We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

971 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 502: English reviews
Start your review of Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Three nights here in April, bad mistake. Poor quality rooms with concrete fittings? Smelly lift and low quality food. Location is good, but that's about it. Don't believe any ratings over 2/3 I'd never go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for one night only and it was great experience. We had pool access room (which I would definitely recommend) and it was fantastic. You enter pool on the 7th floor from your balcony! The room was spacious and comfortable. The shower/bathroom were very good. It had large shower cabin and large bath - all in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARINA H
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback online. All of us are delighted to read that you had a great experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy to assist on your next visit. Sincerely yours,...

Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very hard to review this Hotel as it could be very good with some general maintenance, cleaning upkeep etc. The hotel is ideally located in central Kata. The last 100 meters to the hotel is on a very steep incline and would not be suitable for anybody with a walking impairment however we had no trouble. Reception is good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted to read that you found our team members friendly. Please accept our deep apologies for the issues that you have raised, we assure to review your detailed comments for immediate improvement. We do hope to have the chance to serve you again in Sugar...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stated in 4 resorts over 2 weeks and this was the best by far. Friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms and pool. Great location. Nearby restaurants include the Red Chiili 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻. Plenty to do in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We are all happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It will be a pleasure to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy to assist on your next visit....

New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great hotel in a great location. The rooms are lovely, very clean and new. The bed was really comfy and the room and balcony was spacious. We had an awesome uninterupted view of the ocean. We were on the 8th floor in one of the cheapist rooms. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi07
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this review. We are all happy to know that you had an awesome stay! It will be a pleasure to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was in a good location in Kata as it was just by the main road which was walking distance from the beach, shops, bars, restaurants and taxi. Our room was lovely and had amazing views from our balcony with a bathtub jacuzzi. It had everything we could have asked for in a room. There was a fridge which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Just87
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review. We are happy you are satisfied with your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy to assist on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Michael Salalima General...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata was a great choice! Only five minutes walk from beautiful Kata beach and many of the delicious food options available. Our room was clean and well maintained daily. We had a lovely little balcony with gorgeous views over the ocean. The staff could not have been more kind and helpful. Marc and the front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leaht451
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review. We are happy you are satisfied with your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy to assist on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Michael Salalima General...

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We really liked this hotel for a few reasons. The people who work here are very friendly and helpful, and we liked the atmosphere. We didn't have a room with a view, it was on the second floor and our balcony looked onto the lobby and parking lot, but we didn't spend much time in our room, so it wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie k
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for writing about your holiday experience. We are glad you are satisfied with our service. We all look forward to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy to assist on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Michael Salalima General Manager

Narvik, Norway
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Once a successful stay in this hotel. This was our third visit. Good location near the beach. Good breakfast. Housekeeping was good .Very good service will specifically mention Mark. He speaks perfect English and do everything to make your stay to be perfect. We would recommend this hotel to others Trond fra Norge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tfagert
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review. We are happy you are satisfied with your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Please feel free to reach me at gm@sugarpalmgrand.com as I will be more than happy to assist on your next visit. Sincerely yours, Michael Salalima General...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The room was quite spacious and they provide you with amenities such as beach towels, soap, safe, robe, slippers, etc. However, the room itself is not quite as pictured. It is a little bit on the rough side with furniture being old and some broken. The "king size bed" was actually two double beds put together, so there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingy03
SugarPalmGrand2015, General Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time writing a review. We are happy you are satisfied with the room space and amenities. We however apologize for the issues you have raised, We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in Sugar Palm Grand. Sincerely yours, Michael Salalima General Manager

1,225 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1069)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (192)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (126)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (423)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (127)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (34)
Viewed
Grand Jacuzzi Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Grand Pool Access Room (35)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
970 reviews
0.5 km away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
794 reviews
0.4 km away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.2 km away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#20 of 56 in Kata Beach
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Price Range: $56 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach, Thailand
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sugar Palm Grand Hillside staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sugar Palm Grand Hillside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Insist on genuine Double Bed when booking.”
bigfishAustralia, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think you would get a better view in the higher up rooms, and a lot of the rooms have a swim up pool, which would be nice.”
mariekH1666AH, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The swim up pools seemed a bit pointless because of the other pools around them and the are all overlooked.”
gerardg851, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Worth paying a little extra for swim up room”
karenbennett2017, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the upper swimming pool access rooms, but be prepared to the climb a bit.”
HappyHayBale, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5