We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Bateliere

Save
Share
20 Rue des Alizes, Schoelcher 97233 Martinique
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (376)
Room & Suite (100)
Pool & Beach (39)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Free Wifi
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
649Reviews7Q+A25Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 46
  • 182
  • 200
  • 142
  • 79
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jacob D wrote a review Oct. 2020
Windemere Island, Eleuthera3 contributions
Stayed for few days 19/20 Good, clean, well equipped room for couples and more Breakfast nothing special but ample. Friendly staff, mostly in the west indies bar. Fresh, very good music, jazzy. Woderfull cocktails, just amazing. Nice place on the whole.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
annehY6684WQ wrote a review Mar. 2019
Greater London, United Kingdom23 contributions25 helpful votes
The hotel is old and in need of refurbishment. We were initially given a room which was a good distance from the main area. This room was substandard, had a view of a building site and the door card didn't work (we tried several). They then put us into a better room but this was dated. There was a lot of marble, including around the pool, which was dangerous and slippy when wet. The bar, which stayed open late, did not sell wine although the one downstairs by the pool did. The wifi only worked intermittently. The TV stopped working after 2 days and wasn't fixed. We never got into the hotel car park although there was parking in a field and on the road outside but these were badly lit at night. The worst thing was an incident at the pool one afternoon. There was an invasion of about 15, or more, black teenagers who tried to intimidate the hotel residents. They jumped into the pool shrieking and splashing everyone. I was particularly vulnerable as they threw their backpacks around the space where I was sitting. Eventually a "security" guy came and got about half of them to leave but he refused to deal with the remainder who were still in the pool and whose bags were still around where I was sitting. They eventually left but then some of them returned a short time later and jumped into the pool again. There is no security to prevent people who are not resident from using the pool. I found this threatening and when I tried to complain all the reception staff claimed not to understand English (my French is limited). It was not a pleasant experience and we won't be returning to the Caribbean.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose room which is in the main hotel, not the annex to the side, and preferably, on an upper...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
phom wrote a review Mar. 2019
Munich, Germany184 contributions261 helpful votes
+1
its position on an elevated cape is beautiful, with 270° view to the ses and bay of FdF. Furthermore its lounge and the terrace to the sea are very nice and the excellent "Lili's" beach bar is a livesaver. The hotel celebrates 50th birthday and it seems that nearly nothing was renovated (see my pics): our room was foul-stinking with a heavy stained carpet, broken stained tiles in the bathroom, and stucking doors; and after to days the Aircondition broke down. The staff reacted incompetent and demotivated, we received no help on sunday, and monday the so called "technicien" just unscrewed the AC, scattered towels thereunder and left without notice. After my explicit complaints we were granted one of their "luxury rooms". The view and furniture wre very nice but even there the balustrade was rusty and the AC stained. How can such a neglected hotel survive? In effect it's a convention center and hudreds of short staying conference people fill rooms and canteens, and knock out the wifi!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: all rooms need renovation
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel C, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Bateliere
Responded Mar. 18, 2019
Dear Phom, Thank you for the feedback. We regret that your time with us wasn't perfect. While we're happy that you appreciated our prime location and the view. I apologize for the inconvenience with Aircondition. We strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience so we'll be sure to discuss your feedback with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope for the opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Elisabeth DEREPAS Community Manager
Read more
RogHil69 wrote a review Feb. 2019
Eskilstuna, Sweden14 contributions15 helpful votes
Lousy service. We ordered 3 courses. we waited almost an hour for the main course. It turned out they had forgotten us....people that came after us to the restaurant got their food before us. We left hungry and just paid for the first course. EAT SOMEWHERE ELSE!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floors. There was a fan outside that brought very much noice into the room.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Bateliere
Responded Feb. 8, 2019
Dear RogHil69, We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience during the service in our restaurant. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, it's unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We'd love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you. Best regards Elisabeth DEREPAS Community Manager
Read more
JacoCl wrote a review Jan. 2019
Pretoria, South Africa199 contributions168 helpful votes
+1
We were 3 couples that booked into the hotel before boarding a cruise. There is not much nice to say about this hotel. Only positive is that it has a great view and the wi-fi is work. The rooms are large with a balcony. In the rooms everything is dirty and shabby. Bathroom floor is dirty and the underside of the vanity top has not been cleaned this century. Rust and open holes in the tiles above the bath. The tiles in the shower and bath are so sticky you may pick-up a virus looking at it. Toilet holder is sticking out of the wall with the plugs being exposed and the paint on the roof is pealing. Bedroom carpet is dirty and has not been cleaned for a long time. When you arrive the sliding door to the balcony has been closed with a “plank” to prevent it from being opened. In short, this must be the dirtiest and most run-down hotel I have ever stayed in and it is not recommend to anyone unless this is the last place available on the island.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Bateliere
Responded Jan. 21, 2019
Dear JacoCI, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We're disappointed to hear that your experience was not successful. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are important to us. However, many of our guests appraciate rooms, view, situation, services and restaurant despite obsolescence. So, we don't think our hotel is the last place available on the island as you say. On the other hand, it should be renovated as soon as possible. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Elisabeth DEREPAS Community Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$140 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la bateliere hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanMartiniqueArrondissement of Fort-de-FranceSchoelcher
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel La Bateliere
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel La Bateliere?
Nearby attractions include Clip'n Climb Martinique (0.6 km), Synagogue Martinique (0.4 km), and Madia (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel La Bateliere?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel La Bateliere?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel La Bateliere?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel La Bateliere?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kay Ali, Anba Fey Tol la, and Villa Factory.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel La Bateliere?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel La Bateliere?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel La Bateliere offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel La Bateliere?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel La Bateliere?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort Saint-Louis (3.3 km), Plantation Leyritz (3.8 km), and Pavillon Bougenot (2.7 km).
Does Hotel La Bateliere have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.