We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Valley

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Valley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Valley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Lancashire
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stopped in The Stables for a week. The accommodation was great, with lots of room and everything we needed we couldn't fault it. The location is good too, we travelled about Cornwall during the week and the central location is good. The food was good at the cafe Azur and the swimming pools were both great. We used the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EthelLancashire
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Valley. The cottages are all designed to be spacious home from homes and it sounds like they were just what you needed to help you enjoy your Cornish holiday. The central location does make it very easy to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

There are lots of good things about the Valley. The cottages are really nicely furnished, spotlessly clean and very quiet, and the beds are really comfortable. Not much room for improvement here. Serious cooks might want to bring a cook's knife and a bigger pan for pasta, but the kitchen is otherwise good too. Staff are friendly and helpful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin Z
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Martin Many thanks for the review you have posted here. We are glad you appreciated the positives and would like to reassure you that we are working on improving the WiFi on a constant basis! Unfortunately our location, the topography of the site and constant reluctance of BT Openreach to help mean that it is certainly a challenge but...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Sorry for the 3 star review as The Valley tries really hard to be 5 star. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, it's very clean and looks picture perfect. The outside play area is nice and parking is easy/good. It feels very safe and its quiet. Maybe if I hadn't stayed in better places in Cornwall (for the same...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andy B
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for posting a review although we would have preferred that you had spoken to us whilst you were staying. We like to receive feedback but we like to have the opportunity to put it right at the time and not just to hear about things after the event via tripadvisor. It would have been good to...

uk
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We stayed in cottage 40 which was clean, modern and had everything we needed for a fun and relaxing holiday. The site was well layed out and felt very safe and secure, both pools were well kept and great for young kids. The staff at reception were all really helpful and the site was well located and loads of attractions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richhell
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Richard Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. Cafe Azur is being run by a new team this year and they are constantly improving; your comment about the need for lighter and more healthy options is very valid and we will pass it on but I am glad that Nikki looked after you so...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed in Cottage 8, which had a lovely view from the kitchen across the valley and a nice, secluded garden off the living room. The cottage is extremely well equipped, all the beds were comfy, lots of bathrooms: a family bathroom, an ensuite and a guest loo. The location is great as well, so well placed between Truro and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PearlOfTheGlebe
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at The Valley. You're right about the number of bathrooms. Nearly all the cottages have almost as many loos as guests so no queues are ever necessary! The Devoran Inn is a great place to walk to along the old coast...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We stayed for 2 weeks in one of the two-bedroom split-level villas (No.11). The villa was well-equipped, very clean and spacious, in ine with my expectations for the price we paid. The Valley complex is well-maintained and had a good variety of leisure facilities to keep my family occupied while we were on site. The on-site restaurant was good, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy417
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. The hill from Cottage 11 to the facilities is quite steep which is great for the views but it is definitely a relief that its very short! We always tell guests that its 30 seconds to...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The accommodation is great. Standards are high, a clean well equipped property with everything we needed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It was easy to get a paper delivered each day - a nice touch! Mobile reception on EE is very poor in this area and the free WiFi is useful but not quick enough for streaming. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PWLegend
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Cleanliness is high on our list of priorities so good that you could see it! Hopefully we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back to The Valley soon With best wishes Julie

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We booked for a 4 nights with 2 boys aged 16 and 12 but ended up staying 6, accommodation was superb had everything there, lots of room and decent size bedrooms. We would definitely go back the evenings were a bit quiet but a great base to visit the local area. The swimming pool was cold, but the indoor one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeyseyEngland
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review. You are right, The Valley is perfectly located to visit most of Cornwall very easily. The outdoor pool is often at a slightly lower temperature than the indoor pool, due mainly to the amount of heat it loses when the sun isn't shining! However, it is heated so...

Southampton
Reviewed 6 July 2016

We booked The Valley on the recommendation of a work colleague of mine, staying for a week in June in one of the two bed dwellings. When we arrived we found our house easily and it was well-appointed and comfortable, with a nice open plan living and dining area. The bedrooms were a reasonable size but the king size bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SweetPeasSouthampton
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback; disappointed to see that you only rated The Valley as 3 stars but we, nevertheless, appreciate the comments. The master bedroom beds are 6' Super King Emperor size Millbrook hand crafted luxury pocket sprung beds and usually receive rave reviews. They are zip and link, as is fairly common with 6' beds, but we do...

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

4th time we've been and its still great. The cottages are very well specced and immaculately clean. The facilities are all well maintained and we spent quite a lot of time in the on-site pool or at Cafe Azur, which I think had improved since our last stay. Just loads to do within 20 mins drive, beaches NT property etc..Looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
Julie H, Owner at The Valley, responded to this review

Dear Daniel Thanks for your review; great to see that you enjoyed it again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit! Julie PS Don't forget, after your 10th visit you get a free short break!

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnon Downs
27.6 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
1,076 reviews
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
677 reviews
23.0 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
7.4 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 25 in Falmouth
1,001 reviews
8.8 km away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#14 of 25 in Falmouth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Valley is an exclusive collection of 5 star luxury cottages set within a scenic valley in the heart of Cornwall. Enjoy indoor and outdoor pools, tennis, squash and contemporary bar and restaurant, all within the security of a 13 acre gated environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Valley

Address: Bissoe Road, Carnon Downs, Truro TR3 6LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro > Carnon Downs
Price Range: $234 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valley Hotel Carnon Downs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Valley staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a house with good wifi”
 of 5 bubbles Vicspires, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Gallery cottage for balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 508danielw, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We always stay in cottage 28. Great layout, patio at the front and large lawn at the side for cricket and badminton”
 of 5 bubbles Jcarpent, 29 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We stayed at no. 40, very secluded with no passing through traffic (so no speak) at the end of the site with plenty of parking and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles MoonE22, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The Croft is the best for families of more than 4.”
 of 5 bubbles jackn_uk, 16 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5