We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Desert Himalaya Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nubra Valley
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Desert Himalaya Resort
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Desert Himalaya Resort
 Click to rate
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We visited their restaurant on 2 occasions to and fro our visit to the Nubra Valley. Their buffet breakfast (which is open even to outsiders like us who were not guests at the resort) was very filling and value for money. They had a lot of variety and the seabuckthorn juice (Leh berry juice) in particular was nice and unusual....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zenobia T
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

This resort is a nicely-maintained, hugely spread out resort which provides comfortable accommodation at Nubra Valley. It comprises of high-quality Swiss tents with workable bathrooms. They supply running hot water for a couple of hours in the morning which suffices your purposes. The restaurant serves good, hot veg foods. The ambience is impeccable to say the least, with huge area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drkaushikmandal
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Camps are very clean and surrounded mountains views. We got good hospitality along with testy food. I would definitely mentioned "Chicken". Staff is very polite and helpful. Over all excellence experience:D

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swapnil P
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 18 September 2016

A very cute and quiet camp. The tents are super cosy and well protected with mosquito covers. There is a good flow of hot water in the toilets and the toilets are super clean. Even the amenities provides like towels and blankets were super clean. Only thing visitors need to keep in mind - the valley is super hot during...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank priya a
CaptainBiswas, General Manager at Desert Himalaya Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Priya for your valuable feedback. We are getting table fans installed in each tent this season. Our motivation is your valuable feedback as we strive to provide our guests with impeccable service. Looking forward to another visit by you regards,

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Stayed one night on Independence day . Staff is very co-operative and helpful. Very comfortable bed. Neat and clean attached western style toilet. Food was simple but very tasty. They server good and tasty dinner and breakfast . Very different experience. They also provide food and accommodation to driver. I certainly recommend for staying in tent experience here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PA_KOHLI123
Reviewed 11 August 2016

After having crossed Khadrdungla and having a tough journey across the hills the Desert Himalaya with its perfectly placed facilities welcomed us and made us forgot all the hardships faced on the way ... Would like to compliment the management for everything ... the food , accommodation and service .. no complaints ... THANK YOU

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay L
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Desert himalaya is easily the finest tent accommodation that one can find in the Ladakh region in general and nubra valley in particular . Nice and spacious tents , with a small but superbly done attached bathroom . Some of the tents even have an attached , small but neat looking living room . But , since it's a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vaishak v
CaptainBiswas, General Manager at Desert Himalaya Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Vaishak for your kind words. Such feedback makes us proud of what we do and goes a long way in improving our level of service. As Ladakh is a high altitude cold desert, it has very sparse vegetation and trees. We procure the wood for the bonfire from distant lower valleys and hence we charge a very nominal...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I booked this place for my parents , and because they are not tech savvy , but highly impressed by the camps ,the cleanliness and the staff ; they literally forced me to write this on their behalf. They enjoyed the place thoroughly. Very nice customer service. We will be back..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepa D
Surat, India
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We booked 4 tents with Desert Himalaya in July 2016 and all of us were very impressed with how great they were. Tents were clean, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner had so much variety and it was tasty too. Staff was very friendly and service was very prompt. Overall a great experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rushman1
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 26 July 2016

One of the most luxurious stay one can expect at the highest cold desert. The tents are well kept and clean; the bath and toilet is tastefully done. Sitting outside of your tent in the evening under full moon light and millions of starts was simply breathtaking. The backdrop ofcourse were the mountains and at a distance the Buddha statue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Domenion
CaptainBiswas, General Manager at Desert Himalaya Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Domenion for your truly inspiring feedback. We hope you visit us again.

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nubra Valley
0.0 km away
The Grand Dragon Ladakh
0.0 km away
The Zen Ladakh
The Zen Ladakh
#15 of 74 in Leh
127 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Singge Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.0 km away
Nubra Ecolodge
Nubra Ecolodge
#1 of 23 in Nubra Valley
163 reviews
0.0 km away
Mystique Meadows Swiss Cottage Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in one of the most beautiful villages, Disket, the silk route valley of Ladakh, stunning camp is perfectly positioned to witness what maybe the greatest Himalayan spectacle on the planet. The snow capped mountain, desert with white sand dune, great Shayok river, jungle of seabuckthron, spring water river at one glance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Desert Himalaya Resort

Address: Diskit Village, 194101, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Nubra Valley
Price Range: $94 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Desert Himalaya Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Desert Himalaya Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay here, just stopped by at their restaurant”
Zen0biaT, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book the luxury tents are they are closer to the reception. However, the pathways throughout the camps are very well lit.”
55priyaa, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Luxury Tents have the best views”
Deepamita, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Suite Rooms”
Nayangandhi, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the tents are good.Luxury tents have a bit more space.”
Indranil_SBI, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5