We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grande Denali Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grande Denali Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

704 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grande Denali Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

We were excited to visit Denali National Park from our home in Anchorage, After recently moving here, We decided on the Grande Denali for our stay while visiting the park. On the booking phone call, my wife requested the best room and view on the property and we were told we were upgraded. Upon arrival and while checking in we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank James H
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear James H, as the Director of Sales I am very very sorry for what happened during your stay. Did you pay for an upgrade to a view room when your reservation was made? We do have rooms on the view side that we consider partial views and it seems that may have been the option you were given. Did...

Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We had a great time here -views and location beat all others. The had great staff. bk was fine. Shuttle into the small town was great. room had a wonderful view of the valley. The staff gave us helpful hints. I would recommend it. Denali Bluffs was a sister hotel just below the grand it was ok but go to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irish451006
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Irish451006, Thanks so much for staying with us. We do have a beautiful view and thanks for complimenting our staff as well. Come stay with us again! Dee Dee

Reviewed 11 September 2015

Grande Denali Lodge has it all! We had a breath taking view of mountains and the river from our balcony. The room was clean, large and nicely decorated. The on property restaurant was perfect for those of us traveling with mobility issues and the free shuttle service or walking path made downtown amenities easily accessible. Definitely the right choice!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sue M, thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your room. Our restaurant and lobby area is GREAT and I am so pleased that you dined with us. Come back and visit again! Dee Dee

Davidson, North Carolina
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We arrived after a long bus ride but were greeted enthusiastically by staff. The driveway up to the lodge has many switchbacks that some may not like. We were given a rustic cabin down a steep hill that was very quiet but a hassle getting to and from. Room was ok but nothing special for the price. Staff very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RetiredGigi365
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RetiredGigi365, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you found our staff enthusiastic, our shuttle drivers helpful and our views wonderful. Our cabins are our most expensive rooms because of the wonderful decks and sitting areas that our other rooms don't have. I am sorry that it didn't fit your needs. Dee Dee

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

The rooms are extremely clean and well maintained. They have both AC and heating in rooms. Small fridge is also in room. Views are the best. You can request them to give you a call if you are interested in northern lights. Few miles from the Denali national park. You can also reserve tickets for park at check in counter....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shefpat
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear shefpat, thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am happy that you were able to book your tour into the park at our Impressionist Desk. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Alaska and please come back! Dee Dee

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

We absolutely loved the Grande Denali. Our family of four stayed in two cabins separate from the main hotel. They were down a dirt road, tucked away from the main lodge, and built into the side of the mountain. The views were amazing and each cabin had a porch with a table and chairs. Each cabin also had a living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth2754
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth2754, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Our cabins are wonderful and perfect for families traveling together. The fall colors are spectacular now and the view from the decks of those cabins is amazing. I am pleased that you enjoyed dining in our bar area - my personal favorite on the menu is...

Enumclaw, Washington, United States
Reviewed 9 September 2015

The Grande provided many different adventures in the Denali community. Our room was amazing with a mini-balcony and a tremendous view of the surrounding mountain. The food in the restaurant was great for Breakfast and Dinner. (We were to busy seeking new adventures to have lunch there.) The front desk was excellent searching for lost luggage from the previous hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ben B, thanks for having a Grande Time and for complimenting our staff. We try hard to hire the best and to make sure they have the tools to do their job- more importantly they need to enjoy their job and it seems that Julia, Jeremy and Jessica made you feel "Grande"! I am pleased that you enjoyed dining...

Largo, Florida
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Rude staff. You are at their mercy if with a group for food. Rude staff. Our room view was great but husband slept on floor since bed was terrible. No refrigerator in room. Room size OK. Rustic but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedHot50
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RedHot50, I am so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us - did you speak with a manager before you left? You mentioned you had no refrigerator in your room. I am quite surprised by this as all our rooms do have refrigerators. You said your bed was not comfortable - did you ask for an air mattress...

Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

I just went to read the recent reviews prior to writing mine. We must have been very lucky because our room was excellent. I saw some complaints about the old tube TVs. I actually couldn't tell you what we had without looking at the pictures - I wasn't in Alaska to watch TV. We also booked this room a year...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolee B
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Carolee B, thank you for your review. I hope that you didn't get "lucky" but that you had the experience at our lodge that we want for every guest. A former manager once told me - 80% of the guests will have a wonderful time, it is "our" job to find that other 20% and make sure we do...

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

I have had the BEST possible stay because of SCOTT at the front desk and ROB setting up the restaurant for breakfast. Both fabulous staff of this hotel ensured that I had the AWESOME opportunity to witness the northern lights/Aurora Borealis in Alaska! Thank you very much!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BingoBubbaMommy
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful compliments to our staff. You lucky lady - I have missed the Northern Lights the past two nights!!!!! I am so pleased that you were able to stay with us and view them! Dee Dee ,

386 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (372)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (136)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (140)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKinley Village
0.2 km away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
484 reviews
1.0 km away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
972 reviews
13.3 km away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
607 reviews
10.3 km away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
334 reviews
20.1 km away
The Perch Resort
The Perch Resort
#5 of 6 in McKinley Village
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay above it all! Relaxation and adventure await you at the Grande Denali Lodge. Offering more than comfortable accommodations, you'll have a truly Alaskan experience! Proudly Alaska native owned and operated by Old Harbor Native Corporation, our lodge features an authentic design with log construction, vaulted ceilings and a warm stone fire place, spacious sleeping rooms with private baths, and the most breathtaking views in Denali.We offer a savory dining experience at Alpenglow Restaurant. Serving traditional Alaskan fare in a setting with up-paralleled views of the Denali Canyon. For an early morning pick-me-up visit Peak Espresso, known for it's specialty coffees and convenient gourmet grab-and-go food items as well as box lunches. Wind down your day of exploration by enjoying a signature cocktail perched on top of Sugar Loaf Mountain in Peak Spirits Lounge. A wide variety of optional tours are available in Denali National Park, and our Front Desk staff is available to answer question or make tour reservations on your behalf. Adventure is just steps away at the Grande Denali Lodge! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grande Denali Lodge

Address: 238 Parks Highway, McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > McKinley Village
Price Range: $329 - $596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Denali Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grande Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Denali Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Hotel Grande Denali
Grand Denali Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grande Denali Lodge staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough
puma1954 Wheaton, Illinois Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
2
Votes
Not as helpful

The lodge is not near the visitor' center. There is a free shuttle service that travels along the main road and stops near restaurants. I'd contact the lodge for more info - their help desk is great and they have lots of info and suggestions.

8 months ago
Schenectady
Tipsgogo Myrtle Beach, South Carolina Reviewed this property
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

We did not have a car either. As far as feeling trapped, they have a shuttle to take you around the property that runs every 15 minutes or so. It was an easy walk across the street to the little shops and eateries. Arrangements can be made for transportation to sites near by.

5 months ago
Surrey
Dee Dee O Anchorage Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Thanks for asking. We do provide complimentary transportation, although there is a charge for baggage handling as all the train bags come directly to our baggage truck to be delivered to your room. Depending on who you booked through, you should have already been charged this baggage fee. We meet the train at noon (southbound from Fairbanks) and at 3:40 (northbound from Anchorage), as well as the McKinley Express that arrives at 5pm. Looking forward to seeing you in Denali!

5 months ago
SE LA
ddkalaska Anchorage, Alaska Property representative
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Not as helpful

Thank you for your question - the road is very safe - no worries- it is a two way road and even large motorcoaches drive up and down the road. Hope to see you soon!

over a year ago
Madison, Wisconsin
ddkalaska Anchorage, Alaska Property representative
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Not as helpful

thanks for asking - correct, the cabins have one queen bed and then a queen sofa sleeper in the sitting area. The guest rooms have 2 queen beds or a single king bed. The cabins have a very nice sitting area and a little private deck off the back. Two of the cabins are very close to the main lobby - the other four are about 1/4 of a mile away but we do have little golf cart style vehicles to transport you. All the cabins are very peaceful and give a feeling of really being in the wilderness.

over a year ago

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Grande Denali Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pay extra for a room with a view.”
935cn, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you stay here, which I am not supporting, stay in a cabin, that has hot and cold water.”
772allenb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't expect to get your request.”
ELM48NC, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to get a view of the valley. Otherwise an expensive view of a parking lot.”
CapeCodTravler, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest G102. Loved it!”
Tipsgogo, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5