We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamn in Senja

Overview
Hamnveien 1145 Skaland, Hamn, Senja 9385 Norway See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star accommodation
About
Description
Hamn i Senja - a maritime idyll On the outer coast of Norway's second largest island, Senja, you will find genuine nature-based adventures and a maritime environment as well as a comfortable and pleasant More place to stay. Ask for our summer and winter adventure programs. We offer high standard accommodation and free WI-FI in all rooms. 29 apartments with all together 14 double rooms and 51 twin rooms. Each bedroom has a private bath, and the rooms can be booked individually as a studio/family room (no view), twin room (no view), suite with a harbour/sea view or as an apartment with 2 or 3 bedrooms. All apartments have a harbour/sea view as well. Modern conference facilities: 5 meeting rooms from 10-125 persons. Our restaurant offers traditional North Norwegian fare, local ingredients and tasty seafood dishes. Open every day in June to August (check exact date) Rest of the year, all servings must be booked in advance. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Microwave
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Refrigerator in room
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Beachfront
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
65
Price range
US$121 - US$291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Senja > Hamn
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Finnsnes Hotell
58 reviews
38.28 km away
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
249 reviews
40.35 km away
Kristina Apartments
15 reviews
42.02 km away
Gronnbuene Rorbu Hotel
19 reviews
42.11 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2 nearby restaurants
Storbrygga Spiseri - Hamn i Senja
15 reviews
.04 km away
Skreien Spiseri
11 reviews
7.45 km away
Mefjord Brygge
46 reviews
15.69 km away
Draugen Kro & Bar
8 reviews
15.92 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 15 nearby attractions
Hamn i Senja
23 reviews
.02 km away
Senja National Tourist Route
56 reviews
.10 km away
Basecamp Senja - Fjordekspedisjon
17 reviews
38.83 km away
Haaja
19 reviews
41.05 km away
Reviews & more
307Reviews
414Photos
5Q+A
36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 92
  • 23
  • 16
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
+4
Half the rooms at this hotel are fabulous, the other half are terrible. We have never seen such a contrast. The design is that each unit has a stunning sitting room, a front bedroom and a back bedroom. If you are lucky to get a front bedroom you have access to the sitting
Read more
Response from HamniSenja, Owner at Hamn in Senja
Responded Oct. 21, 2018
Dear guest Thank you for taking time to sending us feedback of your Hamn-experience. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. As you explain the situation, it is clear that you did not automatically were given what was booked, and we apologise for that. When groups are booked, the common area shared by the rooms (living room, dining/kitchen area, the view and veranda) shall be open and we shall always explain how it all works. I apologise for not succeeding with that. Your comments are very helpful, and we we will do our best to avoid similar situations. It is always sad we are not able to make you happy while guests stay with us, so if you consider to return at some point, we shall make sure that you have a better stay without any accommodation cost - do contact us and refer to this reply. (a quick explanation of the rooms: Since all roms are inside apartments, each with en suite bathroom, it gives us flexibility to rent out each bedroom individually. The rates for the back rooms without access to the living room is approx. half the price as the suite in front connected to the living room area. Two very different concepts, even though the bedrooms are the same size. When groups are visiting, the rooms shall share plenty of space within the apartment and the great view. The building constructions will soon be ending, and hopefully reveal some great new Aurora rooms - all with fabulous fjord view and no sharing of any facilities with other rooms :-).....)
Read more
The people here love what they do. When you enter the door, they make you feel you are visiting they’re home. Don’t forget to try the jacuzzi made from a fishing boat.
Continue to be humble and caring. Thank you Hamn, you make it worth it!
Read more
The hotel is in an idyllic place. Its is truly beautiful.

We came by the hotel prior to booking rooms to organize some fishing trips. I am norwegian, but spoke english due my english speaking boyfriend. The staff started fighting in norwegian in front of us (probably because th
Read more
Just stopped here for lunch so cannot review the lodging. The fish soop was great and sitting outside in the sun with the sea and beautiful nature surrounding is just amazing.
A lot of construction going on which is disturbing.
Read more
This is an awsome place to stay, we had great views of the setting sun fr9m the hotel dock itself. The place is idle stay for hikes around, calm and serene. The food was excellent. The rooms were just funtastic !
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Zimmer (Hundehütte)
hot tub
room
Previous
Hi, we have made a reservation with Hamn In this fall and will like to ask if there are any self service washing machines on site for guests to do laundry. Appreciate your response.
In the unit we occupied, there is no washing or dryer machine at all.
0 votes
Show all answers
We want to book accommodation with a good view and privacy. I believe this will be a suite but I'm slightly concerned after reading a review where somebody stated that others had to walk through their apartment to get to their own room. Also, how busy will the hotel be at the end of February and will the restaurant and bar be fully open?
How many people are traveling with you? If you need more than one room I would book an apartment. They have 3 bedrooms with bathrooms which each have their own key and a main area with a kitchen and living room that everyone uses. If you just need one room, I’m not sure it’s worth it to book the apartment. We went in September and the hotel wasn’t fully booked and we had an apartment to ourselves for four people. I’m not sure how busy the hotel is in February. It sounds like they have breakfast and dinner year round, you just have to make reservations. When we went in September the dinner was a set three course meal. You might also try emailing the hotel and seeing what they recommend. They were helpful with the questions I had regarding rooming. The whole area around the hotel is beautiful so I don’t think you can make a bad choice.
1 vote
Show all answers
There is a ferry near by that goes to Tromso? Does it run in January?
Mmm not sure, went in winter when a lot of Ferries don't operate. Check with Tromsø tourism they are pretty sharp and helpful
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, Is there any type of transfer service from Tromso airport? If not, how far are you from there and what do you think it would cost for a taxi? Thank you, Jo
Hi Jo! As some others have mentioned here, it is quite far to drive from Tromsø to Hamn i Senja. It is possible for us to pick-up at the airport, but the fastest and most convenient way to get to Senja is with Hurtigbåt from Tromsø to Finnsnes. You would then take the airport bus to the pier in Tromsø, and then take the boat from there. The boat ride is only around 1 hour and 20 minutes. We can then offer pick up from Finnsnes, which is less than a one hour drive from Hamn. Time schedule for the boats can be found on tromskortet.no. Hope this was helpful! Best regards, Elin
1 vote
Show all answers
hello, I sent in the accommodation inquiry few days ago but didn't get response yet. Hope to hear from you soon.
Hi Adeline, to my knowledge, the hotel is still open. I would recommend to use booking at com to book a room there, since it might be expensive to call directly from Malaysia.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Ask for lagoon view"
"Sea Hus 13 has the best view of the harbour"
"If you are light sensitiv take a habour view room!"
"choose a harbour chalet"
"1st floor rooms facing the lake seeing the boats and the hills"
Previous
1234568
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing