We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Undara Experience

Traveller (405)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (49)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
UNDARA EXPERIENCE – AUSTRALIA’S ACCESSIBLE OUTBACK! Only 3½ hours drive from Cairns & 4 hours from Townsville in Tropical North Queensland, Undara is easily accessed via the Savannah Way by conventional vehicle and sits right on the edge of the Undara Volcanic National Park. The Undara Lava Tubes are a world class natural geological phenomenon. Huge tubes formed approximately 190,000 years ago; molten lava drained out under a thick cooler crust, leaving a series of long, hollow tubes. Today, Undara’s highly trained Savannah Guides conduct small group tours from the resort into the lava tubes where visitors marvel at this incredible geological wonder. Winner of “Unique Accommodation” at the Australian Tourism Awards, Undara Experience offers a variety of accommodation options from restored turn-of-the-century railway carriages to beautifully appointed Pioneers Huts. Budget options include the Swags Tent Village. Shady camping and powered sites are available. Bookings Essential
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Contact
Savannah Way, Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland 4870 Australia
Getting there
Cairns Airport193 km
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
450Reviews
416Photos
6Q+A
87Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 218
  • 161
  • 47
  • 17
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Along with the Cobbold Gorge the Undara Lava Tubes are a unique Aussie experience as part of the fantastic Savanlander heritage train trip. Stairs descend from the open bush savaner into a collapsed lava tube roof, to a mini rainforest. The lava tubes are a short part of one of
Read more
+16
It may depend on the type of accommodation you choose in this lodge. Actually there is a good variety of accommodation types from tents to the historic railway carriage rooms. We had car 7 Kalkani. 2.5 m wide and 7 meters long . Bathroom 2,5 m x 1 m. The queen bed is 2 m x 1.6
Read more
I had no idea what to expect, but we loved it. It was the end of the season, so staff were short, but they work so hard! They are all really friendly and so knowledgeable! The sunset tour is great, an abundance of wildlife to see, wine and crackers (cheese if you can eat it)
Read more
+1
We did book a 'Swag tent', sunset tour, bush breakfast and each another lava tube tour (they changed it without notice to both the standard tour) on the website. We payed locally. The tent not very large; two beds, some room between and just enough space for the suitcases. We
Read more
I took a room in the railway carriages. There is no air con (a small issue when temperatures are in the high 30s), but I still got good sleep overnight and otherwise it was all I could ask for. I've found the tours led from here into the park to be guided by experienced people
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Our Room
Amazing sunsets too
Kangaroos walking by our room
platform
7
PreviousNext
12345614
G'day Denice, Thanks for making Undara a part of your upcoming holiday. You'll be pleased to know that the road from the Savannah Way into Undara, (which is 15 kilometres) is completely sealed all the way. You won't have any problems in your campervan. We look forward to seeing you. Please drive carefully HAVE A GREAT DAY! Bram Collins
0 votes
G'day Georgie, Sorry for not responding sooner. Unfortunately, due to Undara Experience being on the edge of the Undara Volcanic National Park we don't accept any domestic pets. However, our friendly neighbors at Mount Surprise (45 mins west of us) have plenty of options for accommodation and camping and I believe do accept pets. To name them - Bedrock Village Caravan Park, Planet Earth Adventures, Mt Surprise Caravan Park and also there is accommodation at the Mt Surprise Hotel. I hope this helps and that you have a lovely holiday with your family :-) Have a great day! Bram Collins
1 vote
G'day Barbara, Thanks for your inquiry. Great to hear from you! Yes it can be done but it will be a MASSIVE day for you & I don't recommend it. It's 275 kilometers or 3.5 hours driving time ONE WAY! If you left Cairns at 6am (& didn't stop) you should be there by 9.30am. The next tour after your arrival leaves at 10.30am and gets back at 12.30pm. If you left at 3pm you should get back to Cairns by 6.30pm. Please be aware that animals on Outback roads are most active early in the morning & late in the afternoon so this will need to be considered. By doing this experience this way you miss enjoying the myriad of gorgeous attractions on the Atherton Tablelands plus things at Undara like the Wildlife at Sunset tour, overnighting in a turn of the century railway carriage & Bush Breakfast! If you had the time to do it over 2 days it would be a far better experience I promise you! NB Make sure you book your lava tube tour before you leave Cairns as the tours regularly gets booked out! Thanks for your inquiry & Have a Great Day!
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"There are some lodge rooms with air con if you need that"
"Book early for tours as they tend to book out quickly."
"Make sure you book in advance to have a double room instead of twin."
"The train carriages have a lounge. if you only need a bed, shower and bathroom, ask for the small carriage which was very adequate."
"take food to cook on their bbq as there is nowhere to buy food."
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandUndara Volcanic National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing