We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rethymnon Mare
See the most recent reviews
Showing 140: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Overall, this is a nice hotel. The staff are fantastic, really welcoming and helpful. Upon arriving, we weren't too happy with our room location (right next to the bar), so asked the manager if we could move. He offered us an alternative, with no fuss, and we were much happier. So that was an excellent start. Rooms are well sized,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James D
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear James D We highly appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip advisor website. We are very delighted to see that in general you enjoyed your stay here. It was a pleasure for us to welcome you and we hope that you had a smooth trip home. Hoping to have the opportunity to host you...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Have just returned from a week in the Rethymnon Mare. Weather was fantastic but unfortunately the Hotel we booked seemed to be a different one that we had read all the reviews about? My friend and I believed it to be a 4*, however it seemed just to be a 3 just!. After arriving very early hours after our late...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jayne b
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you for coming in Crete and for staying at Rethymno Mare Hotel. We hope that you had a nice trip home. We are really very sorry to see that you did not meet your personal expectations completely. Please accept our sincer apologies. Of course we are very delighted that you found the food delicious and fresh and...

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have just spent a terrific week at the Rethymno Mare all inclusive. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The Hermes restaurant was excellent and the food options were varied. The main pool was very relaxing and their private beach was a welcome change. We will definitely consider returning in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike P
Manolis T, Manager at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you so much for making Rethymno Mare the hotel of your choise and we hope that you had a pleasant trip home. We are delighted to read that you are looking forward to visit us again in the future. For us it will be a pleasure to welcome you again and do not hesitate to contact us...

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Aug 2013 I have just returned from Crete and i would definitely recommend this hotel. The room was clean and spacious cleaned daily. Pool great with plenty of sun beds. Lots of steps at the hotel but you could use a lift. All inclusive was great as you could get food and drink up until 11.00pm. If there was one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barnesy2013
Manolis T, Manager at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear guests we would like to express our gratitude for your visit at our Rethymno Mare Hotel and for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We hope that you had a smooth trip home. We are delighted to read that in genelal you enjoyed your stay.We are certainly sorry to see that you were not satisfied with our evening entertainment. .Please...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Everybody in the staff was always very service minded and they changed the fiod at the foodcourt all the time so you never felt like there was yesterday's meal The room was big and the cleaning was superb. Every room got a seaview

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Uwishitwasu
Manolis T, Manager at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you very much for coming to Rethymno and for staying in Rethymno Mare hotel. We highly appreciate your kind feedback and we are delighted to read,that you really enjoyed your stay and that you liked the food and the service in the hotel. For us it was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward...

Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Booked this holiday through Olympic Holidays. After a last minute flight change by the tour operator we arrived late at night (no food left out for us sadly) and our holiday began. At first we weren't very impressed especially after reading many reviews about food being left in your room no matter how late you arrived. So sadly the first...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alsoknownasmum
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear guests Thank you for choosing Crete and Rethymno Mare Hotel for your vacation. We hope that you had a pleasant trip home. We are pleased to read that in general you enjoyed your stay.We are certainly sorry to read that you went in your room tired and hungry.It is inconsistent with the Cretan hospitality. We always keep meals till...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Thank you to everyone at the Mare for one of the best holidays we have enjoyed as a family. The food was really good and I found plenty to eat which sometimes is difficult as I cannot eat gluten. The animation team were fantastic, there were only 4 of them but they really made our holiday. Leo with his stretching/yoga/aquagym...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Lyn045
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for coming to Crete and in Rethymno Mare Hotel. We hope that that you had a pleasant trip home. We are very happy to read that you and especially your children really enjoyed your holiday and that you are looking forward coming next year again. Thank you very much for making Rethymno Mare the hotel of...

Oulu, Finland
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were in July 2013 in this hotel. Everything was working so good. Our friends asked different room with different view and it was done. Staff in restaurants, reception, cleaning, programming and every person there was so nice and helpful. It felt like home almost. :) I would like to go there again. Hotel area is really large and if...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sarppaliini
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review

Dear Sarppalini Thank you for coming to Rethymno and in Rethymno Mare Hotel. We hope that you had a smooth trip home . We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here and we highly appreciate for sharing your thoughts with other travels. For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward...

Elland
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Having just arrived home from a fantastic stay at Rethymno mare hotel, I have to say that this I highly recommended by us. We arrived in early hours to be greeted by a friendly reception man, who took our luggage, and booked us in speedily, then offered a light meal and refreshments which we're freshly prepared. The complex is built...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank glennwoody48
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was the perfect honeymoon for us. The staff and people were absolutely perfect, so hospitable and really friendly and ensured we we're going to had a great time. Giannis greeted us in the early hours of Wednesday morning and although the hotel was locked up he got us food and wine and then carried our suit cases to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Modra-Mora

587 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (317)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (49)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Delux Double Room with Sea View (28)
Viewed
Family Room with Sea View (34)
Viewed
Family Room with Sharing Pool (36)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
12.9 km away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
6.5 km away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
1,919 reviews
12.3 km away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Skaleta
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#16 of 168 in Rethymnon
559 reviews
1.2 km away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#10 of 168 in Rethymnon
981 reviews
0.3 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 168 in Rethymnon
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Price Range: $120 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rethymnon Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rethymnon Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymnon Mare Hotel
Mare Hotel Rethymnon
Rethymnon Hotel Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture - Skaleta
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rethymnon Mare staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rethymnon Mare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a room from the upper floor (5-7), seaview if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Tee11u, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had room in the ground floor....and I loved it”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Balcony facing the sea (North-west).”
 of 5 bubbles _J1174AP, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There´s a lot of stairs, if you have some mobilityproblems ask for rooms near the reception.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you have mobility problems, you would be better at the front, nearer to Reception.”
  • sunset view from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles littlefire_7, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay