We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dream of Zanzibar

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dream of Zanzibar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 530: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently staying at Dream of Zanzibar and have tried to organise a babysitter on two separate occasions - both of which have been a complete disaster. Yesterday around 3pm, we organised a baby sitter from 7.30am to approximately 3pm todat as we were planning on going diving. We were told to make sure we were on time. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Michael F, Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for choosing the Emerald Dream of Zanzibar and for reaching out to us with your concerns through TripAdvisor. As per our conversation we apologize for the incident as we explained to you the hotel have the full babysitting service and what happened is exceptional and not our standard of service therefore we are offering the service...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Four friends and I went on this island getaway. The service from every staff member we encountered were par excellence. They were extremely friendly and efficient. Every request was attended to expeditiously. The Food and Beverage managers (Shams and Mr R) were incomparable. They had acceded to our request for our favourite dishes on our last night. Shams actually opened...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine, We would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your review on Trip advisor. It is with great pleasure to know that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for highlighting our great recreation facilities, excellent location, and colleagues’ exemplary hospitality and customer service. Your feedback has been shared with the team...

Tongaat, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful resort and very friendly staff. Overall a memorable and enjoyable stay. The entertainment on all the themed nights were amazing. If any criticism, it would be that the reception and hpusekeeping staff would be better equipped for attention to detail and turnaround time for requests from guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yugen P
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Yugen, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your wonderful feedback on this platform. We are glad to know we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your flattering comments on our location, colleagues’ hospitality and customer service,and recreation facilities. Moreover, we regret to know that you were...

Durban
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dream of Zanzibar is a dream taking care of all your needs. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a vowel renewal for the grandparents the resort went out of there way to make this wonderful and so special.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z7718TEsusans
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable feedback on this platform. We are delighted to know we were able to exceed your expectations which you have highlighted for our amazing service. Meanwhile, it will be our pleasure welcoming you back in dream for another memorable stay with us. Yours sincerely, Sudeep Billava Front Office Manager

Randburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I just missed the honeymoon special, but they upgraded our room to a sea view and we had a bottle of champagne on arrival. The service on the beach, at the bar and in the resturants was outstanding! The choice and quality of food and drinks were great! Usually when catering for so many people, the quality...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Claire, It has been a pleasure hosting you at Dream Of Zanzibar and thank you for your wonderful feedback about our facilities and excellent colleagues’ hospitality. Your positive comments will surely motivate us to continually deliver the highest level of service and facilities to our valued guests. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we can’t wait to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our third time at Dream of Zanzibar and for good reason. I come from Scotland, live in Malawi and have traveled all over the world and why do we keep coming back to Dream of Zanzibar? The standard of service is brilliant, the quality of food and beverage is fantastic, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stephen F
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for your continued patronage of Dream Of Zanzibar and we are delighted to know that we have once more exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for your compliments on our facilities, food and colleagues’ hospitality. Your feedback will surely serve as an inspiration for us to continue to strive for excellence. I am sure my...

Pretoria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were spoilt by the hotel on our wedding anniversary. We felt so special. Nothing is too much trouble. Management and staff were fantastic. A great hotel and highly recommended. A relaxing break. Would go back tomorrow

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anniewilke
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Anniewilke, Thank you for staying at Dream Of Zanzibar and for taking the time to write your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you had a perfect stay with us and glad you appreciated our colleagues’ exemplary hospitality and customer service. Your compliment has been shared with the team and I am sure they are...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel looks nice, but then when you go to the accomodations look like a housing estate. the room we got was near a inner pool which was very nice. but the bathroom was extreamly dierty mold all over the batheroom had to call housekeeping who rubbed the walles down with viniger/ the curtains did not hang properly and looked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BMW1810
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the Dream Of Zanzibar team, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced whilst staying with us and for not being able to make your family getaway a memorable occasion. Please rest assured that the points you have highlighted have been investigated fully and corrective actions will be implemented to ensure...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The resort is along the beautiful pwani mchangani beach,with all the facilities it has you would expect it to cover a large ground but that's not the case. The resort offers most of the cuisines from African,Asian,Italian and they even have a Sheesha lounge!!. The staff are amazing,very friendly and always there when you need help. The rooms are quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Outdoorlover63
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for staying at Dream Of Zanzibar and sharing with us your wonderful review. I am pleased to know we were able to provide you an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for positively highlighting our beach facilities, rooms, and colleagues’ hospitality and customer service. At Dream, we always aim to provide...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Be forewarned! The food at this resort is not good! We were hugely disappointed as good food is a big part of an all-inclusive. The exclusive restaurant (Blue Vanilla) on the property (that you have to pay extra for) has the WORST of all the food. My daughter's cream fusilli pasta was not thoroughly cooked. Ribeye & Ostrich steaks were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank gloriairanipatterson
Sudeep_Billava, Front Office Manager at Dream of Zanzibar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of the Dream Of Zanzibar team, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced whilst staying with us and for not being able to make your family getaway a memorable occasion. Please rest assured that the points you have highlighted have been investigated fully and corrective actions will be implemented to ensure...

2,604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1969)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (580)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (253)
Viewed
Dining (115)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
View from Room (55)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (741)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (544)
Viewed
Amenities (54)
Viewed
Beach (37)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Garden Pool (7)
Viewed
Junior Suite (87)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Spa Pool and Jacuzzi (11)
Viewed
Suite with Private Pool (117)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahonda
1.6 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,478 reviews
23.1 km away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.3 km away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
21.6 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
450 reviews
22.8 km away
Hideaway of Nungwi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dream of Zanzibar is a superb 5 star all inclusive Resort, proud member of The Emerald Collection. The Resort is nestled in the midst of exotic gardens on the beach front at Pwani Machangani overlooking the turquoise water of the Indian Ocean. Dream of Zanzibar offers 104 deluxe gardens rooms, 40 ocean view junior suites, 10 additional junior suites with Jacuzzi and 3 beach villas with private pool. The 5 Restaurants offer guests an exceptional variety of dining options and 3 bars feature relaxing environments to enjoy refreshing drinks and cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dream of Zanzibar

Address: Kiwengwa, Mahonda, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Mahonda
Price Range: $253 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream of Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dream of Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Dream Of Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Dream Of Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Mahonda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dream of Zanzibar staff and other travellers.
170 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (170)

Questions? Get answers from Dream of Zanzibar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not so much a room tip but a suggestion that they install ceiling fans in dining areas”
X2937NWlynns, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for more/new/different pillows. The second set were much better”
dgpb, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms have air-conditioning, some with good views out to sea...”
  • Very clean and comfortable room with airco
  • Beach - South view
  • Beach - North view
Pramil, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“None to comment.”
lorrainet647, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As a 5star resort, more effort should be put into the comfort of the beds and pillows. After all a relaxing sleep is needed on holiday.”
yugenp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5