We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Muri Beach Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Muri Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Muri Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Very disappointed with Muri Beach Resort. We didn't end up have our holiday in September 2016 as my grandfather passed away unexpectedly, very soon before our departure. Although I understand hotels have booking and cancellation policies for a reason, I expected at least a bit of compassion. Instead, we were charged 50% of our booking and I was sent a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kaydee1991
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Kaydee1991, we are truely sorry about your loss. It is terrible when a loved one goes and we totally understand that under those circumstances you could not travel to the Cook Islands. How could you have found peace and relaxation just after a family tragedy? We are grateful for your understanding of our cancellation policy. It is a...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Muri Beach Resort is awesome. Felt incredibly relaxed the whole time we were there. The staff are so friendly and accomodating. The only thing I will say is I think the bathroom needs a little bit of a renovation. I would definitely stay there again and highly recommend to others. Will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Diane, reviews like yours mean the world to us! I will make sure that Apai and Sane from the Front Office at Muri Beach Resort print off your review for our staff room. It will put a smile on everybody's face! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to speak about our bathrooms. The resort is undergoing a refurbishment...

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We recently spent a week with our adult children in Rarotonga. We were looking for a place we could all stay together and found Plantation House on the Muri Resort webpage. This house was perfect for us. It is big 4 bedroom house with stunning views and a fabulous pool . We got the bonus of being able to use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anniemacblack
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Annie, thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Plantation House with the Trip Advisor community! It is always a pleasure reading the comments of someone that loves Muri as much as we do! Big meitaki from the team at Muri Beach Resort and hopefully we will be welcoming you sometime again in the near future!...

Macmasters Beach, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

A group of friends visited Rarotonga and went to the bar b q night at silver sands restaurant at Muri beach resort. We all enjoyed our meals but I had a beef tenderloin. I made the huge claim of this being the best beef ever which I stand behind. The beef had a beautiful flavor and was very tender and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenJen8888
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Jen, Thanks for taking the time to review Silver Sands restaurant. Just to avoid any confusion, Silver Sands is the restaurant at Muri Beach Club Hotel an adult only hotel in Muri. Our family friendly restaurant Aqua here at Muri Beach Resort is renown for our great pizzas and tapas accompanied by ice cold beers on a sunny...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Great place with nice clean and tidy bungalow accommodation. Two for one cocktail happy hour at the Aqua bar was good fun - though for the love of god could someone make them change the mix tape - (If I hear "Island Nights" by Dragon one more time, I swear....) This was out first trip to Rarotonga and this place...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shakey-town
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana shakey-town, thanks for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community! We love that you loved it! Trips to Rarotonga can become somewhat of an addiction, so be aware! Point taken about the music, we will change it and send you a copy of the CD for your island garden party at home!!! Big Meitaki from the Team...

Port Gentil, Gabon
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 10 days, when I was invited to a wedding...and it was fantastic. Loved every thing about this place. To me it is definitely one of the paradise of the earth! Staff were always smiling and seamed to love what they were doing. Always very helpful and trustworthy...kept the room clean. Breakfast was very good to, and enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HanneTheresia
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Hanne, thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, we love what we do!!! The whole team at Muri Beach Resort is very much looking forward to welcoming you again to our piece of Paradise her in Muri Lagoon! Meitaki, Tim Meyer Hotel Manager

Arrowtown
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We were met at the airport by Margaret who was very informative about the island even at silly o clock in the morning. We were staying here to go to a wedding at Muri Beach Club. We chose Muri Beach Resort because we liked the idea of being self contained and able to cook if we chose to.Our unit was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChristineArrowtown
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We have just returned home from a 10 day holiday at MBR feeling well pleased with our experience. The resort staff are amazing - helpful and friendly. The restaurant service and food was great, very personalized. Its a small resort so very quiet and private which we enjoyed. Special thanks to the Resort driver Margaret who saved us when our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude S
London
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We (myself, husband and 7 year old Son) stayed at the Muri Beach Resort in July 2016. We have been to Rarotonga 3 times and each time in a different resort. We think MBR is the nicest of the three. Great location on Muri Beach, central enough to feel part of the Muri Beach things going on, i.e kayaking, restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cparish04
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The rooms are a little tired, however it is in a great location and the staff were extremely friendly. Food from the restaurant was only average, however next door at the sister resort the food was outstanding. Bed was way to soft!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RosieandSandy2016
surf-6, Manager at Muri Beach Resort, responded to this review

Kia Orana Rosie, thank you so much for taking the time and sharing your experience here at Muri Beach Resort! The whole team is extremely grateful for your kind words and we would love to welcome you again sometime in the future to our beautiful slice of Muri Lagoon! Thank you for giving me the opportunity to talk about our...

200 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (177)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.6 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.8 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
8.4 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
11.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.3 km away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 18 in Muri
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Absolute beachfront on Muri. This intimate boutique resort offers 20 beautifully decorated deluxe self-contained villas and apartments. These well-appointed units feature air-conditioning, Jacuzzi spa baths, insect screens, TV/DVD, in-house movies, Wi-Fi internet, IDD telephones. And all of this is set amongst tropically landscaped gardens. When not enjoying the stunning views from the beachfront deck, enjoy lazing by the large swimming pool sipping tropical cocktails. The resorts beautiful poolside Polynesian style cafe & cocktail bar which is surrounded by tropical gardens is al-fresco dining Island style. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Muri Beach Resort

Address: Main Road, Muri Village | P.O. Box 146, Muri, Cook Islands (Formerly Shangri-La Beach Cottages)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Price Range: $225 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muri Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Muri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Resort Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Muri Beach Resort staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
La Costa
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Muri Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a roof over the veranda because if it rains you can sit outside :)”
 of 5 bubbles Uniquelady01, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick beach front. It is so scenic and beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles collinz0188lsnt, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would definitely recommend a Lagoon View Villa, for the view from the balcony/verandah.”
  • Lagoon View Villa No 14
  • View from Lagoon View Villas towards Muri Lagoon
  • Lagoon View Villa No 14
 of 5 bubbles lindadS1204UY, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Poolside Villas are perfectly situated for both the pool & beach. Garden Villas offer a little more privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles Min3217, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can afford the Deluxe beachfront villas, go for it, they are more modern and having the sunrise at your door is payless.”
 of 5 bubbles GiacosaCarlo, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5