We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,246: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent getaway and relaxation. A definite must return. My family and I rate this place as a "kick back and relax and forget about EVERYTHING" Resort. No need to leave to go anywhere else. For the vacationer who isn't too interested in anything but that stress free, laid back, feet up experience

Helpful?
Thank Dev R
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Two friends and I, stayed at this hotel for an all-inclusive weekend package. The reception was warm and inviting, the staff recognized my friend as a repeat customer and treated us if we were returning home after a long journey. We made a request to switch rooms since ours was quite a distance away from the pool and restaurant area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Farihah M
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Farihah M, Thank you for your written comments on your most recent stay here at the Magdalena Grand. Your experience begs the question; isn't wonderful to be a Magdalena Returning Guest? You received perks! And you benefitted from your friend who is a returning guest. Thank you for your lovely comments on the staff and especially those of the... More 

Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This hotel is located on the Atlantic side which means swimming can be rather hazardous due to the Atlantic rollers. For this reason i would suggest that the hotel should consider installing a breakwater barrier so as to encourage safer and more comfortable swimming. In addition during my stay in mid March i found the beach to be untidy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank tony g
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear tony g, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. I agree with you that the property at this present time is very dry. So is the island of Tobago (it has not rained in 4 months). The grass is very dry and brown. The flowers are in need of water. As there... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016

This was our second stay at the Magdalena; however, with family this time. Overall, the stay was excellent especially with the property's wonderful amenities (great pool) and picturesque beach and ocean backdrop. The rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable and offered amazing ocean views. The all inclusive breakfast was perfect....lots of variety in dishes including local cuisine to choose from with... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelgalyvryyzpos
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear travelgalyvryyzpos, Warm greetings from the Magdalena Grand, your vacation home away from home! Thank you for writing a review of your return vacation trip to the resort and to Tobago. With reviews such as your and others, they become measureable indicators of how we are doing and in your case as a Returning Guest we have lived up to... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Positioning of all rooms is very clever all seem to have a balcony and a sea view, our was perfect on the third floor north wing. Room 334. looks like the hotel is subtly going through a refurbishment (but not really causing any disruption to guests) If its 'chilling out' you want this is the place to stay. Hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank 441derekw
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear 441derekw, It was our pleasure to have hosted you here at the Magdalena Grand and we thank you for taking the time to write a review of said. Love your review title "Totally Chilled" as it is our objective to have every guest leave here in the same way. It is our mission and our promise to all our... More 

San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Overall the ambiance of the resort is everything you could imagine with the man made lakes and golf courses. However the room was cleaned very well with the exception of the toilet. It was like the maid totally forgot to clean the toilet and for us that was a bit disheartening since the resort isn't cheap. Overlooking that mishap, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikhaila1989
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear mikhailamcnicolls, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor. I am so saddened that it seems that if it was not for the perceived dirty bathroom facility, the Magdalena Grand could have gotten a higher rating from you. You enjoyed everything else such as food, clean room, golf course, resort surroundings and views,... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016

From the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out the staff were fantastic always pleasant, friendly and helpful, We found the island and the hotel including the staff and locals very chilled and relaxed, which made use feel the same. The Magdalena is not a luxury hotel, its very traditional and colonial style but by the same... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ClareO196
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear ClareO196, Warm greetings from the Magdalena Grand! Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor of your recent vacation. Glad to see you have a great time and that you were able to truly relax. Let's not forget the wonderful mentions of clean and good quality rooms, great service with a smile, and... More 

Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We actually stayed in May 2013 to celebrate our engagement. The hotel upgraded us to a suite, which was HUGE and had a jacuzzi on the veranda. It was absolutely beautiful and we loved it. The whole hotel surrounds were impressive and the staff were friendly and helpful, we'd definitely recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
Thank LjFox1
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dearest LjFox1, WOW!!! What an impression we made on you both that after so many years you hold fond memories of the Magdalena Grand. We strongly believe that upon your future visit with us you will continue to NOT be disappointed. Staff are happy and friendly, service is great, rooms are wonderful. We welcome you on your next visit. Regards,... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2016 via mobile

Best customer service I've had ANYWHERE. The staff was always available & pleasant. The service was just as good as the scenery. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety to choose from so I was able to same something different everyday. The scenery speaks for itself but if you're looking for great service, this is the place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Stephon T
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear Stephon T, Warm greetings from the Magdalena Grand and Tobago! Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on Trip Advisor on your recent stay. Yes! I must agree on the food selection, room quality and service. It indicates what we are doing in staff training, and staff selection, has taken a giant positive leap. And... More 

delaware
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2016

Good room and very nice facility. Ants in the ground floor in my room. The facilities could use more activities. The restaurants were a little pricey maybe overpriced. Staff was general nice and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank TaiDelaware
Christopher F, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review

Dear TaiDelaware, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here at the Magdalena Grand. I am saddened that we could not have made your stay "Spectacular", but did make it good-to-great in the room quality, food and staff. I assure you we are working on providing more activities for all to participate. Many... More 

1,250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1017)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (209)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (241)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (348)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Beach (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Oceanfront Room (71)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lowlands
7.6 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
6.0 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
226 reviews
7.1 km away
Coco Reef Tobago
Coco Reef Tobago
#1 of 3 in Crown Point
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Black Rock
412 reviews
7.4 km away
Turtle Beach by Rex Resorts
6.1 km away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Price Range: $271 - $923 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for something closer to the main building unless you enjoy walking .....”
 of 5 bubbles J007r, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the AC works in your room!”
  • you see the brown stains everytime you walk into bathroom
  • MOre scum on rubber shower seal
  • Wet slimy scum at bottom of door
 of 5 bubbles demarisb2013, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some of the rooms are a fair distance from the hotel so if walking is an issue, request one close.”
 of 5 bubbles jb0661, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think they all have sea views”
 of 5 bubbles davideR2662BJ, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seem to be sea-facing. Ensure aircon units are working BEFORE entering assigned room!”
 of 5 bubbles lengualynda, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay