We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cliffemount Hotel

Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Runswick Bay
    0.2 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 6 days ago
Suprise
A hidden gem.lovely secluded hotel with great views.Room was... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

475 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 475: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

A hidden gem.lovely secluded hotel with great views.Room was good bathroom a little tired.Food was very good both evening and breakfast.The staff were all friendly and helpful.Good choice beers and wine.A place for a quiet relaxing stay. Will visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oscarhound
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oscarhound, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hidden gem that is the Cliffemount Hotel. We are in the process of refreshing the public areas and the guest bedrooms and hope to have the project finished before the new season starts. I look forward...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited Sunday lunch time, Sunday lunch was lovely. My aunt had fish and chips and was enjoyed. We had our two dogs with us and they kindly gave them a dog bowl each with meats in. After the staff getting to know us they offered to show us a selection of there bedrooms, which also looked comfortable and clean. Majority...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheProtanos
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TheProtanos, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It was a real pleasure meeting you, your friends and your lovely dogs. We are all very pet friendly here and we prefer to offer our guests and visitors pets a treat rather than feeding the dust bin with the remains of the Sunday lunch. I look...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely weekend at this beautifully-situated hotel, Our room was spacious and comfortable with breathtaking views over the bay. The staff were friendly and chatty, and the food was extremely well-cooked and appetisingly presented. The breakfasts set us up for a day on the beach and we were altogether delighted with the whole experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PollyannaNY
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PollyannaNY, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your comments and I will pass them on to our kitchen and my team. We take great pride in our guest care and service and it is very rewarding to see our efforts are giving the guests the stay the expect and...

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just come back from a winter break at The Cliffemount Hotel. It was great value and the hotel has great views. Food was excellent and all the staff were very friendly. The homemade steak pie was delicious and the sticky toffee pudding was wonderful. I was also delighted that there were kippers from Whitby on the breakfast menu.We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daenthomson
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daenthomson, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your comments and I will pass on the compliments to my team. We take great pride in our guest care and attention to detail and although it is off season we are all committed and determined to show all our guests the...

Amotherby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cliffemount just before New Year's Eve and had a fantastic time. The hotel is well located with spectacular views of the bay. We walked down to the beach, the path was quite steep but the beach is only a 10 minute walk away. It is well worth the effort to visit. The hotel room was well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverley B, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your comments and I am glad that my team and I were able to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. Our cancellation policy is designed to ensure that we maintain a consistent and regular reservation standard with our guests so that...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We hadn't stayed here for a year or two because we didn't like the attitude of the previous owners who had a higher opinion of their establishment than was actually the case. Now under new tenure and in the very capable hands of their manger Shane (Forte trained and it shows). We were looked after fantastically from start to finish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jim W, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and my team and I are very proud of the service and commitment to our guests that we offer. We are a new team and looking to show the local community, the holiday makers and past guests that The...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed for two nights in a fabulous room, called Mulgrave, with a stunning view of the bay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had great choice and was plentiful, We ate there both nights and the food was very good with great service. The walk up from the bay to the hotel was exhilarating to say...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony P, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your comments and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Runswick Bay climb is well known and often talked about in both positive and negative reviews, it certainly does build an appetite, which I am delighted that we were able...

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

One random night at the hotel. Drove after work on the Monday, we rang ahead & they laid on some sandwiches as it was late. Very nice they were too. A great view from window the next morning.. over looking the bay. The room & ensuite, pleasant & clean. Decor a little tired. But the balcony view made up for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suearcher2015
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Suearcher2015, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. My team and I take great pride in the guest care we offer our visitors and residents and keeping the kitchen open and providing late arrivals with food and drinks is the level of care and attention to detail we aim to offer all our guests. I look forward to your...

England
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Booked last minute with the hotel, got a good deal and enjoyed a large 'premier', very clean, warm and comfortable room with supersize bed, a small balcony and sea views of the amazing Runswick Bay. Bar area was warm and friendly. Not 'five star' for the following reasons. Bathroom paintwork a little tatty, Wi-Fi access very poor, but we survived!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrednGinger
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FrednGinger, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, the bedroom and the view over Runswick Bay. I am disappointed that you found several issues with the hotel that affected your stay, we do not aim to be more than what we can offer our guests consistently, however...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

My wife and I together with our little dog were all given a big welcome from Shane and the staff when we checked in for a 3 night stay. We really appreciated the towels by the front door to clean our dog before entering the hotel - a thoughtful touch. The room was excellent with a fantastic view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Owl34
Shane_Gary_Gray, General Manager at Cliffemount Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Owl34, Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to show you the service and guest care that we are proud to show all our residents and visitors consistently. I will pass on your comments regarding the WiFi and I am certain the owners...

131 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runswick
7.5 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,827 reviews
3.8 km away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
7.0 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
128 reviews
10.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
22.4 km away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great views of Runswick Bay harbour with a large open garden and a sea view restaurant. Great value, quality and service offered to all our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cliffemount Hotel

Address: Bank Top Lane | Runswick Bay, Runswick TS13 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Runswick
Price Range: $152 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cliffemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffemount Hotel Runswick, England, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cliffemount Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Vienna, Austria

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cliffemount Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great views over the bay from our balcony”
 of 5 bubbles daenthomson, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in Kettleness which was very quiet and had excellent views.”
 of 5 bubbles 773beverleyb, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Mulgrave had a veranda, overlooking the bay, and is one of the superior rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles anthonypO5760IQ, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The Premier rooms appear to have a balcony and sea view”
 of 5 bubbles FrednGinger, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 was great”
 of 5 bubbles Owl34, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5