We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Oyster Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
Oyster Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oyster Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 342: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed in one of the frangipani rooms for 2 nights. They are perched just above the water line and one has an uninterrupted view of Petersen bay. The balcony is only meters from the water. The rooms are small but tastefully decorated in stained timber with bamboo ceilings and are quite comfortable. The staff were very friendly and were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salty216
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2016

We were three families travelling together and had booked to come and stay here several months ago. We were a bit worried given some of the more recent reviews we had read on Tripadvisor ... and then we arrived. Oyster Island is truly a piece of magical paradise. From the low key but lovely approach, amazing location right on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whiteridges
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Oyster Island Resort is fantastic! Bev, Richard and the whole team made my stay so special! From the moment I arrived I felt relaxed, at home and taken care of. My room was gorgeous, clean and perfectly suited the location. The team organised each day for me and were always available for a chat and a laugh. The resort is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachel952015
Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Oyster Island is a wonderful and special place, in a world of artificial and contrived resorts Oyster is a real breath of fresh air. From the boat ride over to the lovely waterfront rooms, I feel a restored sense of peace and tranquility. The new management team and the recent reinvestments have lifted this unique and rare place. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevinsglencross
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The serenity and relaxation that Oyster Island offers, along with the hospitality of the new Managers and friendly staff has reassured us that everything is on the up and guests can be assured of a beautiful island experience. We stayed in a unit which sits on the waters edge. There's a hammock on the deck, and it was the perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KayC_New_Zealand
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Part of our day tour in Santo included lunch at Oyster Island. Lunch was good but a bit pricey. The find of the day however occurred when talking to the tours manager. As we had a second day in Santo we were on the lookout for something to do and the Mt Hope waterfall tour sounds pretty good. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bridges8
Sydney
Reviewed 7 June 2016

We booked this resort in February and fortunately did not pay money at that time. Since then the "resort" was sold to new owners, who, I was told, live in China. Managers from Australia could not work with new owners and left. Since then this place is no longer a resort. It is a "dead" "resort". we came here mid...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vovka
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

On a recent day trip around Santo our bus driver took us to Oyster Island Resort for lunch.We loved the short trip over on the little ferry. The resort grounds are just beautiful as were the wonderful staff. I was surprised that the whole place was deserted.Lunch was very mediocre I'm afraid. We all ordered burgers but the chips were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jojo255061
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Very quiet and beautiful location. LOTS of underwater life. They organise a trip to a fantastic snorkling site, one of the most pristine sites we have seen in 3 months of Pacific islands hopping. You can spot sea turtles from your room, even a Dugong if you are lucky. Staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

As the new General Managers, we thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Oyster Island Resort. My husband and I were thrilled to greet you both as the very first of our guests in our new home. Being Resort business owners for 7 years in Espiritu Santo this location has been a long time favorite of...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

BEWARE THIS IS NOT THE OYSTER ISLAND RESORT WE HAVE KNOWN AND VISITED FOR 2 YEARS! I booked and paid in full and in advance. I had to cancel do to unexpected surgery. In respect to their public cancellation policy a 50% refund is my entitlement. I have now fought for over 2 months and I know staff have fought...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ChrissyTilly
OysterIsland, General Manager at Oyster Island Resort, responded to this review

As the New General Managers (as of the 1st of June 2016) your refund was on the top of our "To Do Immediately" list. Very please to let you know your refund has been processed. Due to the handover of the business this was not possible. Our sincere apologizes on behalf of the former management. We hope that this one...

528 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (487)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (262)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luganville hotels
7.0 km away
Barrier Beach House
Barrier Beach House
#1 of 11 in Luganville
248 reviews
0.0 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#7 of 11 in Luganville
105 reviews
15.5 km away
The Espiritu
The Espiritu
#6 of 11 in Luganville
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Sunrise Beach Cabanas Eco-Resort
7.0 km away
Moyyan House by the Sea
Moyyan House by the Sea
#2 of 11 in Luganville
305 reviews
2.1 km away
Turtle Bay Lodge
Turtle Bay Lodge
#1 of 12 in Luganville
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on a private 25 hectare island just 2 minutes crossing from the mainland. Oyster Island Resort resides within a Marine Reserve, abundant in marine and wild life. Sandy beaches, tropical rainforest, coral reefs and war plane wrecks make for fantastic snorkelling. Bungalows line the waters edge, each with private decks or patio's, enjoying stunning views out over the calm lagoon waters. Family Vila allow room for parents and children to enjoy the large grounds and gardens and are set off the water for safety. Skilled Chefs serve the very best of local and western cuisine from our waterfront restaurant. Only 20 minutes from the airport and township. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oyster Island Resort

Address: PO Box 183, Luganville, Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Espiritu Santo > Luganville
Price Range: $125 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Island Hotel Luganville
Oyster Island Resort Vanuatu/Luganville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oyster Island Resort staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
10 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Oyster Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a deluxe Waterfront Bungalow! Bigger deck, room and bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles kowhais4, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cheapest bungalows are probably the best value-for-money rate.”
  • inside a bungalow
 of 5 bubbles ArtemChuprina, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family rooms are not near the water, but all couples rooms are over the water!”
 of 5 bubbles nickbA5619HP, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good with great views and secluded from each other”
 of 5 bubbles salty216, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Unit 11 - while a little walking distance from the restaurant, is peaceful and very private.”
 of 5 bubbles KayC_New_Zealand, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay