We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rose and Crown Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Stowey
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Rose and Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Rose and Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here in between going to Chedder Gorge and Wookey Hole .. We stayed one night , had a family room of which i was impressed with, it was spacious in was two separate bedrooms with our own bathroom which was huge! you could tell the age of the building ,sometimes it was like walking up hill to one end...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Buffymum3
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this review. Yes, the undulating floor in the Family Suite does reflect the age of that part of the building! Generally speaking, the floors elsewhere are flat as you would expect. We do not offer 'snacks' in the evening but there is a range of Starters for those not wanting a full meal. For the record,...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on the 25th August. We arrived about 8.15pm and had trouble finding a parking space as there is only on street parking. The chap behind the bar who booked us in was a bit surly and not too welcoming but the rest of the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. We had two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eidix
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for this review. Clearly we have some staff training issues but I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We seem to have a bit of a reputation for our breakfasts - given that so many of our guests are either walkers or mountain bikers we like to give everyone a great start to the day! Thanks once...

New forest
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This is an ancient coaching inn. The manager was very fiendly, but the bar staff rather curt. The family room was very pleasant. Well decorated and clean, with nice tea, coffee biscuits and water but still has the sense that this Inn is very old. The bar food was OK but the bar is quite noisy and there are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Excellent food, great hospitality, friendly staff with a fantastic atmosphere in a beautiful location!! Really enjoyed my stay at rose and crown was relaxed and the staff made sure that I had all I needed and if not they were more than happy to help... I could not fault the service it was top class.. Room was clean and tidy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank owenlambs
Birmingham
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We tried this pub on our second night in this village and had a table reserved by the owner of our B&B. They serve decent local ale and have a reasonably priced menu. I ordered the steak & ale pie which was very tasty and the beef was very tender, however I do not understand the idea of serving the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsage
cheshire
Reviewed 13 June 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we decided that this was "our sort of pub" and as we were holidaying within 6 miles decided to visit for an evening meal. The pub looked lovely and so did the menu, unfortunately for us a group of "locals" made it very clear from the outset that all of the tables we attempted...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hanley37
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review

It is hard to know how to respond to this review because it sounds so totally out of character for both the pub and our 'regulars'. It is true that we do get very busy on occasions, which means that tables can be in short supply. However, the locals are - pretty much without exception - friendly and welcoming, and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Perfect way to start our walk. A good country pub. Good sized wholesome meals and decent beer. The rooms were great, just the way an old inn should be! Creaky, uneven floors, old and solid. Breakfast was exactly what was needed for the first day of the walk. Very welcoming to walkers, they organised packed lunches and, at very short...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mario G
Halstead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We arrived to a friendly welcome on our GS1150A sidecar outfit. We've been before, we came back, we like it and we'll be back again. Not luxurious, but comfortable, clean, full of character, quaint and roomy with great food.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert A
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We popped into the Rose and Crown a few weeks ago whilst staying in the area. We were greeted by friendly staff and a cosy atmosphere; our dog especially liked the warm open fireplace. A nice selection of local ales/ciders and a good Sunday lunch menu; we had roast beef/lamb baguettes with roast potatoes - yum! ... A great dog-friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
jersey
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Unfortunately we were due to stay here for one night whilst we were over at an event traveling from the channel islands. The morning our departure our ferry over was cancelled due to unforeseen weather and so we could'nt make. upon phoning the bed and breakfast early in the morning to tell them we could no longer make it and...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank jadejersey
CRW-NS, Owner at The Rose and Crown Inn, responded to this review

It is always unfortunate when we have to implement our cancellation policy - which was introduced in response to an increasing number of last minute cancellations and 'no-shows'. Weekends are busy times and by booking and then cancelling rooms guests stop others from taking a room - often for a whole weekend or longer. In this particular case we had...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Stowey
2.3 km away
Castle of Comfort Country House
3.0 km away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
107 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ancient Mariner
The Ancient Mariner
#3 of 6 in Nether Stowey
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Old House
The Old House
#1 of 6 in Nether Stowey
126 reviews
4.2 km away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
627 reviews
0.3 km away
The Old Cider House
The Old Cider House
#2 of 6 in Nether Stowey
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
16th Century coaching inn located in Nether Stowey, in the Quantock Hills AONB. We were the first pub in the Quantocks to win the ‘Cask-Marque’ for the excellence of our real ales. Our kitchen serves home-made food every day. We have a beautiful beer garden with a children’s play area, and a cosy bar with a log fire and free Wi-Fi. All our bedrooms are en-suite. Our Family Suite can accommodate up to five. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown Inn

Address: 5 St. Mary Street, Nether Stowey TA5 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Nether Stowey
Price Range: $62 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rose and Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Rose and Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room 2 which was a very quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles SpinningGill, 1 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Not above the bar when Trefellas come to play if you want an early night ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles Trefellas, 29 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Did nt stay over but The images look v v nice”
 of 5 bubbles Roys2nP, 11 Aug 2012 | Read review
“I think all rooms are at the back of the pub and therefore are all quiet - ours certainly was !”
 of 5 bubbles Hubbardfish, 5 Mar 2012 | Read review
4 of 4