We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carnarvon National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 125: English reviews
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2016

We stayed 2 nights here it's hard to rate it as the cabins are half tent, the ensuite was tiny and quite awkward to get in and out of and needed a good scrub to get rid of the mould in the grout, and no TV or phone service! We had to pay $5 for 30 minutes to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janine B
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Janine, Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the process of resealing the bathrooms throughout the lodge as the bathrooms do get cleaned and chlorinated however it is staining in the grout that can not be scrubbed off. To encourage wildlife throughout the resort we refrain from vehicles accessing cabins. The cabins do lock from the inside...

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights and upon arrival received an upgrade! The accommodation was very good, very clean and comfortable. The food was of a high standard, delicious! The scenery and walks at the gorge are something to be seen. Thankyou wilderness lodge, we will be back next anniversary :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddison G
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! The food is delicious isn't it :) see you again hopefully - Management

Mount Waverley, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Glamping! Well I wasn't expecting much, but was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the accommodation was. The downside was that the shower was over a hip bath, and it was slippery. A non slip mat would be good. Also there was no grab rail. The cabin I had needs some attention to the steps and decking as some of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We stayed three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The cabins are spread among the macrozamia trees in well kept grounds and have air-conditioning, ensuite facilities and a small refrigerator. There is a small swimming pool. Cabins are not cheap but one can hardly expect this standard of accommodation to be provided in such a remote location at budget rates....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leo G
CarnarvonGorge W, Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback. Simon is absolutely amazing and anyone visiting Carnarvon Gorge should join him on one of his many adventures/tours. Thank you again. Safe travels. - Management.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 May 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our three nights stay. The highlight was the our experience with local wilderness expert Simon. His information session on our first afternoon was excellent, and led me to join he and three other guests on a 20 km walk through Carnarvon Gorge next day. This turned out to be thoroughly enjoyable, with Simon enthusiastically displaying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
CarnarvonGorge W, Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for sharing your thoughts, it is always appreciated. Simon is definitely the best in the business when it comes to his knowledge and experience in the Gorge. - Management

Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

At $220 per night, I felt a lot more needed to be done to welcome the visitor. We should have been shown to our cabin, not left to fend for ourselves. We had no toilet paper the first night, we just raided another 'tent'! Being made to pay up front is damned annoying and rude. The 'tents' weren't cleaned well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie C
CarnarvonGorge W, General Manager at Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Hi There Julie, I am sorry to be reading you had such a disappointing stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing guests with a very welcoming and comfortable stay. I am sorry you felt you had to fend for yourself when going to your cabin. I am shocked to read you had no toilet paper in your cabin. I...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed last year and again this year. At $220 a night it's not cheap but if you haven't got a caravan there is not much else to choose from except down the road at Takarakka but while their cabins are cheaper they aren't nearly as nice as the Lodge. The cabins (timber on the bottom with canvas half walls...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LPNOOSA
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Spent three nights at the lodge in a cabin. Kangaroos were frequent visitors around the lodge and on the final morning we saw a snake which was great. The gorge is absolutely fantastic. Food and drink at the lodge was all reasonably priced, especially given the isolated location. There were only two irritations, gum nuts kept falling on the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BitterHops
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 20 November 2015 via mobile

My suggestions to improve this experience would be: 1. Make the guest feel welcome on arrival. After all he has just driven 14 kms of dirt / gravel to get there. 2. Don't run the place like a guest house or a backpackers. After all the guest is paying close to $300 per night plus meals! 3. All staff members...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Warren D
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 20 October 2015

The lodge itself is pleasant enough. Payment is on arrival which always irritates. $225 p/night chalet only. There are no mobile phone comms, but there is a pay phone for the use of guests. Accommodation is in tented chalets on raised wooden decks with wooden half walls. Our chalet was of a good size and comprised twin beds, dining table...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andrew M

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Near Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge

Address: 4043 O'Briens Road, Carnarvon National Park, Queensland 4702, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Carnarvon National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Hotel Springsure
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Port Macquarie, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Carnarvon Gorge Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin "Dooloogarah" was close to main area overlooking landscape”
  • View from entrance
  • View from within the cabin
 of 5 bubbles judyt642, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No, it's all tent style cabins”
 of 5 bubbles 311Jane, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Try and get a cabin closer to the reception area - it's quite a walk otherwise and you do enough walking on the treks!”
 of 5 bubbles Rushie02, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are well located”
 of 5 bubbles 707bruceu, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 19 has a good outlook over the creek.”
 of 5 bubbles N0elaR, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5