We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

TripAdvisorUS$297*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$297*
US$297*
US$297*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 537: English reviews
Start your review of Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
 Click to rate
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This lodge was rudimentary in its amenities, but it was a perfect location to view the mountains where the gorillas live in the wild. The cabins are large enough to sleep several people, however, or families. The food in the dining hall was excellent, and included local delicacies as well as a variety of high-quality, fresh food from around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verna K
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed here twice on gorilla treks and always love it. The staff is super nice, and attentive. They knew exactly when we went to our room to start fired. And happy to bring us beers and endless peanuts as we lounged about doing nothing. Beautiful grounds and views, I could stare at the volcano all day. I love the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharethom
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My friend and I stayed at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge for 2 nights (each night before a gorilla trek). It was a bigger hotel/lodge than the previous two accommodations we had stayed at so the service wasn't as personal, but was still lovely. They provided a free boots-and-gaiter cleaning service after a gorilla trek, and a packed lunch (we did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlgAustralia
Mijdrecht
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Good: - Spacious rooms - View on various types of monkeys around the rooms - Gorgeous view from the swimming pool - Setup inside a tea plantage - Very good bed - Good wifi - Service attitude of the staff The Bad: - The food is average for the price, no matter what the staff thinks of it -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bymy141
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was great - little bungalows with fireplaces lined up along the grounds, complete with a huge window overlooking the volcanoes. The staff were incredibly nice, especially watching our son while we went gorilla trekking. The food was okay - not a lot of great options if you are trying to stick with paleo, but pretty good. Do NOT...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evie F
Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

Making a review of a place, in a country where terrible things happened 1994 is difficult. There is always a risk of "overshoot", but the combination of a nature experience, unique possibility to study animals in their habitat, beeing surrounded by the wild, at the same time accept that he hotel you stay at gives you friendly service, music, food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PKB142
Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we were booked into Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge but found it cold, dark and damp. So we moved here and were so much happier, the grounds are beautiful, the rooms have a nice big lounge area and we lit a fire at night and sat there enjoying a bottle of red wine. It's a great base for when you trek...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison2002au
Siesta Key, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were told this was the go to place for its comfort and proximity to the ranger station jump off point for the gorilla treks. Unfortunately, they overbooked and sent us elsewhere without prior notice. We've since been informed that this is not unusual and many tour operators are booking elsewhere. It's too bad, as this is a nice place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ronzam
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am really conflicted by this place. We turned up for or booking, to find there was 'some confusion' and they had us booked for the following day (of our three night booking). There was no room for us that first night, so we stayed elsewhere, coming back the following day and staying for just two nights instead of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gemma l
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Warm greetings from the land of thousand hills. Thanks a lot for staying with us and taking your time to share your valued feedback on this forum. Kindly accept our heartfelt apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused during your stay. We are happy to know you had a lovely stay with us despite the hiccups on the...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was concerned because some reviews said it wasn't worth the money. I absolutely loved this place. The setting was beautiful and dramatic, the location was perfect for getting to the gorillas. I loved the room. Staff was excellent and the food was fantastic. The lodge offers an opportunity to talk to other guests about their gorilla experience. They'll wash...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank radiogirlpuppy
3BHOTELS, Public Relations Manager at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a testimony!! Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time to share your feedback. It is our pleasure to have met your expectation and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. 3B Hotels team are eager to host you again soon. Murakoze Cyane! Kind Regards, Ann Njoroge, Public Relations/Marketing Manager.

469 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (453)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (149)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinigi
5.0 km away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Le Bambou Gorilla Lodge
2.7 km away
Villa Gorilla
Villa Gorilla
#3 of 8 in Kinigi
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Flame Tree Village
Flame Tree Village
#8 of 110 in Kigali
53 reviews
3.9 km away
The Peakspot - Kinigi
The Peakspot - Kinigi
#5 of 8 in Kinigi
18 reviews
39.1 km away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge stands amidst real wilderness with panoramic views of Rwanda’s volcano mountains and located just 1km away from the Volcano National Park, making it the desired location for Gorilla Trekking enthusiastic guests. Mountain Gorilla View Lodge is surrounded by an exciting and rich biodiversity of shrubs, trees and various bird species among them the Grey Crowned Cranes or Balearica regulorum. The Hotel has an eco-tourist approach whereas Natural Conservation is a priority and the local community is empowered. The Intore (local Cultural dancers) will spice your stay and your days at Mountain Gorilla View Lodge will always be memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Address: Volcanoes National Park, Kinigi, Rwanda
Region: Rwanda > Northern Province > Musanze District > Kinigi
Price Range: $456 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Gorilla View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Gorilla View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Gorilla View Hotel Ruhengeri
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Los Angeles, California
over a year ago
Vancouver, BC

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Gorilla View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a long way to walk from some rooms to the restaurant”
412greena, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a fireplace, it gets chilly at night.”
radiogirlpuppy, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Weaver Cottage 3 looks directly at the mountain”
981vickif, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the newer section. I did and was very happy with "Eagle 12"”
NIFZ, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the main building.”
lorettaz560, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$297* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$297
Agoda.comUS$297
PricelineUS$297
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates