We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chateau des Vigiers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Chateau des Vigiers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chateau des Vigiers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Surrey, England
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent 4 nights there recently with our 9 year old daughter. Being temporarily down to one child, too young to be booked into a room alone, we opted for a relais room following all the helpful comments from previous residents as the rooms were supposed to be larger and we would need to have her with us. Even with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surreymum_9
Château d, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for such nice compliments about Château des Vigiers. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time and that you appreciated the services that we propose. I have also noted the comments about the choice of food for children and vegetarians and I think it is maybe more of a language problem...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Vigiers. We had a relais room which was wonderful, well appointed, spacious with a fabulous walk in rainforest shower. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms clean and well maintained. There are two swimming pools for guests to use. The main pool and then one at the relais block at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BubbleD25
Château d, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments here on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your compliments to the staff. I look forward to welcoming you again soon, Kind regards, Niels KOETSIER Directeur d’Exploitation – Hotel Manager

London
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We spent five nights at the Chateau Vigiers as the second of three chateau on our mini moon, and I cannot fault the place. I'd happily recommend and indeed return if circumstances allowed it. We stayed in the main chateau and had a very large room - easy to spend an extended time period in. The balcony was semi-private but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruski_11
Château d, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I have red with attention your detailed comments about Château des Vigiers and I am delighted that you had such a good time. For your information, the close by village that makes this wonderful desert wine is called “Saussignac”. I have noted the fact that the service for coffee at breakfast is a bit slow and we will...

london
Reviewed 17 August 2012

The Hotel complex is in a very remote part of the French countryside. All staff provide a friendly welcome and for those of us whose French is poor - they show great patience ! We stayed in the Chateau, big rooms but a bit dark with only small windows. Room nicely laid out with a long corridor giving the impression...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londoneagle
Château d, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff concerned. We have taken note of your comment about the water. Unfortunately, as you will understand, we cannot make the windows in the château any bigger so may I suggest that next time...

Isle of Man
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed in a Relais room for a week in July and enjoyed the location very much. The rooms are very spacious with a balcony, good air conditioning, a clean and pleasant bathroom with a walk-in shower and a comfortable bed. The Relais rooms are in a separate newer block, built in an older style, a short drive from the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamallovertheplace
Château d, Directeur général at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments here on Tripadvisor. I delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to weloming you again. Kind regards, Niels KOETSIER Directeur d’Exploitation – Hotel Manager

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Amazing scenery and outstanding food in both restaurants. Golf very enjoyable. Rooms in block close by are big and spaciousComfortable bed, lovely bedlinen and fluffy white towels. No bath, which I missed! Spa was a disappointment, and would not use again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VMaryB
Château d, Manager at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you very much for your kind comments about the food, golf & rooms. Please note that indeed the Relais rooms are all provided with large walk-in showers but that the rooms situated in the Château are provided with a bath. Sorry to read that the Spa was a disappointment. Difficult to answer without any more information but...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Have stayed here twice now in the Relais rooms - new converted barns. Great room, plenty of space. Le Chai brasserie does the best Croque Monsiuer ever. Fab place, can't wait to come again - don't even play golf!!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank psadga
Château d, Manager at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for your lovely review about your stay with us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Niels Koetsier Hotel Manager

Devon
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stunning setting and impressive building, both inside and out. We didn't come for the golf but for the food and we certainly weren't disappointed. The Brasserie is well situated for watching all that's going on and we had some wonderful meals - my magret de canard was particularly special, nice and pink and full of flavour. Prices are high but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
Château d, Manager at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for leaving your positive comments on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Château des Vigiers and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards, Niels Koetsier Hotel Manager

Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Booked a gourmet experience at hotel Chateau des Vigiers. What a food! Played also golf, but the course was a dissapointment. The roughs were so long that you lost easely the golf ball.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Pirkko S
Château d, Manager at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you appreciated the excellent food. Really sorry that your golf game was a disappointment because of the long roughs, they have been cut since your last stay and it is indeed much easier to find the balls! I hope to see you again at...

Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 14 June 2012

the hotel itself is charming, staying in this hotel allow you to live a different experience of old french chateaux, all around is perfect just the room is noisy and the bed is not comfortable at all. there is a great nature with a lake beside, also we liked so much their golf amazing to play and to walk in.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bouchra b
Château d, Manager at Chateau des Vigiers, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you very much for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, the golf course and the surroundings. I am surprised to read that you found the bed to be uncomfortable as we regularly change them. We will check the bed in question to make sure that nothing is wrong and...

292 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (72)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monestier
28.1 km away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
235 reviews
21.7 km away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
195 reviews
40.1 km away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 km away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
331 reviews
16.9 km away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
147 reviews
12.0 km away
La Villa St Laurent
La Villa St Laurent
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-des-Vignes
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Chateau des Vigiers, luxury hotel golf & spa Luxury hotels, golf and spa situated in the Dordogne, near Bordeaux, Saint-Emilion and Bergerac, South West France Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the WorldDating back to the 16th century and set amidst the famous vineyards of this beautiful and unspoiled region, Chateau des Vigiers is an internationally renowned luxury Hotel, Golf and Spa situated in the Dordogne Perigord region of South West France. Conveniently located just 25 minutes from Bergerac Airport and about an hour east of Bordeaux, Chateau des Vigiers offers its guests two uniquely different hotel experiences, tailored to individual tastes and requirements. Whether you want to tour the world-famous vineyards of Bordeaux and Saint-Emilion, play golf on our impressive 27-hole course, enjoy our region's finest food and wine, or be pampered in our Maria Galland Beauty Spa, you will be able to escape the fast-pace of everyday life in this secluded and tranquil setting. Your Chateau des Vigiers experience awaits. Step inside... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau des Vigiers

Address: Chateau des Vigiers | D18, 24240 Monestier, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Monestier
Price Range: $174 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Vigiers 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Chateau des Vigiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Vigiers Hotel Monestier
Chateau Des Vigiers Monestier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chateau des Vigiers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Chateau des Vigiers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room in the Chateau, unless you deliberately want to stay in the more modern, chalet-like, 'Relais'.”
 of 5 bubbles Nick21Brussels, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I think all the rooms are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles 252robl, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Depends on price The suite was a litte bit old style The other rooms in the chateau seemed to be more modern”
 of 5 bubbles juleshoffelt, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“definitely book the chateau, not the relais property”
 of 5 bubbles U8252CIcarlosg, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the chateau are probably nicer”
 of 5 bubbles alki189400, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay