We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingfisher Ecolodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ban Khiet Ngong
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Kingfisher Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingfisher Ecolodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 48: English reviews
Abu Dhabi
Reviewed 30 December 2013

On the way back from 4000 islands to Pakse, we stayed at the Kingfisher ecolodge for 2 nights. There are few other places available in the neighbourhood of Kiet Ngong in the Se Pian NPA but not so many. We were with 2 families (4 adults / 5 kids) so the bill was rather high to Lao standard at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GoHAbuDhabi
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would like only to precise that our prices may be rather high (even if it is a quite subjective matter) not only because you won't find another location like ours in the neighborhood but essentially because we have higher costs than the others. All our supplies must be purchased by us in Pakse town...

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Owner is a very unfrienly italian man, who control many times his staff. And so even the staff is not frienly. The owner cannot work togheter with his lao staff, he is Always giving orders! But at this moment (end of 2013) there is not an other choice in Ban Kiatgong. The confort room is big and has a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LouenStephan
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm not going to be "politically correct" in this reply therefore I would like to inform you that If you read some older reviews you will see that many people said the opposite of what you wrote, but they are surely wrong. As you may know, but I'm not sure, there may be unfriendly hotels...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a comfort bungalow. There were very few other quests staying- hence it was very quiet. The view from the room was lovely, as was the view from the restaurant. The bungalows are very spacious and clean, Good shower, but there is no where to sit inside apart from on the bed. The lighting was rather inadequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank westmorland
York UK
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We arrived at the Kingfisher Lodge after driving for 8 hours or more! We were given one of the new lodges which was very comfortable and had a spectacular view of the countryside . Two elephants washed and played in front of our balcony( complete with hammock) for long periods of the day.it really was lovely to relax in comfort...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TrishYorkUK
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

All staff at Kingfisher Ecolodge greatly appreciate this nice review of the lodge, it is always highly rewarding when a guest demonstrate such a satisfaction for his stay with us. With our best regards. Massimo Mera / Owner of Kingfisher Ecolodge

Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in a individual bungalow, with a view on the surrounding wetlands, with water buffalos and elephants, which, together with the nearby village, and the colonial bungalows gave you a jungle experience that is really worthwhile. Beautiful surroundings, and common parts, elephant ride, relaxing and quite atmosphere, far away from all the touristic activities. Food is good, but pricey,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ecrispie
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

We would like to thank the guest for his nice review of our lodge, however we would like also to point out that we have never refused to serve a breakfast even when the guests arrived after 9am, which is the time limit reported on our menu, and the coffee is always refilled during breakfast (if requested) for guests staying...

Maisons Alfort
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed three nights there on our way to Si Phan Don. The bungalows are great, quite sacious with all wooden furniture, looks like old time. From there you can see the wetlands, with elephants and buffaloes (especially at sunrise). The restaurant and bar are fine, with some italian dishes, good location above a pond. The hotel arranges trips (prefer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlbrillet
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

We would like first to thank the guests for the positive review about our lodge and here below reply to a few points. Concerning the activities prices we give, on our website and in the room information book, a breakdown of the price paid by clients, as one may see (especially with the elephant safari) a large part of the...

witley
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at the KingFisher Eco Lodge. It is important to remember that this is not an hotel, and as such offers a wholly different experience. You will have to adapt to the swamp type noises at night and share your environment with the wildlife and bugs. The rooms are beautiful and the food very good. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank WitleyCarlton
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your nice review of our lodge and I completely agree with you about Kingfisher Ecolodge not being a "normal" hotel but a more of a place where people can experience a closer encounter with tropical nature which, of course, may not always be pleasant for some people. Many greetings to you and your...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was our first stop on this return visit to Laos and we were tired from the usual frenzied activity prior to departing on holidays. We couldn't have picked a better place to sit back and allow normal life stress to slip away. We stayed the first night in the shared eco house (we booked last min and that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cloeyhome
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for staying at Kingfisher Ecolodge and for this nice review. Of course I cannot but agree with you that the comfort bungalows can give a much better experience while staying at our lodge. They were designed for that while the eco rooms were built later on to meet the request of people having a...

Durango, Colorado
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I spent two nights in one of the eco-houses, with two rooms per building and shared bath. The setting itself is beautiful and tranquil, and it was fun to see the elephants grazing in the meadow beyond the lodge. The views from the shared houses are somewhat obscured by random vegetation and the grounds are weeding and poorly kept relative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ugogrrl
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

I would like, as usual, to thank the guest for the review. I'm sorry to hear that your experience at our lodge has been spolied by bad behaviour of other guests, unfortunately we cannot monitor what's happening in each room therefore everything is left to the level of respect between each other and we can't do much more. I completely...

Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just came back from an holiday trip to Laos and Kingfisher Echolodge has been a wonderful two days experience. The lodge is very charming, immersed into nature, peacefull and away from touristic circuits. Don't miss one day elephant trip in the jungle! It is great, the boy who guide is smart and shows a lot of curiousities about plants and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabetta S
Maxit, Owner at Kingfisher Ecolodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, it is always a pleasure for us to have nice people like you at our lodge and we always appreciate our guests appreciation! We hope to be able to welcome you once more in ban Khiet Ngong. Massimo Mera Owner / Kingfisher Ecolodge

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ban Khiet Ngong
23.5 km away
The River Resort
The River Resort
#1 of 3 in Champasak Town
484 reviews
20.6 km away
La Folie Lodge
La Folie Lodge
#2 of 3 in Champasak Town
286 reviews
22.4 km away
Inthira Hotel
Inthira Hotel
#3 of 3 in Champasak Town
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Sabaidee Valley Resort
Sabaidee Valley Resort
#1 of 5 in Paksong
22 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Jardin Hotel
Le Jardin Hotel
#1 of 50 in Pakse
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ecolodge located in Xe Pian National park, southern Laos, not far from Wat Phu temple. Restaurant service and eco activities available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingfisher Ecolodge

Address: Ban Khiet Ngong, Ban Khiet Ngong 16000, Laos
Region: Laos > Champasak Province > Ban Khiet Ngong
Price Range: $28 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kingfisher Ecolodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kingfisher Ecolodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kingfisher Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the Comfort Bungalows”
, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a bungalow with a view on the waterlands.”
marion_garrido, 12 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The cheaper rooms with shared bathrooms we still special.”
StephUK21, 20 Sep 2014 | Read review
“If travelling in the cool season, the lodges can get very cold at night so bring warm clothing. The staff were more than happy in my case to provide an extra blanket.”
BrendanR808, 26 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the new lodge - number 3!”
TrishYorkUK, 26 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5