We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
US$1,350
View deal
Booking.comUS$1,350
PricelineUS$1,350
Official SiteUS$1,350
Prestigia.com
Agoda.comUS$1,350
eDreamsUS$1,350
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1751)
Room & Suite (537)
Videos (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.

About

#1 of 6 hotels in Saint Mary's
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
GreenLeaders Gold level
COVID-19 Update: There are no longer any entry requirements for Antigua. If you require pre-departure tests we can do them at the hotel. Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice 2021, and 2018, 2017, and 2015 Gold List. The independently owned, all-inclusive Hermitage Bay is comprised of just 30 eco-luxury suites tucked into a secluded bay, featuring a 1200 ft natural beach and reef, on the west coast of Antigua. With a laidback style and promise to deliver barefoot luxury on the beach, Hermitage Bay is an escape for the soul; a retreat for those seeking rest, relaxation, and an authentic Caribbean experience. Each of the 9 Beachfront and 4 Seaview Garden Suites features a spacious split-level lounge and patio, while the 17 Hillside Pool Suites offer large wrap-around decks and private plunge pools and sun bathing areas. Daily changing a la carte menus offer vegan and vegetarian options and feature freshly squeezed local juices, locally grown produce, and organic ingredients. Free Wi-Fi is included as are private round trip airport transfers with 'meet and greet' and a fast track service through immigration and customs for guests staying 3 nights or more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Free airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1657Reviews165Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,480
  • 113
  • 38
  • 15
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
julie d wrote a review Dec. 2
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom360 contributions297 helpful votes
December in Antigua ..wow.. What a gorgeous beach and bay so that's a tick ....just a few villas set beautifully around the bay,giving beautiful views ...I swam everyday in the pool walked the beach enjoyed the well thought out food choices and well stocked bar .....natural juices where a big h it with me....in fact I almost had a healthy 2weeks ..so ....taking me to the spa ......Elizabeth was fabulous.....had the full body and facial she was absolutely first class ....I'm still here as writing this ...relaxing with some bubbly thinking how lovely all the staff are and how this perfectly fits my flip flops and sarong type of holiday ......
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded yesterday
Dear julied399 Thank you very much for posting your review whilst still at the property. We're all delighted to hear it's going so well. I'm sorry I'm not there at present to meet you but I'm in the cold and wet UK at present. I'm looking forward to getting back to the warmth. Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay and come back soon. Best wishes Andy Thesen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve M wrote a review Dec. 2
Atlanta, Georgia3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hermitage Bay lived up to our high expectations. The beach, villas and location were all great. My wife and I are both vegetarian and their menus always included many options for us. We had a wonderful time. The staff was great as well. We'll definitely return.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded yesterday
Dear 581stevem581 Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We're all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to come back. We hope to see you very soon. Best wishes Andy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jonathan L wrote a review Nov. 2022
2 contributions
Having been coming to the Caribbean for 30 years Hermitage Bay was by far the best hotel we have stayed at. Well trained staff are not just friendly but have conversation and banter. Food and drinks varied from very good to exceptional. Our luxury room set up on the hill had a spectacular view and total privacy. Indian Ocean service and quality in the Caribbean. Our only complaint was when Ed Sheeran visited he didn’t bring his guitar !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Hillside suit a must for privacy and space.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded 5 days ago
Dear jonathanIX5707VT Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We're all delighted to hear that you've found us after 30 years of travel to the Caribbean. Ed's was a surprise visit but next time we'll ask him to bring his guitar 😄. We hope to be welcoming you back soon. With kind regards Andy Thesen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SalBUKSouth wrote a review Nov. 2022
Salisbury, United Kingdom30 contributions8 helpful votes
Second visit to this great hotel. Excellent service and outstanding food. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely quiet beach and fabulous views from our hillside room.Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SalBUKSouth Thank you very much for posting a review and coming back for the second time. We're all delighted to hear that we lived up to your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes Andy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sgould1010 wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 helpful vote
Hermitage Bay is a must visit vacation destination if you enjoy being pampered in a safe haven with happiness all around! We are a well traveled couple, and have never enjoyed a vacation destination more. From the airport welcome to the expedited customs process and transfer to the Hermitage... we were handled with kit- gloves. The accommodations are stunning and clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and the elegant meals were exquisite! We will definitely visit The Hermitage again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded 1 week ago
Dear sgould1010 Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We're delighted that you plan to come back and look forward to welcoming you soon. With kind regards Andy Thesen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jamieleeMKE wrote a review Nov. 2022
Plover, Wisconsin54 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
If you want a unique, intimate, luxurious, relaxing, beautiful 5 star resort, look no further. All the positive reviews are accurate and I will share what we loved most about Hermitage Bay along with some tips about the resort. I have stayed in a few adult-only, all-inclusive resorts and this one blows them out of the water. I wanted to splurge on an AO/AI yet BOUTIQUE resort (which is hard to find) for a "celebrate all the accomplishments over our time together" back in 2020. We ended up having to wait two years to travel here d/t Covid and boy was it worth the wait and honestly the best place we could have stayed at after all that. Arriving in Antigua and Hermitage Bay, we felt like VIP. From the airport concierge, the transfer and arrival to the resort. Accommodations: The most unique aspect and my favorite part of our trip was the hillside suites. I have never had privacy with a view like that. The villas are massive so you actually never want to leave. I can guarantee it is worth the $. TIP: bring your own Bluetooth speaker to have around the villa. There is bug-spray provided in case but I think I only got 1 mosquito bite the entire time. The bathroom is one large room so the toilet has zero privacy but we didn't care. Forewarning, the creatures at night can be loud so be prepared but it felt like we were sleeping outside which was fun. The plunge pool is not heated but warm enough that you want to use it and it feels refreshing. The exercise exerted on the stairs to the villas is welcomed after relaxing and indulging all day. However you can call and ask for a golf cart ride up or down. Resort: Another favorite aspect of the resort: they do not pump music like most other places. Although I am a music junky, the quietness was incredibly relaxing. Even though there are 30 villas, we only saw a few couples here and there at a time. Sometimes not a single person was at the pool or we were the only people eating breakfast. How much more private and VIP can you get? Felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves. If you are allergic to cats, they have two running around the dining area but seem harmless. Otherwise no other wild life seen. Food and Beverage: I brought snacks thinking I would be hungry between meals. Wrong. Although the portions small, Since HB does not seem to advertise much like big chains, it really does feel like a hidden gem. I cannot find another place like this anywhere and I have searched extensively. Every place I look at, I keep comparing to HB and HB always wins. We want to try another closer island because getting to HB from WI is quite the trip. However, we WILL come back some day. My husband never likes to repeat, always try something new, but HERE, he said he would come back! So it was enough to impress him as well :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Splurge on a hillside suite. Privacy with pool and picturesque view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear jamieleeMKE Thank you very much for posting your review. It was great to hear that we fulfilled all your wishes having decided you wanted to splurge on a "celebrate all the accomplishments over our time together". I'm sorry it isn't an easier journey from WI but hope you continue to think its worth the effort. I just wanted to highlight one point in that we are adding heat pumps to all the Hillside Pool Suite over the course of the next 6 months so if you want one next time please ask. We'd all be delighted to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Andy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel48813041761 wrote a review Nov. 2022
Brecksville, Ohio1 helpful vote
+1
My wife and I had been looking for a special place we could go to for our wedding anniversary. After several years of trying various resorts in the Caribbean we came across Heritage Bay. This has become our annual retreat / getaway and we look forward to it every year. The location, the views, the room, the food, the staff it is always impeccable . We can not recommend this enough. If you are looking for a chill vacation and want to totally relax, then this is the place for you. We will be back again next year.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Travel48813041761 Thank you very much for composing and posting a review. We're all delighted to hear that you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back in the new year. With kind regards Andy Thesen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaggieSinks wrote a review Oct. 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri1 helpful vote
+1
This was one of the best trips I have ever been on! The food was terrific, the room was incredible and the staff was unreal. The customer service at this hotel is above and beyond. Specifally the beach attendants made our trip. Jessie and Kyle catered to our every need and had the biggest smile on their faces while doing it. Also, the beach was beautiful. The sand is perfect and the water is crystal clear. There is a small reef right off the beach that we snorkeled every day. We will be returning again soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Maggie Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. It sounds like you had a great time and we are delighted to hear that you plan to come back soon. Best wishes Andy Thesen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nickandniki wrote a review Oct. 2022
Wells, Maine1 contribution4 helpful votes
The food is phenomenal!!! Everything else is eh:( For the price we paid per night, we definitely expected more. I saw the hillside Pool Suite on the resort website but they put us on the lowest suite, there was no view at all!!!! I was very upset and I told the staff about it. They moved us higher up the hill where the view was much nicer but we lost 1 whole day for that! And someone else at Yoga was in the same situation the next day. It doesn’t make a great first impression. That couple didn’t want to complain and they just had an unhappy stay. There was a lot of standing water so the mosquitoes were terrible! I’ve never seen anything like it at anywhere else! The beach wasn’t so beautiful and the villa was dated. For the price, this resort should really look at doing some modernization
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you ask them to have the same room view that the picture shows
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded Oct. 28, 2022
Dear nickandniki Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are all disappointed and sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Your review says that you stayed in November 2021 so I did wonder why you waited for 12 months before letting us know about your experience. I hope you have many more positive experiences on your future trips. Best wishes Andy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
valmaceod wrote a review Oct. 2022
1 helpful vote
Amazing vacation with the most wonderful views and the mountain side villas were perfect. The staff was awesome and we never waited for anything. It is also a great place if you don’t want to be around a lot of other people. Their attention to detail was awesome and the food was great. Would definitely go back again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Andy Thesen, Owner at Hermitage Bay
Responded Oct. 28, 2022
Dear valmaceod Thank you so much for posting your feedback. We are all delighted to hear that you had a great getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Andy Thesen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$1,683 - US$2,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hermitage bay hotel st. john`s, hermitage bay st johns, hermitage bay antigua
LOCATION
CaribbeanAntigua and BarbudaAntiguaSaint Mary's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hermitage Bay - UPDATED 2022 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Saint Mary's, Antigua and Barbuda) - All-inclusive Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hermitage Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Hermitage Bay?
Nearby attractions include Ffryes Beach (3.7 km), Valley Church Beach (2.9 km), and Galley Bay Beach (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hermitage Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hermitage Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hermitage Bay?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hermitage Bay?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hermitage Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hemingway's Caribbean Cafe & Restaurant, Roti King, and Papa Zouk.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hermitage Bay?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hermitage Bay have airport transportation?
Yes, Hermitage Bay offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hermitage Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Hermitage Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Barrington (5.1 km) and Fort James (5.9 km).
Does Hermitage Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.