We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

930 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 865: English reviews
Carrieres-sous-Poissy, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In many ways, I am perhaps being unfair with this review as many of the staff are attentive and courteous especially at the reception. However, good service and lots of extra facilities like swimming pool and games rooms are wasted if the basic criteria of a hotel are not met - good sleeping environment, low noise levels and cleanliness. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewST16
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AndrewST16 Thank you for review & positive comments about the team which are appreciated & have been carefully noted. I will certainly follow-up on your other points mentioned including the decoration which is ongoing, but now in full swing following the festive period. Yours sincerely, Dominic

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was an overnight stop over on our way to France. We had a problem at check in and the girl wasnt even remotly helpful, just a " you will have to speak with your travel agency" well thanks Mercure! Room was tired and old, staff miserable, menu left in the room didn't mean anything because as we went to order...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank terencet2017
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear terencet2017 Thank you for your review & comments which have all been carefully noted. I am sorry that there was an issue with your booking & that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. It is unusual for the team to be anything less than helpful & friendly, we did run a limited room service menu just...

Bedfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Firstly the reason for visiting this hotel again was because we had a fantastic "New Year" here 3 years ago. I traveled with two other couples, Upon arrival We were not informed that the rooms allocated weren't the Lake View rooms I had requested when booking in September, the rooms we had were very small twin room made up into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 123Kazb
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 123Kazb Thank you for your review & comments which have all been carefully noted. I am pleased you enjoyed the NYE Gala event overall. The Carnival girls were with us via an agency & were popular throughout the party season. We did lose a heating circulation pump during that week which has since been replaced & I apologise for...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from the most awful afternoon tea I've experienced. (and I have had many) We were in and out within 45 mins and felt extremely let down. Our plan was to spend the afternoon drinking tea and enjoying our surroundings! Think again.. The first lot of food that was brought out we had to send back. The cakes were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurabella1983
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear laurabella1983 Thank you for your review following your afternoon tea with us. We serve many afternoon teas throughout the year & have carefully laid down standards to ensure we exceed expectations, but it seems we did not follow these on this occasion. I am trying to associate your name with some of the bookings & note that we had...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room far to small and very dated for a 3 night stay. Not impressed with food self service except for Christmas lunch which was not that good either. Drinks too expensive. Not enough seating in the lounge for Christmas & Boxing Day had spent most of the time in room as no where to sit, would have been better staying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barbarawooding
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear barbarawooding Thank you for your review & feedback following your 3 night stay with us. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion & we have carefully noted your comments. There are 2 lounge areas together with the bar & generally plenty of space for most guests. The Brasserie ran a hot &...

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I write many reviews on Tripadvisor and always try to be fair in my comments, showing positives as well as negatives and I hope any negative comment I may make is taken as constructive. My partner and I have just returned from a Christmas break at this hotel travelling as a part of a coach group of over 55s, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelagh t
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear shelagh Thank you for all your comments which have been carefully noted. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We genuinely care about the food and service we offer. We have a large team and prepare fresh vegetables throughout the season including roast potatoes cooked with garlic & thyme, parsnips roasted with...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is fairly typical for a Mercure, although the layout of the bar/dining room could do with some improvement; it was actually quite difficult to get around at some points. The room was good and the bed comfortable. Dinner was perfecly good, but the choice was pretty limited. The big disappointment for us was the breakfast. The French bread and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GastonSorbet
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GastonSorbet Thank you for your review & comments. I am pleased you found the room and bed comfortable and enjoyed the dinner with us. I will share your comments with the head chef as we do try to present all the food at its best, including the bread & pastry selection. We serve Douwe Egberts coffee at breakfast, which...

Canvey, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As part of a large group with a travel company I expected to be treated less favourably. But, was very pleasantly surprised that there was no difference at all. Staff, particularly in restaurant were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. Brian, who took 2 Quizzes, was funny and charming. Rooms were clean and comfortable, if a little lacking on drawer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy Thank you very much for your review & all your positive comments which I will be pleased to share with all the team, Omar & of course Brian. We try to give everyone the same big welcome & great service & hope to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes for 2017 from Dominic & the team

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is clean and tidy. The bed is really comfortable and the staff are really pleasant. What more could you ask for? Oh yes nice grounds outside and next door to Leeds Castle. The Christmas package was fine with out too much fuss.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy K
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy Thank you very much for your lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your Christmas with us & really hope to see you back again in 2017. Best wishes from Dominic & the team

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was booked for a treat for myself and a friend visiting from Australia - I booked with a wowcher voucher but booked direct through the hotel - I booked a twin room we got a double - we tried to change it but the hotel was fully booked. I had to ask how I could be compensated this was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitasearby

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (107)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
24.6 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
2.2 km away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.8 km away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,006 reviews
0.8 km away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
155 reviews
8.7 km away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#4 of 15 in Maidstone
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Price Range: $82 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 month ago
London, United Kingdom
3 days ago
Bexley, United Kingdom
28 days ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Premier room”
 of 5 bubbles 123Kazb, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I can't really comment here as the rooms are so spread about over the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles shelaght_12, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask if any quiet rooms are available away from social events .”
 of 5 bubbles 225judyd, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure if they have any good rooms so best avoid.”
 of 5 bubbles Q9000ADkeving, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“View of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles 220omololaa, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay