We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Sponsored by:
2017-11-05 2017-11-06
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp

    SH 35, Tirohanga Beach, Opotiki 3092, New Zealand
    Lowest prices for your stay
    Nov 5 Nov 6
    Traveller (14)
    Pool & Beach (6)
    Room & Suite (1)
    • Excellent80%
    • Very good18%
    • Average2%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “bike trail” (3 reviews)
    “ice cream” (7 reviews)
    “games room” (6 reviews)
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Breakfast included
    Room Service
    All hotel details
    Nov 5Nov 6
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (90)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 90 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

    We have stayed here a few times in our motorhome. Good camp with plenty of options of sites and pricing. If shade is required there are plenty of trees in main camping area. Good facilities, pool table, playground, fishing cleaning station. Only a short walk...More

    Thank Strickes
    Reviewed 20 March 2017

    As usual, Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp, never fails to surprise me. A beautiful place to stay and recharge the batteries after a few hard years of working away in Australia. I can not recommend this place enough. Value for money, wonderful hosts, great atmosphere and...More

    Thank BillP1967
    Response from Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor CampResponded 24 March 2017

    Thanks for the review, good to have you stay!

    Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

    The location and facilities are excellent but the road noise from where we were on a powered site was bad enough to keep us awake from 3am. We would have been better off going for a non powered site in a lovely field near to...More

    Thank Patrick N
    Response from Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor CampResponded 26 February 2017

    Hi Patrick Thanks for the review. We don't get many complaints about the traffic , in fact some of our most regular clients book those very same sites year after year but thank you for your feedback.

    Reviewed 11 February 2017

    Andrea and i have been camping here for our annual holidays for 28 years now . Both our kids (now 20 and 18) look forward to, and still love coming to Tirohanga beach camp. Robert and the staff are always friendly and helpful. The grounds...More

    Thank Merlin W
    Response from Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor CampResponded 14 February 2017

    Thank you Merlin for the reiew

    Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

    Always a great holiday when we visit tirohanga! Beautiful beach, friendly people and the best playground for kids! We always feel at home and it's so comfortable. We even enjoy winter trips. The camp offers so much and we can't wait for our next visit!

    Thank Tayla S
    Response from Robert M, Owner at Tirohanga Beach Motor CampResponded 14 February 2017

    Thank you Tayla! We look forward to seeing you again

    White Island Rendezvous
    343 reviews
    #2 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
    Ranui Motel
    4 reviews
    #1 of 2 hotels in Opotiki
    Livingston Motel
    195 reviews
    #3 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
    Cortez Motor Inn
    73 reviews
    #8 of 12 hotels in Whakatane
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Free Parking
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Microwave
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Price range
    • US$34 - US$42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 9
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Bay of Plenty Region >
    • Opotiki
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (14)
    Pool & Beach (6)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (28)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Sponsored by:
    Cortez Motor Inn
    73 reviews
    32.92 km away
    Livingston Motel
    195 reviews
    32.82 km away
    White Island Rendezvous
    343 reviews
    30.84 km away
    Ranui Motel
    4 reviews
    6.62 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Two Fish Cafe
    168 reviews
    5.91 km away
    Hot Bread Shop Cafe
    49 reviews
    5.94 km away
    The Bakehouse Cafe
    19 reviews
    5.90 km away
    19 reviews
    5.90 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Motu Trails
    32 reviews
    6.26 km away
    Waioeka Gorge Scenic Reserve
    22 reviews
    7.41 km away
    Opotiki District Museum
    18 reviews
    5.86 km away
    Motu River Jet Boat
    17 reviews
    .95 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Craig H
    2 January 2017|
    Response from Robert M | Property representative |
    Hi Craig, Adults are classed from 15 years and over. Children are classed from 1 year old. Thanks!
    Room Tips
    "We stayed in tents - lots of space for us and our vehicles."
    Read review
    "Take some foam squabs for the bunk beds in the cabins as the mattresses are a little solid."
    Read review
    "Good selection of cabins, tent and caravan sites."
    Read review
    "The pet paddock is fabulous."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing