We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dover Beach Hotel

  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Special Price
15% off room rate
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 500: English reviews
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dover was very nice. We had a rental car, so parking at times was a bit testy. But overall okay. Our accommodation was good, but we had the only room without any cooking facility. We talked with people about the pool, and learned that all had cooking facilities but we had none. Didn't matter, however, as we had no problem...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skriso
Washington DC, District of Columbia
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at Dover Beach hotel in Barbados January 2017. The weather in Barbados was awesome, it didn't rain any of the 4 days we were there and stayed between 70-80 degrees fahrenheit. I was nervous about booking the hotel due to how cheap it was and some of the older comments about the property. Many of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia I
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, which really sums up what we believe to be a true Barbadian experience. We are pleased to know that you explored your environment and got out to see what the destination has to offer. We are also happy you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and took advantage of staying...

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

May not be the more upmarket of hotels however you will not meet a staff team so intent on making your holiday perfect on every level. Super clean, relaxing and just lovely. Beach clean and friendly, pool spotless, restaurant really good, may be improved with a bigger selection menu however hotel is so close to local restaurants more choices are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillian m
Daphne, Alabama
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love love love this hotel. So friendly so accommodating. I've stayed a number of times and will return a number more!!! Highly recommend Staff is wonderful. Mary is the events coordinator and is so knowledgeable. The location is great right in st Lawrence gap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truegrace32
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your loyalty and patronage. Thank you also for this awesome testimony. We can't wait to welcome you and your family "home" for your 9th visit as you are all certainly like family to us.

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here end of January. Had e-mailed hotel before our visit to arrange private transfers with them, excellent prompt replies and communication. Had a pool view which was lovely. Simply put this is a really nice place to stay if you want peaceful relaxing accommodation. We couldn't fault it, rooms cleaned every day, staff friendly and helpful. There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to host you and your partner. We are over the moon by your comments and thankful that you captured all that we hinge our reputation on as it relates to our core values. Our team works hard to maintain our values and we are proud when we get it right. It's also awesome...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel rooms are a little dated but the staff and location more than make up for any downsides. Located in the popular St Lawrence Gap area, great restaurants and bars are only minutes within walking distance. The kitchenettes allow you to prepare breakfast and lunches in your room thereby saving some $$ on your trip. We ate breakfast one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bryan, Thank you allowing us to host you and your partner. We do acknowledge that we have some upgrading to do and have have been making some changes as best we can. But we do, as you said, make up for that weakness with our service and it thrills us that you recognized that. Thank you for sharing and...

Port Orange, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had just finished a Windstar Cruise out of Barbados and wanted to stay in a hotel that had a kitchenette and on the beach. DBH is old, but well cared for, friendly helpful staff and affordable. Kitchenette is bare bones, but we made it work. Don't expect an oven or DW. We were able to make some really delicious...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us after your cruise. We are delighted to know that we provided a comfortable escape for you and that our service lived up to expectations. Yes, our sunsets are wonder to see and it's great that you were able to witness that awesomeness at the end of the day. We have taken note of your comments...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in on 21st Jan 2017....room disappointing - so went to reception and it was changed without a problem - our new room was bigger and brighter - but I think the room could do with updating - even a lick of paint would make a huge difference. Staff were fantastic though and food at breakfast delicious - so well...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eileen M
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. We were happy to respond to your preferences and that the room change made a big difference. We certainly look forward to hosting you and your partner sometime soon in the future.

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I chose Dover Beach hotel for the location, price and good reviews and weren't disappointed. It is a pretty, old-style hotel with a mostly friendly staff and relaxing ambiance. I just have a couple of suggestions to management, which could have improved our experience. First: the restaurant and breakfast plan. We added a daily continental breakfast to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janbob2017
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach and thank you for this feedback. We're happy that we did not disappoint and that we measured up to your expectations for the most part. Having said that, we apologise for the service you experienced in the restaurant and the low standard of the breakfast. You hope to return someday and...

Decatur, IL
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late evening and check-in went well and we were shown our Standard room in the Goldwater building in which we had reserved. Our first impression when entering the room was that it was extremely dated and somewhat dark. We opened the curtain leading to the patio and could not believe the view. We were on the ground level...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jerry U
DoverBeach H, Relationship Consultant at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thank you so much for this wonderful testimony. We believe it's not the hand you are dealt, but the manner in which you play the hand. In the context of your experience, what was important was not how it started but how it ended. Our core values are well understood by our team and your testimony validates the...

719 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (379)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Island View Room (26)
Viewed
Garden View One Bedroom Apartment (55)
Viewed
Garden View Studio Calais Building (39)
Viewed
Garden View Studio Flowers Building (40)
Viewed
Ocean View Studio (47)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Pool View Studio (37)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
5.3 km away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
2.2 km away
Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
#5 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
578 reviews
0.8 km away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
1,865 reviews
3.5 km away
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Worthing
474 reviews
2.5 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This family-owned, friendly hotel is nestled away from the hustle and bustle of the St. Lawrence Gap. We feature a beautiful pool and sun-deck, and rooms with panoramic views of the ocean or tropical gardens. Renovated in 2007, all suites/studios are air-conditioned with double or twin beds. Rooms feature full kitchenettes, stove, fridge, telephone, radio, in-room safe, cable television, full bathroom, private balcony and daily housekeeping service. Perfect for families, weddings, honeymooners, teams and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dover Beach Hotel

Address: Dover BB15026, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Price Range: $121 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dover Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Kognitiv US Corp so you can book your Dover Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dover Beach Christ Church
Hotel Dover Beach
Dover Beach Hotel Barbados
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dover Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Dover Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms spacious and has everything you could need.”
 of 5 bubbles gillianm448, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pool view best from what we could see.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaO966, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The main building has great views of the Sea”
 of 5 bubbles 855bryans, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I think book a room in the main hotel block - views will be amazing of the sea and surrounding area! ”
 of 5 bubbles 495eileenm, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second floor of Flowers had lovely balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles janbob2017, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5