We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Askari Game Lodge & Spa
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Askari Game Lodge & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 404: English reviews
Athens, Greece
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Quirky rooms, bit oldfashioned but okay. Our room did not have airco (and it was really hot 25 degrees throughout the night) unfortunately. Lovely view of the waterhole. Food okay (buffet), service a bit slow. It is rated at 4* but that is defenitely not the case, value for money for 3* though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Expatcouple2005
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest assessment. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve our standards. Kind regards Graham Shipway

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The positives: The staff from the receptionist, operations manager on duty, waiters, dinner hostess etc. were all super professional, friendly, & went out of their way to accommodate everyone. Dinner was lovely - compliments to the chef and his/her team. Lovely to sit outside and watch the animals come for a drink. Interesting museum on-site and several lounges to sit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chrmnvntndr
AskariLodge, Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely comments on the staff and service - it's truly encouraging for our team at Askari Lodge. We regret that we don't, in fact have any aircon in any chalets (those boxes you saw are actually heat pumps for geysers) and yes, it has been terribly hot. Please indicate your preference for an early...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 8 December 2016

My husband made a reservation at this establishment after consulting its promising website. Indeed, the facilities and amenities displayed thereon appears luxurious and deserving of its promised stature... if only we had been accommodated in one of the photographed suites. Ours, on the contrary, appeared to have been an odd and ill paired attempt at modern-antique. The worn carpet, rickety...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ChanteD-R
AskariLodge, Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Dear ChanteD-R, We thank you for your review - we use all feedback from our guests to guide us in improving wherever possible. We do appreciate that Askari Lodge is not to everyone's personal taste and wish you all the best for the festive season ahead. Kind regards, Pamela Codevilla

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay at Askari for our family of 5. Booking and payment was effortless. We arrived for the Sunday buffet lunch, which was mostly good and reasonably priced. My daughter was mesmerized by the elephants who were spraying pool water all over! The rooms were lovely: comfortable and clean. There were camp beds provided for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dionne D
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments the Team and I are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do appreciate the heads up about the children and will introduce a children's menu that can be served much quicker. We look forward to your next visit Kind regards graham Shipway

Reviewed 5 December 2016

We stayed at the lodge this past weekend to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. The rooms and lodge itself is lovely, we spent ½ the day at the Askari Spa and all the treatments were great. The only let down was the food, it was a real disappointment, very average and overpriced for what was served. What we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine C
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch, the manager on duty has informed me that upon receiving your complaint he immediately took it off of your account. As for dinner I am not sure what the complaint was as the duty manager was around you all the time as we wanted...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We went to Askari Game Lodge for a game drive and lunch as a company year-end function. The game drive was super informative and our ranger was excellent. Lunch at the restaurant was well presented and delicious. Staff are friendly and ready to help. All-in-all great value and an excellent day out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theranne V
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for you excellent comments !The Team and I are glad we could make your companies year-end function so memorable and look forward to having you back for a conference. Kind Regards Graham Shipway

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this lodge. The rooms itself are lovely. We received excellent service from Pat who handled our reservation. Lovemore who was the game ranger was entertaining on the game drive and went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed the ride. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but overall a good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenore95
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

thank you so much for your wonderful review! I have passed on your comments to both Pat and Lovemore and they are thrilled with them. I have spoken to the Kitchen and the food and beverage team to review breakfast to improve the experience. We look forward to your next visit Kind regards Graham Shipway

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent a night at the lodge which is just outside Johannesburg. We stayed in one of the units overlooking the swimming pool. It had a kitchenette and separate lounge which was fantastic as we had our 7 month old daughter with us who then had her own room where a camp cot had been set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

the Team and I are really excited by your stunning review. it is reviews such as yours that encourages the Team to try even harder. We do hope that it wont be too long before your next visit. Kind regards Graham Shipway

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We wanted somewhere close to joburg to go for 1 night away with friends. From the moment we arrived the service was terrible! They are very optimistic in calling themselves a 4 star hotel. We arrived early and had lunch at the restaurant while waiting until the room was ready, the order came back wrong and was very average. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantel B
ShipwayG, General Manager at Askari Game Lodge & Spa, responded to this review

Thank for your review and I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Askari lodge. The team and I are rather sad that not once during your stay did you report any of your poor experience's to any member of management considering that they spoke to you during dinner (which you were not charged for) as...

johanneburg
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We booked Askari for a breakaway for 4 colleagues and asked for 4 separate units. On arrival we go shoved into 2 garden units having to share. When we arrived and realised the situation the manager was unwilling to assist and told us the sleeper couches are very expensive. also that she cannot do anything to assist as the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lindi B

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (83)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hekpoort
0.0 km away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.0 km away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
51 reviews
0.0 km away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
241 reviews
0.0 km away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Askari Game Lodge & Spa is situated on the Plumari Africa Game Reserve in the Magaliesberg, just over an hour from Johannesburg or Pretoria and offers guests a memorable Big 5 wildlife experience within a malaria free environment. Plumari Africa Game Reserve is set within a pristine wilderness area of over 5000 hectares with natural African bushveld and an abundance of flora, fauna, birdlife and wildlife. Two game drives, each approximately 2 - 2,5 hours in duration, are scheduled daily. Elephant Experiences entails interaction with our elephants, which include a 'touch and feed' experience. The main lodge, which is in fact the old Bodenstein family farmhouse, overlooks the Elephant Dam and invites guests to take a step back in time while admiring South African decor pieces dating back to the 1800's. Slipper baths, a coal stove, wash stands, luggage chests, antique Oregon cupboards and tables are subtly placed within the luxury four-star surrounding, to emphasize the captivating history of the Magaliesberg area. Askari Lodge has one of the largest private collections of ox wagons, carts and other animal drawn vehicles from the period 1800 to 1900. A variety of stone and iron-age arte facts, items from the Boer War and San Bushmen rock carvings tell the history of the area, which is also known for the nearby Battle of Nooitgedacht. Examples are available in the museum and guided bush walks take guests through areas where many stone carvings can be found. In contrast with the rich Boere and Afrikaner history depicted by the main farmhouse decor, the Day Visitors Center is abundant with African symbology, rich earthy colours and unique African decor focal points. The two contrasting decor themes pay homage to the history while highlighting the significant influence of the indigenous African tribes of the area. Askari Game Lodge caters for romantic getaways, conferences, teambuilding initiatives, training courses and weddings in both the main lodge and Day Visitors Centre. Nature lovers and birding enthusiasts will find the experience most rewarding, while stressed city dwellers will leave feeling rejuvenated and well-rested. Askari Lodge - the legend lingers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Askari Game Lodge & Spa

Address: 1 Doornspruit Road | Magaliesberg, Hekpoort 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Hekpoort
Price Range: $258 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Askari Game Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Askari Game Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Wexford, Ireland
Wexford, Ireland

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Askari Game Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room would be great :)”
 of 5 bubbles lancea53, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms next to restaurant n spa have more beautiful view”
 of 5 bubbles alvinah1letsoalo, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best to choose rooms located near the spa”
 of 5 bubbles denisem98, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Chalets 20 onward have a good view of the lake”
  • Sunset in the bush
 of 5 bubbles 626nicka, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure you are not sharing unless you want to”
 of 5 bubbles 985lindib, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5