at Amakhala were absolutely incredible and could not be faulted. We stayed 3 nights on our honeymoon which included 6 game drives and were treated to an unforgettable safari experience. We stayed in one of the 2 new luxury safari tents which were modern and chic. A bit chilly in the mornings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James_Clulow
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there James, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Bukela Game Lodge, we are thrilled to have been a part of your first safari experience and your honeymoon celebration. Being such a small lodge allows us to create a more intimate experience for our guests so we are excited to hear...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Boutique game lodge in a smaller game reserve where the Rangers really care about the animals. The Rangers were informative and friendly but did not crowd the animals. The lodge is beautiful with everything you need for a relaxing luxurious safari that also feels authentic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NEG1977
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're really happy to hear you had such a great safari experience. The Amakhala and its conservation is very close to our hearts and it's such a privilege to share this with our guests. We hope to see you again soon and wish you all the best, the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This had to be the icing on the cake at the end of a fantastic trip to South Africa. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived for our 3 day Safari. Personal attention given due to the fact that this is a small lodge catering for, at the most, 12 people in 4 lodges and 2 luxury tents. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorrainec270
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lorraine, We are extremely happy to hear we were a highlight of your South African trip and that you enjoyed your Bukela safari experience so much! We hope that you left Bukela and the South Africa with some cherished memories. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and especially for mentioning Janco and our staff's efforts....

London
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Stayed 2 nights at the end of 2 week garden route drive in a double suite. Suite was spacious and comfortable. Game drives were good - although believe what they say about the weather - we arrived and it was 40C and 36 hours later it was cold, wet and windy - supplied ponchos did a decent enough job of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steev_jo
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, we can't tell you enough how lovely it is to hear such great comments of your trip to Bukela, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We're pleased that you were able to enjoy the game drives, even in the rain! We're big on providing a top quality service and are very glad...

Cape Town
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We had the most wonderful 3nights at this Lodge. Exceeded our expectations in every way. Game drives were superb and the ranger Jono certainly knew his stuff. Great staff and always friendly and helpful. We cannot fault our stay at all! Perfect!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen Ronald P
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Karen, thank you very much for the lovely review! We agree, a three night stay is a great amount of time to really gain the best experience of the reserve. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to Jono and the rest of our team who really appreciate hearing back from past guests. We're thrilled that we...

Norwich
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stayed in a safari tent which was very well equipped, especially enjoyed the outside shower! Temperature in the tent fluctuates and the air-con unit was not really big enough to cope but that was our only complaint. Staff, service, knowledge of the ranger, food, cleanliness, was all first class. Fantastic setting and really enjoyed the personal touch of a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcnrcook
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Bukela. You're right, the Amakhala is a smaller reserve, which allows us to provide a more intimate safari experience for our guests. We are thrilled to hear you decided on us as for your first safari experience! We hope you'll visit...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The staff were very welcoming and everything was ready on arrival, having our first game safari that afternoon. Evening meals with the other guests ( there were only 12 of us) enhanced the visit. We saw a wide range of animals with a knowledgeable guide. Food was well-presented and tasty and there was as much alcohol as you could drink,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K9094DHf
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your wonderful review. It's great to hear feedback from our guests and all the more so when it is so positive. It is such a privilege to create a unique safari experience for our guests and we are certainly very lucky to have staff as dedicated as we do. We will certainly pass...

Gourock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Had a three night stay here after driving the garden route from Cape Town. Warm friendly welcome and stayed in a tented lodge. This was unlike any tent I've ever seen! Beautifully furnished and so comfortable. Just loved the outside shower but never got round to the freestanding bath. Game drives in the early morning and late afternoon with jono...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyndsay c
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lyndsay, we can't tell you enough how lovely it is to hear such great comments of your trip to Bukela, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We're big on providing a top quality service and are very glad to hear that your stay was such a wonderful and relaxing one. We can't wait...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bukela. From the moment we arrived, Sanet and her team made us feel very welcome. We stayed in one of the luxury tents, with everything available for our comfort. Wella1 was most attentive and efficient, and breakfast and dinner were relaxed and sociable affairs, not dissimilar to the ski chalet experience. The focus of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalrusOfHove
100roaringlions, Owner at Bukela Game Lodge, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for the wonderful praises! It was such a pleasure reading about your experience at Bukela Game Lodge and the Amakhala Game Reserve. Game drives are certainly one of the most exciting things about being at the lodge, and with a guide like Janco you are certain to learn a thing or two with his vast...

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (111)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amakhala Game Reserve
21.8 km away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
347 reviews
2.5 km away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
309 reviews
6.3 km away
Amakhala Safari Lodge
Amakhala Safari Lodge
#6 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game Reserve
HillsNek Safaris, Amakhala Game ...
#1 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
357 reviews
7.8 km away
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
#1 of 4 in Shamwari Game Reserve
1,056 reviews
44.8 km away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bukela Game Lodge Is A 5-Star Luxury Lodge In The 7 500 ha malaria-free Amakhala Game Reserve in the Eastern Cape South Africa. Accommodation at this tranquil game lodge is provided in four suites, each individually styled in African simplicity while never compromising on luxury. This secluded safari destination is tucked away into indigenous trees and bushes at the top of a hidden valley and has the perfect setting for the intimate and romantic guest experiences for which we are renowned. Connected by a wooden walkway, our thatched suites offer a remarkable private wildlife-viewing experience. Savour a crisp glass of wine in your sun-soaked spa bath, opening onto trees alive with birdsong. Indulge in sumptuous high teas, private candlelit dinners or exciting fireside boma dinners under African stars. And as you fall asleep, hear the silence broken by the unmistakeable sounds of elephant and buffalo making their stately progress through the unfenced camp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bukela Game Lodge

Address: R342 Landman Road | off N2, between Port Elizabeth and Grahamstown, Amakhala Game Reserve 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Amakhala Game Reserve
Price Range: $482 - $1,341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bukela Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bukela Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bukela Game Hotel Amakhala Game Reserve
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bukela Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Bukela Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Newly built luxury tented rooms are amazing”
  • Excellently finished bathroom (shower is just round the corner)
  • View from our luxury tent
  • All you need and finished to an excellent standard
128samanthal, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Safari tents are proper glamping.”
Chazzer124, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best Safari”
gregorylives, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are fabulous, but they do have a couple of huge luxury tents that are in a more elevated position which might be nice too.”
Geekywife, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Honeymoon suite was lovely, tall four poster bed, furthest away from reception. Loved it.”
garvangallagher, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$565* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$565
TripAdvisorUS$566
CancelonUS$632
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates