We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Muri Beach Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Muri Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 257: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed with Muri Beach Resort. We didn't end up have our holiday in September 2016 as my grandfather passed away unexpectedly, very soon before our departure. Although I understand hotels have booking and cancellation policies for a reason, I expected at least a bit of compassion. Instead, we were charged 50% of our booking and I was sent a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaydee1991
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kaydee1991, we are truely sorry about your loss. It is terrible when a loved one goes and we totally understand that under those circumstances you could not travel to the Cook Islands. How could you have found peace and relaxation just after a family tragedy? We are grateful for your understanding of our cancellation policy. It is a... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Muri Beach Resort is awesome. Felt incredibly relaxed the whole time we were there. The staff are so friendly and accomodating. The only thing I will say is I think the bathroom needs a little bit of a renovation. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to others. Will be back

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Diane, reviews like yours mean the world to us! I will make sure that Apai and Sane from the Front Office at Muri Beach Resort print off your review for our staff room. It will put a smile on everybody's face! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to speak about our bathrooms. The resort is undergoing a refurbishment... More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We recently spent a week with our adult children in Rarotonga. We were looking for a place we could all stay together and found Plantation House on the Muri Resort webpage. This house was perfect for us. It is big 4 bedroom house with stunning views and a fabulous pool . We got the bonus of being able to use... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank anniemacblack
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Annie, thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Plantation House with the Trip Advisor community! It is always a pleasure reading the comments of someone that loves Muri as much as we do! Big meitaki from the team at Muri Beach Resort and hopefully we will be welcoming you sometime again in the near future!... More 

Macmasters Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

A group of friends visited Rarotonga and went to the bar b q night at silver sands restaurant at Muri beach resort. We all enjoyed our meals but I had a beef tenderloin. I made the huge claim of this being the best beef ever which I stand behind. The beef had a beautiful flavor and was very tender and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JenJen8888
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jen, Thanks for taking the time to review Silver Sands restaurant. Just to avoid any confusion, Silver Sands is the restaurant at Muri Beach Club Hotel an adult only hotel in Muri. Our family friendly restaurant Aqua here at Muri Beach Resort is renown for our great pizzas and tapas accompanied by ice cold beers on a sunny... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Great place with nice clean and tidy bungalow accommodation. Two for one cocktail happy hour at the Aqua bar was good fun - though for the love of god could someone make them change the mix tape - (If I hear "Island Nights" by Dragon one more time, I swear....) This was out first trip to Rarotonga and this place... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank shakey-town
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana shakey-town, thanks for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community! We love that you loved it! Trips to Rarotonga can become somewhat of an addiction, so be aware! Point taken about the music, we will change it and send you a copy of the CD for your island garden party at home!!! Big Meitaki from the Team... More 

Port Gentil, Gabon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days, when I was invited to a wedding...and it was fantastic. Loved every thing about this place. To me it is definitely one of the paradise of the earth! Staff were always smiling and seamed to love what they were doing. Always very helpful and trustworthy...kept the room clean. Breakfast was very good to, and enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HanneTheresia
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Hanne, thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, we love what we do!!! The whole team at Muri Beach Resort is very much looking forward to welcoming you again to our piece of Paradise her in Muri Lagoon! Meitaki, Tim Meyer Hotel Manager More 

Arrowtown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We were met at the airport by Margaret who was very informative about the island even at silly o clock in the morning. We were staying here to go to a wedding at Muri Beach Club. We chose Muri Beach Resort because we liked the idea of being self contained and able to cook if we chose to.Our unit was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineArrowtown
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We have just returned home from a 10 day holiday at MBR feeling well pleased with our experience. The resort staff are amazing - helpful and friendly. The restaurant service and food was great, very personalized. Its a small resort so very quiet and private which we enjoyed. Special thanks to the Resort driver Margaret who saved us when our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jude S
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We (myself, husband and 7 year old Son) stayed at the Muri Beach Resort in July 2016. We have been to Rarotonga 3 times and each time in a different resort. We think MBR is the nicest of the three. Great location on Muri Beach, central enough to feel part of the Muri Beach things going on, i.e kayaking, restaurants... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cparish04
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The rooms are a little tired, however it is in a great location and the staff were extremely friendly. Food from the restaurant was only average, however next door at the sister resort the food was outstanding. Bed was way to soft!

Helpful?
Thank RosieandSandy2016
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rosie, thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience here at Muri Beach Resort! The whole team is extremely grateful for your kind words and we would love to welcome you again sometime in the future to our beautiful slice of Muri Lagoon! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to talk about our... More 

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.6 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.6 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
496 reviews
0.8 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.3 km away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.3 km away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Price Range: $246 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Muri Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Muri Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any of the rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 889dianeh, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 10, 11 and 12 are very private”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All good and well appointed, all off main road so quiet at night, bring era plugs for Roosters”
 of 5 bubbles jacadnz, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles hj60something, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The beachfront rooms have a great outlook but depending on where the wind is coming from they can be quite blustery sitting on the deck.”
 of 5 bubbles nrjakl74, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay