We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sossusvlei
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We arrived at this gorgeous oasis to a hospitable staff, a beautiful lodge and spectacular rooms. There are no words to describe how beautiful the dunes are - climbing "Big Daddy" and running down was something we'll never forget. You can sleep out under the stars on the roof of your room - it was a bit windy so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Thank you Susan G for your beautiful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and thrilled to have been able to share this amazing dune experience with you. We look forward to sharing your beautiful words with all the staff in camp. Kind regards Wilderness Safaris

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights and had a fabulous time. It's remote so the service and food was all the better in the circumstances even if the service was a little rough around the edges at times. The staff were great and genuinely keen to help, big you sometimes do need to speak up and ask for what you want. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. we are extremely grateful to see that you spoke up with regards to the guide you were initially paired with and glad the staff could make alternative arrangements for you. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful location and thrilled to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We have just returned home after a four night stay at Little Kulala which was simply superb. The lodge is beautifully decorated using natural wood and stone throughout and fits perfectly into its surroundings. The rooms are very comfortable and well designed with indoor and outdoor showers, am outdoor plunge pool (cold!) and a roof terrace complete with a double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101ROD
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear 101ROD, Thank you for the brilliant review, we are delighted to see how many great memories you have of your stay with us and will be sure to pass along your regards and praises to everyone in camp. Especially the wonderful Forster, who we will have to get to take us all out to "Forster Dune". Thank you for...

portland, or
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed 2 nights at Little Kuala during our recent trip to Namibia and had a wonderful experience. To a person the staff was warm, caring and engaging. The interim manager, Michael, who is a Wilderness veteran, was knowledgable, attentive and extremely buttoned up. Our guide, Forster, was fantastic as was the rest of the staff. Always a friendly greeting....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike g
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Thank you Mike for your amazing review, we are thrilled to see how much you and your wife enjoyed all the elements of your stay with us - from the adventure in the dunes to a quick dip in the plunge pool. We will be sure to share your wonderful sentiments with Michael, Forster and the entire team in camp....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

After a great trip with Wilserness to Botswana, we chose them again for our trip to Namibia. 12 years ago we had a bad experience at Ongava but the Botswana trop renewed my faith in WS. We stayed 2 nights at Little Kulala , 2 nights at Desert Rhino, 3 nights at Hoanib. LK was by far my least favorite....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate74
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear Chocolate74, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to Little Kulala. While we are thrilled that you liked the rooms, the food and your guide, as well as the waterhole in front of camp, it is of concern to us that your expectations were not met in other areas. Your feedback is...

Utah
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We initially stayed here about 12 years ago and had an amazing stay and have always talked about coming back. We finally were able to return with some friends and unfortunately our second stay was not as memorable as the first. We love the area and the dunes are just so amazing to see and the location of the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thewanderingfamily4
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear thewanderingfamily4, We are happy to see you enjoyed your time exploring the magnificent area with Action and are only sorry to hear we were not able to meet the expectations of your previous visit. We have passed your comments and concerns onto our Operations and Training teams who will investigate this further. We sincerely hope you will visit us...

Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

This was our first stop on our safari through Namibia and what a way to start! To see the Namib sand dunes up close in all it's raw and stark beauty was unbelievable. We entered little kulala greeted by a lovely song and dance from the staff and a much needed cold towel and welcome drink. Our guide Jimmy Limbo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avantikka R
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear Avantikka, Thank you for your brilliant review, we are delighted to see what a great stay you had with us and how my you enjoyed your entire stay with us. We cannot wait to share your beautiful words with Jimmy and all the great staff in camp. The traditional dinner is a firm favourite for many of our guests...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 30 October 2016

we stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a 12 night Namibia tour. It was the only place we had air conditioning on the trip, and even some intermittent wifi. The lodge is beautifully situated and feels very remote. There is a watering hole by the main lodge, and all day long there is a parade of oryx,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blg123
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear blg123, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your four day wind down with us after your whirlwind safari through Namibia. We appreciate the comments you sent through regarding your guide and the service team and will be sure to address all your concerns with management and everyone involved. As for the...

Nice, France
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Little Kulala is a luxury property with service to match. The bungalows are perfectly furnished with a lovely outdoor very private area. Food was good although the breakfast was lackluster...bread, cereal, and meat and cheese. Not what you would expect of such a luxury lodge. That said, lunch and dinner were delightful. We did two excursions, one to the dunes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjmmillard
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear kjmmillard, We are thrilled to have been able to share this time with you and glad to see the luxurious experience was able to meet your expectations. thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast served in camp, we will be sure to look into ways of improving this offering. Thank you again Wilderness Safaris

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Accommodation is in good-sized chalets, which are nicely furnished and have a good sense of privacy. Great rooftop terrace for stargazing or even sleeping under the stars if you fancy it (and the skies here are spectacular). A good place to get to see the dunes of the Namib. Food and service were good, as was our guide. A really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monty10001
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala, responded to this review

Dear Monty10001, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent visit to Little Kulala. We are glad that overall you had a good stay, enjoying the stars and excursions, as well as the accommodation and meals. We are sorry to hear about the situation regarding mosquitoes but please rest assured that this has been shared...

306 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
2:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sossusvlei
22.0 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
8.9 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
454 reviews
16.7 km away
Desert Quiver Camp
Desert Quiver Camp
#2 of 12 in Sossusvlei
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 km away
Sossusvlei Lodge
Sossusvlei Lodge
#2 of 8 in Sesriem
774 reviews
61.6 km away
Moon Mountain Lodge
Moon Mountain Lodge
#7 of 12 in Sossusvlei
243 reviews
17.2 km away
Desert Camp
Desert Camp
#4 of 12 in Sossusvlei
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The closest luxury camp to the remarkable Sossusvlei dunes, Little Kulala's exquisite fittings, pastel tones and use of natural light merge into the timeless desert landscape. Aside from excursions to the dunes, the unadorned beauty of the Namib is explored via game drives and walks on Kulala Wilderness Reserve, providing sightings of desertadapted wildlife and plants, from ungainly ostrich to charismatic bat-eared fox. Scenic sundowners take in awe-inspiring views that stretch endlessly to a distant horizon, while a "star-bed" offers slumber under some of Africa's clearest skies. • 11 rooms (1 family) • nature drives and walks • Sossusvlei excursion (via private gate) • Sesriem visit • sleep out deck • quad biking • massage treatments • hot air balloon ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala

Address: Sossusvlei - Kulala Wilderness Reserve, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Price Range: $199 - $1,990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Little Kulala Hotel Sossusvlei
Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala Namibia/Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Wilderness Safaris Little Kulala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we had faced the East which made for beautiful mornings.”
vona467, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues, ask for a room closest to the main building.”
jsn_chiaro, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“If walking is a problem, choose a room close to the lounge and dining area.”
ritaSouthAfrica, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“All 11 villa's are the same”
HermanandMarleen, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room such as room 9 or 10 if you want to be closer to the main lodge, a bonus in the desert heat!”
101ROD, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5