We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Pointe Thalemont Mansarde Rance, Le Francois 97240 Martinique
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (248)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (236)

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Le Francois
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The main house and the 5 villas scattered in the 8000m2 park include 16 rooms and suites, with new design furniture and luxury bedding. Each has its own universe: the Guest Rooms offer a view of the bay while the Master Pool, Garden suites and Duplex suites are all equipped with private pools. The large swimming pool has been completely refurbished: it's stunning! The stone-paved terrace and the new massage gazebo welcome modern and confortable deckchairs. Three months of total renovation and here is the hotel decorated in its most beautiful finery. From furniture to decoration, including frontages and the garden, everything has been rethought for more confort and a sensible upgrade.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French
273Reviews5Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 122
  • 96
  • 39
  • 11
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Karsten K wrote a review Mar. 2019
Mainz, Germany1,316 contributions83 helpful votes
+1
Wonderful hotel with open, beautifully designed public areas. Breakfast is served inside and outside. The pool is OK. The room in a small cabin was nice, well-designed. There was a view of the bay from the room. Only downside was the somewhat small shower that wetted the toilet and exit to the room. Road access is confusing and GPSs may misguide. The last couple 100 metres are pretty rough but can be done carefully with any rental car. Just go really slowly around the potholes. What you get is a quiet location. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
2016Kenny wrote a review Mar. 2019
Ashland, Ohio42 contributions14 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed in one of the garden view rooms with a small private pool. The room was very nice and had a very large covered veranda with a kitchenette with everything you would need to fix a meal. There was a small room next to the pool with a second bed, shower, and toilet. Breakfast was very good with a large variety of fruits, pastries, and cooked eggs, all served at your table. We had a choice of two fixed menus each night, both of which were very good if you like deluxe French style cooking, and of course a bit on the expensive side. The hospitality and service of the manager and his staff could not have been better. We got lost coming in at night and did not arrive until 10 PM, after the kitchen was closed, but they still prepared a meal for us. The only downside to Hotel Plein Soleil is the rough and twisted road getting there. Postal addresses on Martinique rarely work on Google maps, or the GPS in our car. We discovered that if you enter the town near your destination and then expand the map the hotels, restaurants, and other attractions usually appear. Le Francois was well situated for us to visit things in the middle and southern parts of Martinique, and we found the roads good for a Caribbean island.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
alwaysready1981 wrote a review Feb. 2019
Auburn, New York18 contributions9 helpful votes
We made reservations well in advance, and were advised, and sent photos, of the room we paid for. That was NOT the room we received, but no complaint, as the room given us, without explanation, was somewhat similar, and clean. On arrival, though, finding the place was a trip in itself! Firstly, as the hotel is about a half hour from the airport, I had sent FOUR (4) e-mails, and telephoned twice to obtain accurate directions to the hotel. I never received the courtesy of a single response from the hotel, so we decided our only option was Google Map. Don't do that! Even Google doesn't know how to find this place! It took us over one and a half hours wandering that part of the island before finally finding a sign for the hotel. This was well after dark, on narrow, winding roads, and the signs are all BLACK...great for night-time vision! After finally turning onto the correct road way to the hotel, the fun really starts. Others have commented about the treacherous roadway, but it can't be appreciated in written form! Imagine driving off the main road, onto a rutted, partially broken concrete, rock and dirt, twisting, one lane roadway, for about a kilometer. That road then ends at the edge of a banana plantation...and becomes really bad! From there on, for about another kilometer, it's similar to driving over a recently plowed corn field, except there are deeper holes and ruts! It's at that point, you begin feeling sorry for the car rental company. When you arrive at the hotel, it just takes a few minutes for your major internal organs to fall back into their proper places (hopefully), and you have a chance to appreciate the hotel. Unfortunately, you also realize it will be necessary to traverse these roads, to leave the hotel for any reason. The hotel is situated overlooking a small bay, and most rooms have an attractive view, and are clean. After looking at issues provided in other reviews, though, it appears the management (is there really management? We certainly never saw a "manager") isn't interested in taking care if issues brought out, but, instead, responding with excuses and platitudes. The breakfast is very nice, with plenty of fresh fruits, pastries, and made to order egg dishes. Dinner....well prepared, but a choice of only two items each evening...and not inexpensive. If you want something different, of course, close your eyes, hum your mantra, and head out in the dark, along one of the worst roads in all Christendom. But...just think of it as a challenge. Need wi-fi, for personal or business uses, as I did? In spite of allusions in the advertisements, that wi-if is available in the rooms, that is an "illusion". It's not. You are able to walk to the hotel lobby and wi-fi does trickle to your computer, if you're patient. If you have already booked the hotel, though, don't despair. It is well tended, and clean, with attractive gardens, and ample outdoor lounging areas by each room, for sunning, or watching the vistas. Also, contrary to some other reviews, we found the people working there to be very helpful and friendly...particularly Michel and Robin, and would love to see them again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Karen T wrote a review Jan. 2019
4 contributions
We just stayed there for a week and we had a wonderful stay. Beautiful location and decor as well as an accommodating & pleasant staff. The Breakfast was amazing. Full Breakfast w good coffee and nice selection of Fruits/Yogurt/pastries and eggs. We liked the dinner but the breakfast really shines. Dinner is somewhat limited and fairly expensive. I would explore other restaurants as the food in Martinique is excellent. Would also be nice if they had snacks and lunch/lighter menu since it is pretty secluded there and not easy to get a snack. We had one of the smaller rooms without a private pool but we still loved our room. The pool that is for all is quite nice and a gorgeous view. Only negative about room was bathroom was constantly soaked from open shower. It a design flaw and should be fixed. Had a great trip and will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIEGUINEE, Directrice at Hotel Plein Soleil
Responded Jan. 10, 2019
Dear Karen, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your stay at the hotel. It is a real pleasure to read you. I am delighted that the stay was up to your expectations. Thank you for having noted the quality of the restoration. For the bathroom, I recommend for a next stay a higher category. You will enjoy it. Hope to see you soon, Regards,
Read more
Karl S wrote a review Dec. 2018
Washington DC, District of Columbia28 contributions26 helpful votes
Stayed in a Garden Suite, which is huge and located at the bottom of the hill near the shared pool and is very private. Main difference from Master Pool seems to be the larger bedroom and bathroom and deck area, and view is of the hillsides instead of the water. The private pools are what really make this place stand out from other hotels -- no swimsuit necessary. Food in the restaurant is superb, especially for dinner. Breakfasts consist of cooked to order scrambled or fried eggs plus fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, etc. The road is long, twisty, steep, very narrow in sections, muddy over the last stretch, and a challenge to navigate the turns, especially in the dark. There are small white signs that are easy to miss, but look for them and ignore Google Maps after turning off the main road! You will dread every time you have to drive to/from the resort, so this place is best for guests who want to stay in and have most meals on property rather than exploring the island. I do recommend at least one trip to Grand Anse beach, however, especially if you scuba dive. It is about one hour drive from the hotel. Diamond Beach was less impressive -- I would skip it. The staff are wonderful, but most speak very little English, so it can be challenging. Only real complaints are the terrible road, the lack of any wifi in the room (and painfully slow in the main lodge), and the mosquitos at dinner (bring repellant) -- our ankles were covered with itchy bites after the first dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MARIEGUINEE, Directrice at Hotel Plein Soleil
Responded Jan. 10, 2019
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at the Plein Soleil hotel. Delighted that you enjoyed the stay. Hope to see you soon,
Read more
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$136 - US$348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanMartiniqueArrondissement of Le MarinLe Francois
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Plein Soleil
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Plein Soleil?
Nearby attractions include Fonds Blancs (5.5 km), La Baignoire de Josephine (3.0 km), and Habitation Clement (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Plein Soleil?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Plein Soleil?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Plein Soleil?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Plein Soleil?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fruity Boules, L'Ifruimer, and La Ferme des Orchidees au Francois.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Plein Soleil?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Plein Soleil?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Plein Soleil?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Habitation Clement (4.8 km).
Does Hotel Plein Soleil have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Plein Soleil accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.